Haiku Page

8 Sep

In a desparate and shameless attempt to showcase my “poetic” side I have started a page called Haiku which clearly shows you why I do what I do.

10 Responses to “Haiku Page”

  1. | Balu | September 8, 2008 at 10:42 am #

    For how long have you been plotting this 😛

  2. Xylene September 8, 2008 at 12:53 pm #

    Good ones you have there.
    Studying again? Oh. I think I should start reading old books from school.

  3. bpsk September 9, 2008 at 2:59 am #

    Not bad; all but #3 at least mention a season, which is one of the Haiku rules?

  4. Vijay September 9, 2008 at 3:42 am #

    @Balu: Been planning but hesitating.. but then I said what the heck .. worst case people will laugh at it 😀
    @Xylene: Start brushing up…right from kindergarten
    @bpsk: Thanks… Yes I’ll remember that….

  5. My3 September 9, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    Vijay, Can you let us know the rules for Haiku and if are also allowed to post in your blog?

  6. Vijay September 9, 2008 at 11:00 am #

    @My3: Took this description from a Web Site.. these are the basic rules.. but there are others like the one BPSK mentions above
    Japanese haiku have been traditionally composed in 5-7-5 syllables. When poets started writing English haiku in the 1950’s, they adopted this 5-7-5 form, thinking it created a similar condition for English-language haiku. This style is what is generally considered “traditional” English haiku.
    Complete web site at: http://www.ahapoetry.com/keirule.htm

    Of course you are welcome to post… I can create a user name for you if you wish or you can send me the post via email and I will post it with credits. Let me know

  7. Veena September 11, 2008 at 5:18 am #

    Vijay,
    When I first read this, i got reminded about ‘Haiku Honda’

    enri Vijay idu tripadi, shaTpadi tara haiku shuru maadkondbiTTideera?
    Anyway that mirrors out the current affairs of Vijay anyway, so next idli vade, dose anthella bariteera? 🙂

  8. travelplaza September 13, 2008 at 3:55 pm #

    Vijay is into Haiku
    That is so cool
    Its poetry at its best
    with just a need for jest

    I’m sure that’s not haiku or that even makes sense. Just for laughs:))

  9. Vijay January 28, 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    Well, my name’s Vijay too. Not a great surprise as quite a good % of Vijays in our population. I started reading your entries a couple of days back and I must blame that a lot of my “official” time is getting eaten! Your haiku follows the rules but maybe not pro 😉 Its funny though. Just reminded me of something a friend of mine Aju, did … Sayiku as it is called.

    http://ajuthomas13.wordpress.com/2008/02/27/sayiku-a-distant-cousin-of-haiku-some-of-mine/

  10. Vijay January 28, 2009 at 1:41 pm #

    @vijay: Please come back and waste some more time 😉 I will gladly take the blame… thanks for the “Sayiku” link… very talented.. way beyond my capabilities 😦

Leave a Reply

