The “Medicine”

3 Nov

Ok.. back to the family archives for now. A tale thats been related to me by Gopi uncle my father’s older brother. (Gopi Uncle deserves his own tag and posts.. but thats for later)

It was a sometime in the 50’s and my uncle had to take Ajji (grandma) from Mysore to Chennai (then Madras) for some medical treatment. Ajji was very restless and made life “miserable” for him constantly complaining about the train, the noise and how her cough and cold were not allowing her to sleep. She claimed none of the medicines worked (Ajii always believed in strrrrong medicine).

Having endured the hounding all the way to Bangalore, Gopi uncle hits upon an idea… he steps out while the train has stopped and picks up a bottle of brandy from the Spencers store in the station (yes… apparently they used to have these stores all most stations and yes they sold booze).

So once the train starts for Madras, he pours a large “peg” in a steel tumbler, tells my ajji that this was medicine and asks her to “gulp it down”…post “medicine”, ajji is out like a light and does not wake up till the train chugs into Madras.

Later that day, ajji calls out to uncle and says “You know the medicine that you gave me last night was excellent… can you give me some of that today as well?”.

While Gopi uncle is figuring out what to say..she adds “..and it tasted very good as well”

I think he got out of it by saying it was out of stock in Madras.

9 Responses to “The “Medicine””

  1. My3 November 3, 2008 at 2:12 pm #

    HA HA HA!! What a great story. I hope Ajji was never ever told about the strrrrrrrrong medicine. I have heard similar stories from my Karkala friends. Except that it was poured into a coconut ;).
    And Madras it shall always be for me.

  2. Xylene November 3, 2008 at 5:11 pm #

    haha. 😀 that was a funny one.

  3. rads November 3, 2008 at 7:26 pm #

    ohmy! I KNOW for a fact some uncle of mine did the same with some grandma of his! lol!

  4. Ramki November 4, 2008 at 4:25 am #

    hahaha…. olege seridamele gundu, ajji aadaru change!

  5. Vijay November 4, 2008 at 5:05 am #

    @My3: She was told… many many years later…
    @xylene: thanks
    @rads: ha ha…same grandma???
    @ramki: lol.. good one 😀

  6. praneshachar November 4, 2008 at 3:55 pm #

    OH!!! WHAT A GREAT IDEA OF COURSE I GUESSED IT RIGHT
    SUPER AMMANIGE (AJJIGE) SUPER MEDICINE SUPER MAGANINDA

  7. Chitra November 6, 2008 at 6:24 am #

    :)) oh she was told! wow, wonder what her reaction was. 🙂

  8. Vijay November 6, 2008 at 7:13 am #

    @Pranesh: 😀
    @Chitra: Ajji was very pragmatic… she shrugged her shoulders and moved on… you see as far as she was concerned it was “medicine”

  9. sindhu November 9, 2008 at 5:44 am #

    I have my ajji (paternal side) who “still” takes a cap full of Brandy every night, something that was prescribed to her over 10 years ago for cold by my ex-airforce officer uncle (her son-in-law) and after taking her daily dose, she closes her eyes and says “syrup thara idey idu heehee”. :/

Leave a Reply

