Eateries – My3 needs your help

18 Jul

One of my regular readers My3 (Mythri) is visiting India from the USA. Shes been in Bangalore for a few weeks. She suddenly surfaced today.. commenting from Bangalore.

If you folks have had vendors like Subbamma telling you that they are running short, its because My3 has been shopping for stuff to take back with her.

Shes done Dosas as Vidyarthi Bhavan, Idlis at Brahmins… NOW SHE WANTS a list of more places to eat.

I can suggest the following:

CTR and Veena Stores in Malleswaram

Janatha Hotel near VV Puram Circle

Modern Tiffin Rooms near VV Puram Circle

Vinay in an earlier comment had mentioned khali dose at an SLV in Jayanagar.

SLV in Bsk 2nd Stage.

Food Street in VV Puram – Especially the Bonda guy there

Any others? Please help her.. shes soon going back to the USA where she’ll eat chutney made from dessicated cocunut…

GIVE HER YOUR LIST OF PLACES TO EAT.

37 Responses to “Eateries – My3 needs your help”

  1. vinay July 18, 2008 at 7:14 am #

    Dear My3 ,

    1. Chiroote, Idly , Vade : Vyshali hotel in 9th Block Jayanagar , next to MK Ahmed bazar
    2. Rose Garden churumuri gaadi , near the National Junior college
    3. Sukh Sagar in 4th block for Paav Bhaji

    more to come …

  2. ramsblog July 18, 2008 at 9:06 am #

    How is Roti Ghar in Gandhi Bazaar.
    L, V and I stopped by that place when I was in Bangalore in April. my wife liked the sundae ice cream very much so did my 3yr old V . They weren’t hungry enough to enjoy the food there also it was about to close when we got there around 3pm.

  3. MY3 July 18, 2008 at 12:51 pm #

    Oh Vijay! I am absolutely embarrassed that there is a whole post dedicated to my request! I did not know about the 9th block Vyshali. I shall check it out. Sukh Sagar is really awesome and has been our favorite for quite some time now.

    I am yet to make it to the cake place opened by ISKCON. Roti Ghar is also good. Kadambam is not what it was before. It is now on Bull Temple Road just next to Guru Narasimha Kalyana Mantapa. Their dosas are okay. I make better pongal 🙂 SLV is okay and I agree that others make better stuff. The standing SLV is better than their restaurant one on Vani Vilas Road. There is a bonda maker on Gandhi Bazaar just outside of the big tent selling cotton clothes closer to HSBC. I have not yet mustered up courage to eat it, but watch the customers who eat the chilly bondas…sniff sniff.

  4. Lekhni July 18, 2008 at 1:17 pm #

    “shes soon going back to the USA where she’ll eat chutney made from dessicated cocunut…”

    Only if she makes it herself, or drives 30 miles 😦

  5. Vijay July 18, 2008 at 1:44 pm #

    @Ram: Never been to Roti Ghar … its right next to Vidyarthi Bhavan and my legs automatically walk in there when I am in the area
    @MY3: A better Bonda place is near the Vyasa Raya Mutt up the road from HSBC. Fear not.. I am sure you have Immodium 😉 another Bonda place is on Bull Temple road at the Sonata Software building.. this guy Vadiraja has been making Bondas there for ages…
    @Lekhni: You guys are lucky now.. when restaurants in the Boston Area started making idlis in the early 90’s they were like hockey pucks.. you could kill people… by the way why do you think Chutney tastes different in the USA even if you make it from fresh coconuts?… maybe you can do a post on this (to follow your rasagolla one)

  6. Gowri July 18, 2008 at 10:02 pm #

    Was in Bangalore in June. She should definitely have sugarcane juice at Cane-o-la. The sugarcane juice with lemon tastes the best.
    Also have some Chiroti from Krishna Sweets in Jayanagar. (in case you dont get an opportunity to eat chiroti at a function) . They were good. You will need to bring it home and eat. Bring back (to the US) some kayi holige and beLe holige from krishna sweets so that you can eat them leisurely here in the US. They both were good. I usually never like the beLe holiges from outside other than the ones I make.
    Have badami halu at nandini outlet. Bring back their Mysore pak. Yum!!
    From any bakery, bring back their ‘Khara biscuit’ and ‘coconut biscuit’. Yum again! especially when you are eating after 2 weeks after returning here.

