Not so favorite dishes

31 Jul

Certain foods I DO NOT LIKE.

Son has similar tastes and I am accused of influencing them. I think its a hereditary thing. However the missus thinks its not. Its just me influencing him.

I must say Nikhil and I have more foods in common than he does with his mom. Thats more because of the quality of food I eat.. Pizzas, Chaats, and other healthy stuff…

Heres some of the stuff that I dont care for. Apologies (and sympathies) to those who do.

1. Sakkare Pongal – Rice was not meant to make sweet dishes.Pleeeease

2. Shame Gadde (dont know the English name) – It looks like a potato when its cooked… until you eat it..gets all gooey in side

3. Raw Bananas – Except chips all else should be banned

4. Banana Flowers and Stem – No no no… who thought about this?

5. Broccolli, Sweet Potato – @#$%#$

Whats your least favorite dish?

24 Responses to “Not so favorite dishes”

  1. raydixon July 31, 2008 at 9:31 am #

    I’m cooking a rogan josh beef curry right now, Vijay. The brand of the curry paste is Pataks. Made in … Lancashire, UK !! Delicious.
    \
    My least favourite dish? Anything with fish sauce in it.

  2. | Balu | July 31, 2008 at 11:32 am #

    Gee I like the last three items you mentioned….
    Least favourite. hmm.. anything that has bittergour.. YUCK! =P

  3. neela July 31, 2008 at 2:24 pm #

    sihigumbaLa…
    one of the few veggies I find “yuck” when used as a vegetable. However I can eat its halwa.
    Northies make a chaat out of S gadde: arabi chaat . You must taste that.
    It is easy to make:
    sprinkle lemon juice , chaat masala and a little ingu on cooked and deskinned , cubed arabi /s gadde/ colacasia. And it is ready to eat.

  4. MY3 July 31, 2008 at 2:57 pm #

    Harrrruuuuuuuuummmmmmpppppppph!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Okay Vijay, I am done with your blog 😦

    I loooove all the dishes you have mentioned. Why, just today I bought a bag of chips::Karela(bitter gourd)chips πŸ™‚ from Bombay Tiffany;s(Sayyaji Rao Road). I think between my dad and me, we have polished off half the bag. My mother respectfully declined and decided that she and my son would rather munch on the murukku, sohanpapdi and anjer barfi we got HA HA HA!

    ps:The entire Sayyaji Rao Road has been repaved with red and yellow pavers and is such a pleasure to walk on.

  5. ramsblog July 31, 2008 at 3:27 pm #

    “Shame Gadde (dont know the English name) – It looks like a potato when its cooked… until you eat it..gets all gooey in side” –> I think it is Taro Root. I had never seen that vege before, until few years ago in Seattle when my wife wanted to buy it. My wife likes it – she brought it home once and had cooked something. I didn’t like it.

    Same here, except brocolli and banana chips in your list, rest are no-no. πŸ™‚

    I had never seen a brocolli in Bangalore, but I liked it when I ate here in assorted green vegetables that I get to eat here when I go out for lunch/dinner at work (hmm.. i can’t eat anything else here being a vegetarian). We use brocolli at home for any mixed vegetable dish.

    @Neela,
    sihigumbalakaayi palya was one of my favorites. We had a whole big plant in our front yard during my childhood; I often prefered palya out of that vege. and we also had chow chow (seeme badane) and liked huLi and palya out of this vege more often.

    @Vijay:
    raw banana chips? — yum… that’s my favorite too. It has to be somewhat fresh else the coconut oil starts to smell as the banana chips gets older πŸ™‚

    @My3:
    did you say karela (haagala kaayi) chips? doesn’t it taste bitter? the only dish I knew of that vegetable was gojju, although we almost never prepared it at home in bangalore. Off late, I liked the gojju (if it was not made to taste bitter); my mom is here and she prepared gojju yesterday, I liked it. (yes – kahi irlilla). If karela chips doesn’t taste bitter, any idea how they make it? (hmm… i don’t think we get prepared ones here, so will have to prepare at home πŸ™‚ )

    @Vijay,
    “I think its a hereditary thing. However the missus thinks its not. Its just me influencing him” –> I think I agree. I don’t think it is hereditary πŸ™‚ It just depends on what we get used to. we didn’t eat karela gojju at home, because my dad didn’t like it – so I accustomed to not liking it until I ate it recently somewhere or at the wedding occasions in bangalore. Oh, we don’t bring cauliflower home even today πŸ™‚ so also banana stem/flowers.
    my wife says, Vidya is kind of combination – ‘coz they both like chaat made of cauliflower (i don’t remember the name now and I don’t eat that); but V- likes pasta, noodles and pizza that are my favorites. I am not big in to chaats but they both love chaats.

  6. Shruthi August 1, 2008 at 5:54 am #

    That’s easy. Papaya. That’s the only food I don’t like.

  7. nalini rao August 1, 2008 at 12:59 pm #

    Vijay,
    ” Pizzas, Chaats and other healthy stuff…..” – very funny. Yeah they are all my favs too. And your list would read like my own, except for the don’t be horrified Shame gadde and baalekaayi when fried in typical Andhra style and made spicy are very tasty.

