How Old?

11 Nov

“Happy Birthday Dad,” says my fifteen year old… “How old are you today?”…

“Old Enough,” I say…

Just how old? Maybe the incident below will give you an idea.

Two pretty young girls stopped me to ask for directions last week (junior was with me as well). Using my bestest English I pointed them in the right direction.. then they thanked me by saying “Thank You Uncle…”

Uncle Indeed… Sigh !!!!!

21 Responses to “How Old?”

  1. Rada November 11, 2008 at 8:22 am #

    Ah! How well do I know that feeling! (sigh!) πŸ™‚

  2. rk November 11, 2008 at 11:44 am #

    happy b-day, vijay uncle! πŸ˜‰

  3. vinay November 11, 2008 at 12:33 pm #

    its ok Unc, happy b’day

  4. destinationsrik November 11, 2008 at 1:20 pm #

    Happy birthday….. Uncle!!

  5. My3 November 11, 2008 at 5:23 pm #

    Happy Birthday Vijay-ji πŸ˜‰
    No wonder you have been quiet for some time.

  6. Shruthi November 11, 2008 at 6:01 pm #

    Happy Bday!

    And this uncle-aunty business is not to be trusted – people twice my age call me aunty πŸ˜€

  7. praneshachar November 12, 2008 at 12:48 am #

    happy birthday wishes belated
    uncle aunty businerss is very difficult to understand and even some uncle aunties dot want them to clled like that. as shruthis said some people what ever may be their age call all aunty uncle and it is more so with servants they feel by calling aunty uncle they have learnt english. let them enjoy.
    what ever some one calls your age is yours and your charm is yours
    have a sonderful year ahead and continue your journey of balancing business blogging humour gold and what not have wonder time keep going strong and stronger

  8. Chitra November 12, 2008 at 5:12 am #

    πŸ™‚ you have a way! :))
    happy birthday! πŸ™‚

  9. Diya November 12, 2008 at 7:52 am #

    Happy B’day !!!

    -Diya

  10. MP November 12, 2008 at 9:26 am #

    Many Happy returns of the day!
    I really enjoy it when our 50 y.o.maid calls my wife as “aunty”.
    Since you specifically mention junior’s presence, did you feel worse because it happened when Junior was around?

  11. Vijay November 12, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    @rada: Bahh.. youngsters what do they know
    @rk,vinay,Srik: May you be uncles soon
    @My3: Quiet because of work.. not B’day
    @Shruthi: That makes me feel better πŸ™‚
    @Pranesh: Thanks Sir
    @Chitra: lol.. thanks
    @Diya: Thank You
    @MP: The bugger was giggling 😦

  12. rk November 12, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    vijay,
    i became a grandfather before becoming a father!isnt’ that rare?
    also, i got pension before i started to get salary!
    not at all joking. 100% TRUE.

  13. Veena November 13, 2008 at 6:40 pm #

    15 year old son? enri vijay nimage nijavaaglu astond vayassagidya? athva Early marriage case!! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

    Happy Birthday ree.. belated^u

  14. Prashanth November 14, 2008 at 3:55 pm #

    belated wishes Vijay uncle πŸ˜€

  15. Vani November 15, 2008 at 12:02 pm #

    Vijay,

    First of all, Belated Birthday wishes.

    Most of us face the “uncle – aunty” problem and I was just waiting to rant about it. Just yesterday I encountered this girl who was just about a couple of years younger, and she asks me “aunty, do u have change for 100″ I just couldnt help retaliating ” no aunty I have only one 100 Rs note”

    And the other time, when one of the men I work with, who appears and is actually older called me “aunty” and I got some mean pleasure retaliating and calling him “uncle”.

    Is it so tough to address some one “Sir” or “Madam” ? I’m flummoxed. Most of the people I work with call me “Vani Amma” or Madam and I’m quite comfortable with either address.

  16. My3 November 15, 2008 at 2:51 pm #

    I think this is a new phenomenon. I thought in Bangalore/Mysore we used to just use the first name and add avare as a respectful form of address. Why this sudden influx of aunty and uncle? My husband is a prof and I have been called Aunty for a very long time by people who were my age. Even now, as I have a teenager and somehow people are having children later and later think that I should be called aunty!! I feel like yelling and saying, Hey just because you have kids late in life does NOT make you my niece/nephew, heh heh heh. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

    Vani I like your approach to life. I shall utilize it in the near future πŸ˜‰ I always call the older couples as Dr.So and So or Mrs So and So. It seems more polite and respectful.

  17. neela November 16, 2008 at 3:13 pm #

    Belated birthday wishes,sir.

    many of you here are upset on being called ‘aunty’ /’uncle’.

    about ten years ago ,when my son was a toddler,I was shocked to be addressed :____ vaini nammanigoo barrreee..by a lady whose grand daughters were in Engg college.Initially I thought she was alluding to somebody else! I was too stunned to react the first time. Some people from north karnataka add the surname as a tag.Though we have no surname she uses my hub’s name as one !!So i become my hub’s vaini!!
    Then on I made it a point to call her ‘ajji’. But she is yet to take the hint. 😦

  18. Rajaram November 17, 2008 at 5:38 am #

    Bleated happy birthday wishes to you Vijay..I am a regular reader of your blog and it’s wonderful as time goes !!

  19. Vijay November 17, 2008 at 5:40 am #

    @Vani: Good tactics
    @My3: Agree with you..
    @Neela: ha ha…
    @Rajaram: Thanks… and thanks for reading.. makes it worth writing πŸ™‚

  20. Kishore November 17, 2008 at 7:34 pm #

    Belated Birthday Wishes to you

  21. rads November 18, 2008 at 10:10 pm #

    oh shoot!!! I missed this post completely! O well, okay, happy birthday in advance for the next one πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