  7. MY3 July 19, 2008 at 2:07 am #

    Cane O la already has my weekly gas money that I would have spent on my van if I was still in the US heh heh heh! I love their ginger one but will try their lemon today.

    Vijay, thanks for the bonda update. That is walking distance. Hopefully I will do it later today.

    Gowri! Girl, you need to email me your address and I will send you a care package when I get back with the things you have listed 😉

    Lekhni: My chutneys are not bad but ofcourse after eating my own food every day I get bored. I am really enjoying the foods outside and mom’s ofcourse. My holiges never come out as well as my Mom’s. And her chirotis are really good. I ate one yesterday for Ashada Shukravara 🙂 My son loves palyad bun. Not yet had khara biscuit. I am munching on rusks right now! with my coffee. Life is great 😉

    And I come from small town USA so hockey-puck or no, the only Indian food we get is Americanized Northie food 😦

  8. vijay July 19, 2008 at 4:55 am #

    @gowri: wow is all I can say. I guess we take all that for granted once we are here. I will have a few khara biscuits in your name 🙂
    @my3: was driving past cane o la at 10 am. Half expected you there. . . 😉
    Too bad Veena Shivanna is in Mysore these days else she would have ensured that the blog balaga took you to every notable eating place

  9. Ram July 19, 2008 at 7:01 am #

    There used to be Dwaraka Bhavan on Bull-temple road close to BMSCE. I don’t know if I missed it this time, I couldnt find it while driving on that road. Dwaraka bhavan and SLV (sonata/KEB building) used to be our eatery when I was in APSCollege and BMSCE. I used to like the Set-Dosa at Dwaraka bhavan there.

  10. vijay July 19, 2008 at 7:39 am #

    @Ram: Dwaraka has moved to NR Colony near the bus stand

  11. | Balu | July 19, 2008 at 11:13 am #

    For alu paratha, gangasagar at VV puram (sajjan rao circle)

  12. | Balu | July 19, 2008 at 11:13 am #

    Its high time they renamed VVpuram to foodpuram or something that plays has so many good joints!

  13. Nikhil July 19, 2008 at 1:25 pm #

    Malleshwaram’s parota corner at the beginning of 18th cross…
    Also, ask her to Fed-Ex two buckets of Vidyarthi Bhavan’s chutney in refreigerated biohazard bags! 😀

  14. MM July 19, 2008 at 1:41 pm #

    Hi, I just happened to stumble onto this blog post but the predicament of a desi-living-in-videsh wanting to sample as much desi fare as possible on a trip here kind of elicits a lot of empathy. How come no one has mentioned CMH Road (Indiranagar) yet? There’s the paani-puri at Karthik’s and for more typical southern fare, there’s Anand Adyar Bhavan. Have a sumptious trip My3!

  15. chethan July 20, 2008 at 5:06 am #

    Heard parata point behind bms hostel is good. Its just a small place with good value for money. Havent been there myself though.

  16. chethan July 20, 2008 at 5:09 am #

    btw, the last line in caps suggests that my3 has been bugging you for a while. 🙂

  17. Vijay July 20, 2008 at 5:23 am #

    @Balu: Need to check that out
    @Nikhil: If we can figure out a way to “export” VB chutney… we’d be rich 😉
    @MM: CMH road has very good eateries .. you are right
    @Chetan: The last line was because I wanted to get across the urgency of the request.. what with My3 leaving in a few days 🙂

  18. neela July 20, 2008 at 8:10 am #

    Why only those abroad..?
    Namgu bengaloorina bakery / hotel andre… though we are only 750km away ! 😦
    slurp, slurp….

  19. Veena July 20, 2008 at 3:21 pm #

    MY3, Till how long are you here? Sure, we can meet for sometime in the weekend if you are okay… I can tell all other bloggers who frequent here and we can as well call all those on Bangalore blues also.. somewhere near Gandhi bazaar or Basavana gudi(bugal park)

    CTR is also one which is mentioned by people here and also Hotel Airlines at Lavelle road is good for Jelabis..

    Vijay, we came back to bangalore. 3rd week now, managing my son alone along with part time office.. negotiating Work from Home option or something similar… nodri nimma company li kelsa kodri nammanthorige?

    Nobody suggested you HaLLi mane, haLLi tindi, Ajji mane and those stuff ??
    Palyad bun means that potato bun? hmm.. one of my favourite.

    and did your son managed to get a music teacher here?

