“Austere, Austerer, Austerest”

15 Sep

Ok I made those words up…

Looks like there’s going to be a shortage of economy class seats on flights..our netas are falling on top of each other in their austerity drive..

Rahul Gandhi went by train…good for austerity..but bad for people who travel as there was chaos in the railway station (I saw it on TV)…what with the TV crews, security folks etc etc etc

I just hope that this austerity measure doesn’t get carried over to wearing fewer clothes…having said that..I came close to losing my lunch just thinking about it…

It started with economy class travel, then someone else decides to go by train, next by bullock cart and so on.. actually the best thing would be for these guys not to go anywhere at all…

Here’s a good piece on Xylene‘s blog…

9 Responses to ““Austere, Austerer, Austerest””

  1. Arjun September 15, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

    haha.. The race is on for the austerest.. 😉

    Until then, it’ll be nice fun watching them on News Channels.. 🙂

    Cheers..!!
    Arjun

  2. My3 September 15, 2009 at 2:00 pm #

    Oh Oh Oh. Can I please please please get bumped up to the empty First Class/Business class??? I will give them my third class seat 😀

  3. xylene September 15, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

    I was thinking on why they don’t use video conferencing for meetings. In that way they can work from home (constituency). save on travel expenses.
    Anyways they are all on a listen only mode during the lok sabha sessions.

  4. Pushpa September 15, 2009 at 8:58 pm #

    Good one Vijay.. however, I have an objection here:)) How come you didn’t mention anything “AUSTERE” about our own S M Krishna. I read online that he too has decided to forego private jets!! On a lighter note, who knows he may be fearing/ thinking about YSR at the same time :)) see……..

  5. amreekandesi September 16, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    On the topic of this ongoing austerity drive, this is a very interesting read!

  6. MP September 16, 2009 at 11:13 am #

    “Looks like there’s going to be a shortage of economy class seats on flights..”
    The Hindu is stealing your ideas, Vijay! Look at their cartoon in today’s edition!

  7. Gururaj September 18, 2009 at 7:34 am #

    You know what… even I too was thinking about the same stuff… My friend was telling me that Sonia Gandhi took off from Old Airport, and they had blocked the traffic for her. Well I don’t see any Austerity there, of course.

    Or may be they should introduce Cisco TelePresence. One time investment after all 🙂

  8. Veena Shivanna September 18, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    Vijay,

    Just a note on the contrary, When politicians show some interest to become simple, why is the media(including blogs) making hue and cry. May be, one of the reasons for anybody to go out of the way is this, Social stigma! Lets give them a chance.
    :-0)

    I know few of my friends, who eat in airport outlets/ rent five star hotels just because company reimburses it. Recently in Delhi Airport, one Samosa costed 50/- (plate of samosa = 100/-), Although I was hungry and my company reimburses the boarding expenses during the business trips, I didn’t feel like buying it
    My friend laughed at me… ! So its not just politicians alva?

    -Veena

  9. Chitra October 1, 2009 at 11:37 pm #

    yeah, not going any place will solve the matters automatically. 🙂

Leave a Reply

