Sniff Sniff !!!

21 Apr

You arent supposed to have feelings for these things. After all they are commodity. But still…

What am I blabbering about? Well.. its my old car..a Maruti 800.

We first bought it when we moved to India in ’95. It served us well…and then it was “retired” and became the stand-by unit.

Today it was sold..sniff !!! They came, they saw, they paid and they took the car away…

You aren’t supposed to feel bad about this…but still…

simpsons_homer_crying

10 Responses to “Sniff Sniff !!!”

  1. My3 April 21, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

    Sniff Sniff. 😦 My husband felt the same way with the maroon Toyota Corolla he had to give away after spending more than 12.5 glorious years with her 😦

  2. ramsblog April 21, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

    hmmm… I will probably in the same situation when I will have to send my little green toyota away. I resisted to trade (1.5 yrs) ago when we bought a camry and retained it back. back home, I think we still have the TVS50XL at our house in bangalore (my dad’s first motor vehicle) and he wouldn’t want to give it away. we bought it when gasolene was Rs.10/- a liter.

  3. gauri April 21, 2009 at 11:23 pm #

    🙂
    We had an Ambassador long ago. I’m still senti about her. You know can customize your license plates in the US, right? I applied for a license plate that had the Ambi’s no. – they didn’t let me 😦 Because it was just like any other registration no., and not some fancy word. After the ambi there were a couple other cars before the current one, but Ambi will actually have a place in my heart. So yes, I know exactly what you mean 🙂

    g

  4. Arjun April 22, 2009 at 6:29 am #

    yeah yeah.. I know the exact feeling……

    Cant resist feeling bad.. 🙂 At my home, we had a Maruthi 800 as well which was sold recently.. missing it… Yeah, as u say, they r just commodities.. but still 🙂

    Cheers..!!
    Arjun

  5. Usha April 22, 2009 at 3:47 pm #

    Don’t feel bad!
    Look at the brighter side, that somebody would still pay and take it after so many years – isn’t that something! I hope you asked for visiting rights once in a while??

  6. amreekandesi April 22, 2009 at 5:06 pm #

    aww…i can understand your pain. I had to sell my year old shiny Corolla to move to New York city, and it killed me completely. (Not literally – don’t want to spook you out! I got over the pain with time.)

  7. Vijay April 23, 2009 at 10:58 am #

    @My3: I really wish I could have kept the car.. 😦
    @ram: LOL at the TVS…
    @gauri: ha ha.. Ambis are always special..maybe you should have gotten a plate that said AMBI-
    @Arjun: ha ha.. you too?
    @Usha: The person who bought it is a car dealer..so I dont know where the car will go..
    @amreekan: I guess so 🙂

  8. praneshachar April 23, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

    old is gold is what your sniff sniff says? yes old water has to move give way for new. yes parting prize possessions is always painful but inevitable too. your cartoon with yellow dominant reminded me the saying which is at the beginning of the comment.
    time will fly but old memories will keep you haunting
    have gr8 gr8 memories of your Maruthi 800
    pranesh

  9. xylene April 23, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

    I felt the same way when my cycle was given away for free to a next door kid. 🙂 or 😦

  10. some body April 24, 2009 at 12:24 pm #

    vijay:

    “Ambis are always special..maybe you should have gotten a plate that said AMBI-”

    in the usa, that would result in some miscommunication, if you know what i mean!

    – s.b.

Leave a Reply

