Sunday Rambles

18 Jan

Never have my camera around when I need it..driving in a part of Bangalore that I don’t usually go to, I saw a sign for a Dental clinic.. “so what” you might ask.. well it was called “Eka Dantha” Dental Clinic…

Now I know Eka Dantha is a name for Lord Ganesha but it also means “One Toothed” (actually one tusked).. can’t be very good for the dental business..

A friend narrated an interesting incident. Someone who worked for him a long time ago, came and visited him. When my friend asked about the visit, he said “Sir, I am moving away to my hometown and I wanted to pay my last respects to you”… guffaw !!!

My final ramble for this Sunday evening before I go meet a couple of buddies for a drink…

I hate software updates.. yeah, I know they are useful but they seem to happen at the most inappropriate time.

Scene 1: Browsing important site..suddenly firefox decides that it wants to ask your permission to restart because it installed a new update to itself…

Scene 2: Want to shut down and leave urgently… Windows says its installing updates and will shut down automatically…then you see the screen that says Installing Update 1 of 75 …. what the **** !!!!

20 Responses to “Sunday Rambles”

  1. Prashanth January 18, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    Eka dantha! I remeber seeing this board!!

  2. Nalini Rao January 18, 2009 at 6:10 pm #

    Vijay: 15 years back when we moved to Delhi and were beedi suttufying( sudo beedi alla ree, !!) we found this Diagnostic Center in NOIDA called “The Final Diagnosis”. I wonder if the idiot even knew what the book was all about!!

  3. Vijay January 19, 2009 at 3:34 am #

    @Prashanth: LOL.. funny name 🙂
    @Nalini: Too funny… I would never suspect you of beedi sutting..

  4. Nikhil January 19, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    Eka Dantha Dental Clinic!! Oh man, I’m still on the throes of a 10-minute laugh riot! 😀

  5. sindhu January 19, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    get smart like us kids, move to linux, move to open source! shouldn’t be a problem for you, you guys have LUG meets and install fests all throughout the year there (did you hear about FOSS.in 2008 at IISc campus? i was there 😉

  6. BlueMist January 19, 2009 at 4:36 pm #

    I dont know what it is between dental clinic names and Ganesha names. Infact the clinic I visit is also Vinayak Dental Clinic 😀

    and totally with you on those software updates thingy 😦

  7. Rajaram January 19, 2009 at 5:45 pm #

    Good one !..I think the dentist is trying to confirm that his patients will go back with atleast one tooth !!..This reminds of a good slogan infornt of a tailor shop in Malleswaram area….”God made men and we make them gentle men”……Nice gesture from a past worker ..S/W upgrades can only upgrade the down time of the H/W ( making them useless)

  8. Aditya January 19, 2009 at 6:25 pm #

    “..I am moving away to my hometown and I wanted to pay my last respects to you”

    Nice lift of dad’s old joke. I think I’ve been hearing that one for 15 years now. 😉

  9. litterateuse January 19, 2009 at 10:45 pm #

    Hahaha, what were they thinking! That’s like calling a hair salon Iqbal 😛

    -g

  10. Vijay January 20, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    @Nilhil 😀
    @Sindhu: Firefox is from Mozilla… it has updates even on Linux
    @bluemist: really.. I say.. these software guys
    @rajaram: LOL
    @Aditya: didnt want to use his name
    @litterateuse: ROFL

  11. Veena January 20, 2009 at 5:34 pm #

    That last respect thing is too good. I was recently reading some email which had some similar english sentences with incorrect commas etc.,

  12. vinay January 20, 2009 at 10:18 pm #

    reminds me of the classic TP Kailasam joke on Iyengar Bekere ( job openings for Iyengaris)

  13. December Stud January 21, 2009 at 1:40 am #

    While driving back from Crater Lake, a banner outside a Jack-In-The-Box (a fast food place):

    “50% off. All old products NEED to go”

    Outside a restroom (toilet), while hiking up in Yosemite:

    “Bears in the restrooms. Be careful with your things”

    And a classic advertisement on radio, when I was growing up in India. The product was:

    “Bahubali banian mattu kaachaagaLu”

    🙂

  14. Alice January 21, 2009 at 6:32 am #

    Eka Dantha” Dental Clinic…

    makes me feel as if the freak will remove all my teeth and just keep ‘ek dantha’

    lol…. had fun reading it… 😀 😀 😀

  15. Richa January 21, 2009 at 9:25 am #

    Hi,

    I am Richa from SiliconIndia. I am also an avid blogger for a while now and participating actively in Indian blogosphere. I read your blog posting and found them very interesting and informative. We would love to see a copy of your blogs posted here, whenever you are posting it on blogger.com. Here are some of the benefits of posting your blogs here:

    We have a strong community of 1 Million professionals
    Best blogs of 2008 to be published in a book “SiliconIndia bLoG PrinT”
    Best blog to be printed in SliconIndia & SmartTechie magazines each month
    Chance to be featured on homepage everyday
    There are 10,000 active bloggers who participate in active blogging

    We appreciate your community initiative here and in helping build a more powerful India! Also, if you have any ideas or want to volunteer to help for SiliconIndia, we would be more than excited to get your help. Pls mail me back at richa@siliconindia.com with your suggestions and feedback.

    Richa
    Blog Editor – SiliconIndia
    http://blogs.siliconindia.com/

  16. amreekandesi January 21, 2009 at 7:47 pm #

    Microsoft is amazingly shameless with the software upgrades…other softwares often give the option of waiting for a bit before restarting the computer, but windows – first it has to restart every time you do the smallest change, and it has to restart immediately.

    No ‘restart later’ for them!

  17. Vijay January 23, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    @veena 🙂
    @vinay ha ha.. that was classic
    @DS: LOL
    @Alice: come out “single” (toothed) .. 😀
    @Richa: Thanks..
    @amreekan You are correct… sometimes I leave the table and come back to find my pc in the throes of a restrart 😦

  18. praneshachar January 26, 2009 at 3:16 am #

    “Sir, I am moving away to my hometown and I wanted to pay my last respects to you”… guffaw !!!
    DS your bahubali advt. is super
    eka danta dental clinic ( only one tooth will be left when you leave the clinic!!!! yaradu
    patientada ? doctorada?
    nice sunday rambles which iam reading on monday

  19. Chitra February 10, 2009 at 4:22 am #

    yeah eka dantha … lol no thot behind it absolutely. who wants to be the one toothed? :))

  20. Jyotsna February 24, 2009 at 9:37 pm #

    Driving around here we found this sign on a house for sale – “For Sale with Owner” – instead of perhaps what should have been “For Sale by Owner”.

Leave a Reply

