The Home Stretch

17 Feb

With less than 15 days left for the exam, the tension seems to be lessening.

Thats not right is it? Its supposed to be mounting….

“See here…” says Nikhil pointing to an article on coping with exam stress “It says watch a movie, relax with friends”

“You’ll do no such thing” says mom

“Its for the parents” I say hopefully…both mother and son give me a withering stare

But things are very relaxed. I made a deal with junior. He follows a  his schedule and I stay out of his way…. one sample paper in the morning and one in the evening…

I took time off from the office so I can work from home for three days a week. A week later, all family members are begging me to go back 😦

The tension was all in MY mind…this holds true of all parents. The kids feed off of us. So I have learnt to lay off. Hes done pretty well in his pre-boards. No worry be happy.

Golf here I come. Parents relax. Your kids are much more intelligent than you were at their age 😀

Some useful links:

CBSE Web Site

Smile your way through stress

Past Question Papers and Marking Schemes

10 Responses to “The Home Stretch”

  1. xylene February 17, 2009 at 7:51 am #

    I guess you should not be this tensed. (well my kid is 2 months old, what do I know ! ). Relax. Be at peace 🙂

  2. My3 February 17, 2009 at 10:26 am #

    Take Nikhil out to VB and Big M. It will be a good way to spend some time together and also for him to walk off his stress. I remember taking my son to Black Moshannon Park for a hike before a big interview last summer. It will help them to loosen up.

    Best Wishes Nikhil. We are all cheering for you from all over!!!

  3. BlueMist February 17, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    “Your kids are much more intelligent than you were at their age ”

    Agree. And all the best to the parent in you 🙂 I am sure Nikhil will be fine 😉

  4. gauri February 17, 2009 at 11:07 pm #

    Dads! 😀

    -g

  5. The muser February 18, 2009 at 6:53 am #

    Good luck to kiddo for his exams!

  6. amreekandesi February 18, 2009 at 8:56 pm #

    🙂

  7. Chirag February 19, 2009 at 9:32 am #

    Withering Stare, I still get them!

  8. Vijay February 20, 2009 at 11:33 am #

    @xylene: Your time will come as well 😀
    @My3: Nikhil looked at this comment and went “Thats it !! thats what we should be doing”…
    @Bluemist: Thanks
    @gauri: We are a worrying lot 😦
    @muser: The kid says “Thank You”
    @amreekan: 😀
    @Chirag: LOL..

  9. rajkumar February 20, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    CBSE Very tough Subjects, I was Failed thrice when I was in School.

  10. praneshachar February 28, 2009 at 12:04 am #

    nikhil cool as u r all the best have a good dig at exams and I am sure u will out with flying colours.
    yes I also know you will have sufficient gap between two papers unlike our state sylabbus students who will right continusoly. so utilise the time in between to revise and get doubts resolved thro papa and do well
    all the best and my blessing to you for your success in great leaps and bounds
    vijay be cool as you are. all will end in smooth way get relaxed and enjoy your golf and visitis to VB etc,

    praneshachar

Leave a Reply

