Jinxing It – Part II

16 Jun

All the while it was me jinxing it. Now apparently my car has that effect as well. Its the general belief that any work that needs to get done is delayed if we use my car. Here are some examples:

1. Have to pay Nikhils fee in college. We take my car and they have postponed fee collection by a day.

2. Have to buy books.. take my car..store is closed…

These are just some of the examples… Now I am wondering if the car is a jinx or the people are πŸ˜‰

I think we use jinxes as convinient excuses for things that dont happen. “The work did not get done because the cat crossed my path” is a common phrase, or I have heard people say “Everytime I see this guy/lady something bad happens”.

I guess its human nature to look for scapegoats 😦 .. do we???

14 Responses to “Jinxing It – Part II”

  1. rads June 16, 2009 at 2:49 am #

    lol, it’s easy. Like me saying every time I say awesome weather here, it rains there! πŸ˜›

    • Vijay June 17, 2009 at 11:28 am #

      oh ya I remember…but I seem to jinx things for myself 😦

  2. Arjun June 16, 2009 at 4:16 am #

    lol… maybe.. πŸ™‚

    Y dont u get a ‘Homa’ done for ur car..?? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    Cheers..!!
    Arjun

    • Vijay June 17, 2009 at 11:29 am #

      hmm homa seems a good idea

  3. My3 June 16, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    Positive vibes, my friend. Another way to look at it, the money stayed with you another day ;-). And another day to spend with your son before he starts school. Another day spent time with family going out to VB…which you may not have done if you had known the school/shop/saree house/… was closed πŸ™‚

    best wishes to Little N as he starts +2.

    • Vijay June 17, 2009 at 11:34 am #

      My3..thats one way of looking at it..which is not the case here unfortunately

  4. amreekandesi June 16, 2009 at 4:48 pm #

    Arjun here has a good point. Maybe all you need is a nice little homa πŸ˜‰

    • Vijay June 17, 2009 at 11:35 am #

      they’ll probably put the car inside the homa

  5. some body June 18, 2009 at 12:28 pm #

    vijay:

    “Its the general belief that any work that needs to get done is delayed if we use my car.”

    hmmm… now it all makes sense why i don’t have any yummy in my tummy (doses)!

    – s.b.

    p.s.: man, it is difficult to transliterate the kannada dosa!

    • Ram June 18, 2009 at 2:58 pm #

      “yummy in my tummy” – on a lighter note, i thought it was patented by my little one “http://ramsblog.wordpress.com/2009/04/06/yummy-in-my-tummy/” πŸ™‚

      @Vijay, i like what My3 said, buying those books was probably not “need”ed and hence the store was closed, money remained in pocket, unless you hopped into a movie theatre next door. πŸ™‚

      perhaps, it gives another opportunity to get some exercise walking to college / bookstore instead of driving the car? πŸ˜‰

  6. some body June 19, 2009 at 1:46 am #

    ram:

    the phrase is probably older than daycare ;-). the first time i heard it, ‘father of a genius’ flashed across my mind too!

    – s.b.

    • Ram June 19, 2009 at 4:08 am #

      some body, no worries πŸ™‚ i just recalled her words when i read the comment this morning πŸ™‚

  7. jr June 30, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

    Scapecats anyone?

Leave a Reply