    My least fav dish ? Well, you bet it is Sakkare Pongal – infact Nishant says ” why do you struggle so much and cook it once a year (Sankranti) and give everything to the maid antha.

    And there are two vegetables very “popular” here, TINDA and LOTUS STEM(these guys very lovingly call it KAMAL KAKDI) – You have to see it . They look YUK and I haven’t dared to taste them

  8. Aditya August 1, 2008 at 3:15 pm #

    Well, not as fussy as I used to be (12 years away from home will do that to you) but I can’t stand:

    (1) broccoli
    (2) gori kayi (cluster beans)
    (3) Hagalkai except in gojju

    Never eaten banana stems, thank goodness.

  9. bpsk August 2, 2008 at 2:33 am #

    My list
    1. a stinky Kerala vegetable called “magani”
    2. liver
    3. mussels

  10. Veena August 4, 2008 at 5:56 am #

    Vijay,

    Banana stems are very good for health kanri.. paapa madam is concerned about your health so avaru adanna maadidre nimma maganna neevu haaLu maadthideera? hmm..

    Well, its hard to think about not so favourite dishes in Indian food.. so I will list of these.

    1. No McDs/Pizza huts pls
    2. No Mushrooms/Paneers in the curry I take
    3. Taco bells and the Miamigos (I don’t understand their food actually)
    4. Italian food just look good to me , I am fine with subway’s sandwiches than these!
    5. Chinese – adara sause gaLa vaasane andre kashTa!

  11. vinay August 4, 2008 at 7:23 am #

    seeme badnekayi palya , southekayi palya ( its a sacrilege to cook cucumber) , neer dose ( mangalore style)

  12. Vijay August 4, 2008 at 8:28 am #

    Wow.. looks like a lot of likes and dislikes..

    @Ray: Pathaks are a well known name… but not available in India…hope the Rogan Josh came out well
    @Balu: My sympathies 😦
    @Neela: I like sihi kumbalakayi (sweet pumpkin)..especially Gojju
    @My3: Sorry… please dont hold it against me…
    @Ram: The Chaat made out of cauliflower?? Gobi Manchurian??
    @Shruthi: Pappaya as a fruit… not my favorite as well… but I love the Pappaya salad that the Thai’s make.. its from raw pappaya
    @Nalini: Great.. another sakkare pongal hater…
    @Aditya: What about Brinjal.. you used to hate it ever since we made you eat the portugese fish telling you it was Brinjal?
    @BPSK: Magani??? Sounds interesting
    @Veena: Dont understand their food???? What it mean???
    @Vinay: On your list I can eat all.. but agree with you on Cucumber and Neer Dose (maybe beer dose would be better)…

  13. Veena August 4, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    Vijay, what I meant was.. If I read their menu, I really don’t get how they look like or what they are made out actually πŸ™‚

  14. Manasa August 4, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    I agree on #3 and #4. Sakkare pongal is better than Khara Pongal πŸ˜€

  15. Vijay August 4, 2008 at 12:45 pm #

    @Veena: ok…
    @Manasa: hmmm… but sweet dishes from rice???

  16. Valsala August 4, 2008 at 1:09 pm #

    How come no-one’s mentioned brinjal??? I thought almost everyone hated it! I do!

  17. Vijay August 4, 2008 at 1:13 pm #

    @Valsala: Brinjaaaal my phavorite…

  18. Prashanth M August 4, 2008 at 3:43 pm #

    nuggekaayi – I hate it.. πŸ™‚

    favorites – difficult to pick one or two πŸ˜€

  19. Ram August 5, 2008 at 7:01 am #

    @Vijay,
    that’s right, Gobi Manchoorian πŸ™‚
    I don’t know why I don’t eat it, but I just don’t πŸ™‚
    brinjaaal –> hehe – I love badanekaayi + aaloo + alasandhe kaaLu huLi.. yum yum πŸ™‚

  20. Vijay August 5, 2008 at 7:19 am #

    @Prashanth: Dont mind nuggekayi..
    @Ram: Another post idea… favorite dishes…

  21. megcloud9 August 5, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    just hate upma,call t concrete πŸ™‚ and cant stand hagalkai too πŸ™‚

    my mom makes hourekai sambar n stuff,which is also intolerable πŸ™‚

    hey banana flowers n stem r really good,isnt tat balekai ? i loove balekai palya ,the ones made at thithis !

  22. megcloud9 August 5, 2008 at 4:00 pm #

    just hate upma,call it concrete πŸ™‚ and cant stand hagalkai too πŸ™‚

    my mom makes hourekai sambar n stuff,which is also intolerable πŸ™‚

    hey banana flowers n stem r really good,isnt tat balekai ? i loove balekai palya ,the ones made at thithis !

  23. sindhu August 15, 2008 at 5:21 am #

    waaaaaak sakkre pongal
    waaaaaak pongal!
    waaaaaak seegumla
    waaaaaak pathrodey (mangalorean dish)
    waaaaaak mangalorean cuisine

  24. Vijay August 18, 2008 at 5:41 am #

    @Meg: Like uppittu… and avarekayi… so we are even πŸ™‚
    @Sindhu: Agree to all your waaaaks except pongal (khara) and seegumla (gojju)…I thought Mangalorean Cuisine was nice…

Leave a Reply

