The Hall Ticket

16 Feb

Events evoke memories. Nikhil’s preparation for his tenth board exams took me back to a time when I almost didn’t make it to mine.

Hall tickets were given. Like all my other friends, I took the hall ticket to the local Ganesha Temple where the priest “blessed” it..it was then bought back home and mom checked every detail on the thing to make sure it was okay. The name, date of birth etc etc…

“Its very important” she said.. “the name had to be correct”

“Oh well” said dad.. “If its printed wrong, we’ll just change his name”

Fortunately everything was okay. During my younger days, my name frequently got changed to “Vijaya”.. that extra “a” turned it into a girl’s name.. so I was glad that the name was right.

After the initial euphoria, the hall ticket was kept in a “Safe Place”.

The concept of a “safe place” has been immortalized in houses round the world…. It generally means “never to be found again”…

The day before the exams, there was a suggestion to “tape” the hall ticket to my exam pad. But wait a minute… where was the hall ticket?? !!!!!

No one knew..not mom, of course not dad..not Aditya (he was 4 years old at that time)…everyone was a suspect…we looked everywhere, the house, the neighbourhood garbage pile (thinking maid had thrown it)…no luck !!!

So, the day before my tenths, I am not sure whether I will be allowed to take the exam. Not the sort of mood you want to be in when you are going to be writing (at that point in time), one of the most important exams of your life. Getting a duplicate was out of the question.

Next day, mom went with me to Chandrashekariah’s (KSC, the HM) office. After some discussions (and KSC berating me for not taking care of things), it was decided that he would accompany me to the exam hall every day and tell the external examiner that I was to be allowed to write the exams.

So, the rest of the exams went that way. I’d go and wait outside KSC’s office, he’d come out 10 minutes before the exams stated and led me to the room. He never forgot to wish me luck.

As for the hall ticket….thats still a mystery…
Cross posted on Vijaya High Chronicles

17 Responses to “The Hall Ticket”

  1. My3 February 16, 2009 at 11:07 am #

    Hmmmmmmmmmmmm………….
    Was my husband your mentor in Jayanagar???????????????????? We are still looking for the keys we lost about 15 years ago!

  2. Rada February 16, 2009 at 11:26 am #

    I kept the spare stylus of my PDA in a “safe place” almost two years ago. True to form, I lost the original stylus 3 months after purchasing the PDA.

    Have been hunting for the spare one ever since! 🙂

  3. Nikhil February 16, 2009 at 12:07 pm #

    Did you check under the couch? 😀
    Oh wait a minute, was this your brilliant scheme to bunk the exams and loaf around instead? 😀

  4. Arjun February 16, 2009 at 12:37 pm #

    Maybe it was inside ur books..!!
    Jus kiddin..!!

    ‘Safe Places’ always proved to be dangerously safe.. 🙂

    Cheers..!!
    Arjun

  5. Nishchita February 16, 2009 at 12:40 pm #

    Well you “safely” kept your hall ticket at home. Can’t blame you eh? 🙂
    Here’s my hall ticket story:
    Due to the jubilation of performing well in math, I left my hall ticket in the exam hall itself after the exam. After getting back home I realized it was missing. I made n-number of calls to my exam centre, all in vain. After a reprimand, I was given a note by my principal as a substitute for my hall ticket. But when I went to the exam hall the next day to give me Sanskrit exam, my hall ticket was lying at exactly the same place I’d left it!
    THAT feeling is known as relief!

  6. some body February 16, 2009 at 3:28 pm #

    vijay:

    “Fortunately everything was okay. During my younger days, my name frequently got changed to “Vijaya”.. that extra “a” turned it into a girl’s name.. so I was glad that the name was right.”

    that extra ‘a’ can be tricky. for example, what would ‘aditya’ become without the ‘a’ at the end?

    – s.b.

  7. gauri February 16, 2009 at 4:40 pm #

    Hehehe. I had totally forgotten the “Hall Ticket” concept 😀 Christ, I must be a dinosaur!

    Oh we have so many safe places at home here. Every time my husband asks where xyz is, I have to tell him it must be lost in some “safe place”.

    What fun if you find *your* hall ticket now! 🙂

    -g

  8. xylene February 16, 2009 at 5:02 pm #

    My experience certificate from my previous company.
    I searched everywhere. Every inch(square feet as the builders call it) to find it. every folder. Every place.
    Finally I found it right in the file I was holding, while i was searching the entire place ! More of like searching for your glasses when you are wearing them.
    Gosh I am getting old.

  9. Ram February 16, 2009 at 6:12 pm #

    hehe
    ” concept of a “safe place”” –> this was a devara mane in our house. however, as part of being safe, it would have had few water drops with haldi, akshathe, etc… although my hall-ticket was not a victim but there were few other papers often bitten off by night-riders (jiraLe, ili…) keeping at the safe place 🙂

  10. Vijay'a' February 17, 2009 at 10:18 am #

    hehe .. Musta been quite a challenge to get yourself to study the day before the first exam! 🙂
    And no, an extra name does not necessarily mean that its a girl’s name! 😦 [Mine has one]

  11. Vijay'a' February 17, 2009 at 10:20 am #

    my vehicle’s original regn book and tax receipt is in some ‘safe place’ … for 4 years now. and am not even able to sell it now!

  12. Vijay February 17, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    @My3: Could be could be.. 😀
    @Rada: LOL..still looking?
    @Nikhil: Damn.. you got me there.. of course it did not work 😉
    @Arjun: looked in ALL the books 😀
    @Nischita: Wow that was lucky !!!
    @sb: 🙂
    @gauri: ha ha .. high hopes..25+ years later..lol
    @xylene: You are an old man.. I mean your kid is 2 months old.. that makes you an ollllldie
    @Ram: Devara mane is bestest..
    @Vijay”a”: LOL..LOL at both comments

  13. amreekandesi February 18, 2009 at 8:09 pm #

    “I took the hall ticket to the local Ganesha Temple where the priest “blessed” it.”

    Wow!

  14. amreekandesi February 18, 2009 at 8:10 pm #

    And yes…it happens too often that something tucked away safely gets tucked away forever!

  15. Vijay February 20, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    @amreekan: Quite a common practice… visits to the local Ganesh temple increase during exam times and just before results are announced…

  16. sgs datta May 25, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    any one from 1979 – 1982 , VIII F to X F section pl contact – sgs datta

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Hall Ticket « Vijaya High School - February 16, 2009

    […] Cross Posted on Bangalore Blues […]

Leave a Reply

