Vidyarthi McBhavan

5 Jan

McDonalds has finally made its foray into the “traditional” Gandhi Bazaar area known for restautants like Vidyarthi Bhavan. So come Saturday evening, Nikhil wanted to “inaugurate” it.

“Theres no way I am going to eat at McDonalds when VB is just up the road” I said.

“Dad no one asked you to eat…just take me there and buy me stuff” was the reply.. immediately putting me in my place.

Anyhow the kid needed a break from his studies and I decided to humor him. I was expecting the place to be empty. After all this was the land of Vidyarthi Bhavan.

… boy was I wrong…the place was packed and doing roaring business…kids, grownups, grand grownups.. they were all there !!!! What is this world coming to?

On our way back, we drove past Vidyarthi Bhavan… you guessed right….

It was packed as well 🙂

Peepalz, Peepalz, Peepalz yovverywhere…

22 Responses to “Vidyarthi McBhavan”

  1. My3 January 5, 2009 at 10:29 am #

    Woo Hoo. India is the only place I can “give” money to McDonald 😀 Breakfast at SLV and lunch at Big M 😉

  2. Gururaj January 5, 2009 at 10:30 am #

    There’s a craze about McD everywhere… Pepalz are ‘Lovin it’… 😀

  3. My3 January 5, 2009 at 10:47 am #

    I have to tell you that when I asked my dad and younger one to join me in a visit to the Brigade Road, they both looked at me, rolled their eyes and decided that they would rather relax in the house. So I dragged my poor sainted mother in my expedition to MGRoad and Brigade Road and had 2 of their (Mikey Ds) 3 veggie dishes. 🙂

    Now I need to try out KFC. My older one is usually my adventurous one. As long as it is veggie he is willing to atleast try it out. Give my younger one his masaldoses and he is a happy camper.

  4. Vijay January 5, 2009 at 11:00 am #

    @My3: KFC has veggie stuff as well…Nikhil is adventurous as long as its not mom’s cooking…next time you can drag your Dad to the new McD.. just down the road from Cane-O-La (towards RK Ashrama)

    @Gururaj: You are right …. a lot of the crowd at McD (this ones on Bull Temple Road) were coming back from the temples around (as was evident from the kumkuma on their forehead)

  5. S.R.Rama Subbaiah January 5, 2009 at 1:35 pm #

    Eatery locally traditional has no competetion with the Eatery imported & good-old Gandhi Bazaar would feed all types of establishments, with Eating being a never-ending pastime with all age-groups.

  6. chethan January 6, 2009 at 4:13 am #

    nice title 🙂

  7. Rajaram January 6, 2009 at 5:50 am #

    Generation gaps boss!! Not a surprise that Mac has targted Gandhi bazar to attract next generation !!….while u & me need VB, kids haunt at Mc or Pizzahuts : I stay in BTM layout and my son needs Mac veggi at Forum mall!!..I am afraid that one fine day Gandhi bazar might be called as a “bull temple food court” or “Down town” ..who knows ??

  8. praneshachar January 6, 2009 at 7:07 am #

    macdonalds in the land of VBs SLV etc. etc., it is order of the day no wonder as rajaram says if the name of GB become WT or FC etc. etc., may be not in the immediate future. all old shops and restaurants may off and new branded shops and MNC food courts willl take its place and we miss all our traditional dosa idli vada etc., etc., only to be happy with pizza, mac veggi. hotdogs etc. etc., etc., what a pity if that happens let god save us fro this and long live VB CTR etc/. etc/.,

  9. Vijay January 6, 2009 at 10:11 am #

    @S.R. Rama : Very true..thanks for your comment
    @chetan: heh heh thanks 😀
    @Rajaram: That’ll be the day.. “Downtown Bangalore”…
    @pranesh: I hope it never happens…but then change is the only constant…

  10. some body January 7, 2009 at 2:18 am #

    “What is this world coming to?” … “Peepalz, Peepalz, Peepalz yovverywhere…”

    waiting for the second coming of sanjay gandhi, maybe?

    – s.b.

  11. The muser January 7, 2009 at 7:22 am #

    hello!hopped over from Terri’s page. Being a Bangalorean myself, its a little selfish on my part to wish that the older and more traditional parts of Bangalore would retain their old-world charm! sigh!
    Happened to pass by the new McD on the opening day. Packed with people of all sizes, shapes and ages 😀

  12. Vijay January 7, 2009 at 7:40 am #

    @sb: ROFL.. for some more ribbon cutting????
    @The Muser: Thanks for stopping by… having grown up in Jayanagar area it is sad.. but you are right…

  13. amreekandesi January 7, 2009 at 5:20 pm #

    As a veggie, i must say i salivate for the McVeggie burger they make in India. It is yumilicious.

    Here in the US, McDonalds only serves non veg burgers 😦

  14. Vijay January 8, 2009 at 1:51 am #

    @amreekan I have eaten veggie burgers at burger king… with patties I mean… But its not available everywhere..and not as tasty…

  15. My3 January 8, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    McDonalds in various places around the world serves veggie foods. I know this due to my diligent research before I sign on with my husband to go gallivanting with him 🙂 It is only in our good ole US of A they refuse to serve ANYTHING including their fries as veggie. And take great pride in it.

    Burger King did make that attempt tov serve the veggie burger. It is ok if there is absolutely NOTHING else. It is very frustrating to go into nice restaurants and find that all of us have to order the same thing as that is the only vegetarian option.

    Amreekan try out Chevys a Mexican place. We discovered that in the DC and Orlando areas. Nice food and they will substitute with beans anything that has meat in it.

  16. Vijay January 8, 2009 at 11:23 am #

    @My3: Actually it was at DC airport that Burger King had a Veggie Burger (with patties and all)… I then tried BK at Memphis and none was available… In the UK theres veg options everywhere…

  17. amreekandesi January 9, 2009 at 5:13 am #

    @Vijay/@My3 – Burger King does serve a veggie burger, and is probably one of the better veggie burgers i have eaten in the US.

    And of course, mexican food is a great relief. You can never go to a mexican place and not find veggie stuff.

  18. BlueMist January 19, 2009 at 4:29 pm #

    Guess that’s what I love in B’lore. Best of both the worlds 😀

  19. Vijay January 21, 2009 at 6:44 am #

    @amreekan: I like the burger king one as well
    @bluemist: correct 😀

  20. Dinesh KS February 10, 2009 at 9:32 am #

    Did you guys know McDonalds invests double the amount on Equipments to make Veg & Non Veg differently they work like 2 different kitchens & I m lovin it!!

  21. Dinesh KS February 10, 2009 at 9:33 am #

    Hi did you guys know that McDonalds spends double the amount of money to operate Veg & Non Veg differently they are 2 different kitchen & I m lovin it!!

  22. My3 December 30, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    Vijay, Sorry to bother you, but I heard that this Big M may not be in the best state right now. Can I request N to please check it out and let us all know? Really sad that VV is not more. I loved most of his movies from the 80s.

Leave a Reply

