Chinese Churumuri in Mysooru

6 Oct

So last weekend, I did something I was intending to do for a long time..before people start wondering what this was let me tell you..it was simply to eat Churumuri in Mysore…

One of my lingering memories of Mysore are those eat out places..and one of my favorite dishes in Mysore is Churumuri…in my opinion no one makes it better than the street vendors in Mysooru…its probably the puri (puffed rice), its probably the printing ink they wrap the stuff in..or maybe its just air…in Bangalore these days they’ve started calling this stuff “Bhel Puri” 😦

I had been bugging my friend Arun (last name witheld for security reasons) who keeps going to Mysore at the drop of a hat (actually even before the drop of a hat) to take me to Mysore when he could…finally after a lot of hits and misses we actually had a opportunity to go to Mysore together..what followed was 36 hours of eating, eating and more eating..somewhere in between was a business trip and a wonderful trip around the forests..more on that later…

The eating and eating started with the Churrrrrrmurrrri !!!!

Our guide to the local Churumuri scene was Manu (again last name witheld for reasons other than security)…he took us to Prakasha’s gaadi in Saraswathipuram…this started an evening that had us eating the same dish in three different places…

First was Prakasha’s gaadi in Saraswathipuram…a proper showmaster, he mixes his dishes with the same elan as a champion pizza maker..he tosses the contents in the air before mixing them (next time I need to get a Video)…I think this “trip” in the air gives it that additional zing..we started with the traditional churumuri, and then a mixture made from banana shoots and assorted crispies and vegetables, which was quite unlike anything I had ever tasted…

Next we moved on to “dinner” but before it there was a stop at Manu’s house where we had homemade Churumuri…now its always been my argument that people at home can never equal the wares that one eats on the street.. I take that back..the stuff at Manu’s house was fantastic !!!

Then it was on to a restaurant called Bopy’s for dinner..and what do we have here as appetizer… Chinese Churumuri..YES !!!! another Churumuri dish..

Chinese Churumuri uses crispy noodles instead of the traditional puffed rice (poori)…the rest of the ingredients are the same..the taste..unique…and there was dinner as well…”neer” dose with vegetable curry…plus appetizers..compliments of Bopy’s.

After all this we dragged ourselves home..full and bursting..to prepare ourselves for our forest adventure the next day…stay tuned….

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

28 Responses to “Chinese Churumuri in Mysooru”

  1. Arun October 6, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    Now that I have read this heading back to Mysooru again…!:)

  2. Srikanth October 6, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    I am still in the churmuri taste which Manu got from his home….& looks like you have forgotten me in the gang….Saar :))

    • Vijay October 6, 2010 at 9:09 am #

      Saar Srikant avare..you have ruined the suspense of the next post 😦

  3. My3 October 6, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    Oh what fun. We are waiting with baited breaths for the next article!

    • Vijay October 9, 2010 at 11:44 am #

      My3…coming soon…

      • My3 December 15, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

        Still waiting 😦

  4. MANU October 7, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    Vijay Sir, a very lucid write up on our last weekend activity. Iam glad you liked the home made churmuri!
    When are you coming for another round?
    Regards
    Manu

    • Vijay October 7, 2010 at 6:22 am #

      Arun is already there for the next round 🙂 Might have to do some cust support next week in Mysore…

      Sent from my Mobile Device

  5. bhel October 8, 2010 at 3:21 am #

    Yum. Dude, you’re making me very hungry.

    • Vijay October 9, 2010 at 11:44 am #

      bhel..the intention is fulfilled 😉

  6. Nag October 9, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    Next time you are in MYS…also give a try @ Ballal Circle, Agrahar cricle….I am sure they will make you lick your finger

    • Vijay October 10, 2010 at 2:52 am #

      Nag was told that the Agrahara guy isnt there anymore..

      Sent from my Mobile Device

  7. Nag October 9, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    Next time you are in MYS…also give a try @ Ballal Circle, Agrahar cricle….I am sure they will make you lick your fingers

    • Vijay October 22, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

      was told that the agrahara guy is no longer there…will try the ballal circle one

  8. praneshachar October 11, 2010 at 3:07 am #

    nice stuff mouth watering. churumari mahime chennagide this crisp recipes of posts I was looking for from u for long and waiting for your forest adventures .it must be really adventure of sorts bega post madi

    • Vijay October 22, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

      ..still working on that post

  9. M O H A N October 11, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    chinese churmurmi…. all greek and latin to me.

  10. Pushpa October 12, 2010 at 3:36 am #

    Vijay- I envy you for all the “eating”…and eagerly awaiting for your next post…

    • Vijay October 22, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

      banree neevu kooda

      • Pushpa November 2, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

        Kanditha Vijay…e sarthi India ge bandaaga..i have a long list of resturants to try:)

  11. Vinod Mathews October 14, 2010 at 1:15 am #

    THE BEST CHURUMMURI I HAD WAS WAY BACK IN 60’S DONE BY KULA IN FRONT OF ST.PHILOMINA’S HIGH SCHOOL,MYSORE, FOLLOWED BY HIS CUCUMBER WITH GREEN SPICY MASALA.

    • Vijay October 22, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

      Is he still around..

  12. padma October 20, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    Hi Vijay, you’ve me drooling all over my keyboard. We HAVE to do this next time we’re in Mysore. Keep those tips coming.

    • Vijay October 22, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

      @padma..just do it !! 🙂

  13. padma November 4, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    Hi Vijay, Happy Deepavali! I bet there will be more than just Churumuri. 🙂 I am jealous.

    • Vijay November 5, 2010 at 4:31 am #

      Thanks a lot..now that you have said it, there HAS to be a lot more 🙂

  14. Inspire99 August 5, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    Love the narrative! The punch of humor is excellent. Chinese Churmuri is the first I am hearing. That’ll be the first thing on my mind the moment I go to Bopy’s next time!

    • Vijay August 5, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

      Thanks for the comment…

Leave a Reply

