Weekend “Out”

8 Sep

Couple of weeks ago, the wifey announced that she was going to go to Pune for the weekend to attend a function. High Fives were exchanged between Junior and I prompting the missus to almost cancel the trip and saying something to the effect that “You guys can’t wait to see the back of me”…. after that we toned down our celebrations…. A whole weekend of eating out, getting up late etc etc….

The trip was on this past Saturday and Sunday. But then on Friday, junior caught a cold and ended up with temparature for most of the weekend. So much for enjoying…

Anyhow we did manage a solitary outing. In one of my earlier posts Vinay had mentioned this tiny eatery in Jayanagar 4T Block that made great Khali Dose. We went there and were not disappointed. Pictures below:

Its a small place. A real Hole in the Wall. Seen inside in jeans is Junior wolfing down his breakfast.

Khali Dose – Nice and Fluffy

UPDATE: Location below (Name of the place is SLV)

11 Responses to “Weekend “Out””

  1. vinay September 8, 2008 at 5:10 am #

    Glad you liked it ….masala dose is also fine , a bit different than the oily mess that other places serve

  2. Mohan September 8, 2008 at 5:35 am #

    directions please…

  3. vinay September 8, 2008 at 6:31 am #

    Diagonally opposite Tawalkars on the 16th Main road , 4th T Block

  4. vinay September 8, 2008 at 6:31 am #

    oops Talwalkars

  5. Xylene September 8, 2008 at 12:55 pm #

    cool. For that name (Khali) the dosa looks small 🙂

  6. Vijay September 8, 2008 at 1:02 pm #

    This is ‘set’ dose. . Its smaller and is 3 to a plate. . Used the term ‘khali’ as a generic term 🙂

  7. BNB September 8, 2008 at 5:14 pm #

    Does this place have a name ?

  8. My3 September 8, 2008 at 5:48 pm #

    From a mother’s perspective:
    One year, about 5 years ago, they boys planned that they would get me the book, Lord of the Rings and leave me all alone while they went out driving to a restaurant about 1 hour away, as a Mother’s Day gift. So it was discussed and finally the day arrived only to find me utterly miserably sick with some viral flu. Me, who NEVER ever gets sick. Oh, I felt so sorry for the poor dears that I told them to just go and leave me alone to be miserable and sniffle my way through the afternoon 🙂
    Sad and funny that a day off lounging around reading a big fat book turned into a Kleenex moment!

  9. Nikhil September 9, 2008 at 4:57 pm #

    Oh, I love SLV’s chutney!!!! 😀

  10. praneshachar September 13, 2008 at 12:21 am #

    appa magana jodi bhale jodi
    nodi ivaru madtare modi
    tindi pohtara gumpige taristare
    bayalli niru avaru hogtare
    hudukondu khali dose masale dose
    jothge chatni sambar

  11. travelplaza September 13, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    Oh! You’re so reminding me of all my old haunts. My school was in 4th T Block. I can’t remember the st number, but it was the same street as the church. The bus-stop was also called church. Anyways, looks like the quality of SLV is universal. I don’t know if any of you have tried the one near Ragi Gudda Temple. Again I’m terrible with street numbers and names. But the food there is amazing too. I love the masala dose there. In fact, everytime we come to India, I tell my mom not to bother making breakfast, ’cause we just go to SLV:))

Leave a Reply