  20. SHADOW July 21, 2008 at 8:56 am #

    Dont miss VB bakery

  21. Chitra July 22, 2008 at 12:22 pm #

    the font in the comments are very tiny! i can hardly read them! 😦

    Definitely ‘Janatha hotel’ on 8th cross in Malleswaram.

  22. Gowri July 22, 2008 at 4:01 pm #

    @Vijay, true. PPl in India take many of these things for granted. I worry more about MCDonalds, Pizza Huts, Italian and Mexican foods taking over in Bangalore to a point where all these unique food items will become a rarity. My brother looks at me like I am crazy when I tell him my concerns. He looked at me the same way when I said that I want to go to authentic North Indian indian food restaurants and not exotic afghan or westernized Indian restaurants. Anyways, I hope you liked the Khara biscuits with your tea. My stash just got over:-(

    @My3. Really? That is soooo sweet of you and generous. When I was shopping for all the eatables in India, I just had me me and me in my head and forgot to pack some sweets for my neighbor. Have a good time. we probably need to exchange our e-mail addresses atleast. We seem to have so much in common.

  23. M O H A N July 23, 2008 at 4:31 am #

    For Kali dose – its Dwaraka hotel at NR colony
    For Coffee – its the Koramangala BDA complex eatary

  24. Suresh July 23, 2008 at 6:14 am #

    Ask her to go to Dwarka Bhavan in NR Colony….famous for Kali Dose
    and Upahara Darshini on DVG road….famous for Shavege Bath

  25. TSSM July 23, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    Life is wasted if one doesnot savour the delicacies of MTR.
    Tell MI 3 to cancel the ticket and extend her stay , if need be to do that.

  26. Madhu Rao July 23, 2008 at 9:59 pm #

    Second Veena’s ‘Halli Mane’ & Chitra’s ‘Janata Hotel’.

    Unless I missed it, how come no one’s mentioned Upahara Darshini aka UD ? Coffee & Shavige bhath used to be v.good years ago. ‘Halli Mane’ is good for some great coffee as well..

    Vijay,
    It is still dessicated coconut chutneys unless you are in desi rich cities. Add to that uppitu with corn and broccoli (mixed frozen veggies zindabaad ! ). Also on the menu Udipi cafe’s frizbees — parathas, and Punjabi joint’s faded bleachers (white dosas). Not ordering south Indian food in a north Indian restaurant and vice versa is a big profanity saver in the US !

  27. MY3 July 24, 2008 at 10:06 am #

    Vijay! Thanks for the wonderful list you have given not just me but all food bloggers. I have tried UD and they are good. Roti Ghar is good. Nikhil, I think we are on a pay on a monthly-basis with Vidyarthi Bhavan 🙂 But last Sunday he had very little uppu in his chutney!!! So I was a little disappointed with the quality control.

    Veena, are you still in Mysore? I will be in Mysore for a few more days. So if possible please do let me know how to contact you? I would not dream of asking for your phone number publicly, but can we ask Vijay to send us each other’s emails? Not sure how this blogging stuff would work. He probably has both our email addresses. Same goes for Gowri.

    Rajaji Nagar and Malleshwaram are all off my list. Too far and now it is just my little one and me. So will stick with the list we have now. I think with the exception of Dwarka which my uncle/aunt and we were supposed to go to (fell sick) we have pretty much tried all of them 😉

  28. Veena July 25, 2008 at 9:53 am #

    @MY3 – illri, we are at bengaluru since 29th June. Anyway will be around mysore during Aug 2nd Weekend. nodi aa time nalli bartheera alli antha? I will tell you , its damn easier to plan meetings in mysore from any corners of the city but here pls dont ask!!

    @Vijay – enri idu ooralella bomb blasts, neevu maatra innu Vidyaarthi bhavan dose tinthaa ideera?

  29. Vijay July 25, 2008 at 10:17 am #

    @Veena: In the office trying to get my employees home… not eating !!!

  30. MY3 July 25, 2008 at 11:57 am #

    Glad to note that all of you are doing okay. We are watching the tv and refreshing deccanherald.com constantly for any new info.

    Veena: nimge email kalasiddeeni. Did you get it?

  31. Veena July 25, 2008 at 2:37 pm #

    Ha Ha Vijay, enri neevu office allu dose tinnoda, what I meant was still this Eateries blog post antha…!

    @MY3 – hmm.. I replied 🙂

  32. poli huduga July 25, 2008 at 7:47 pm #

    Yen saar, nimm readers-ge neevu Deccan Herald thara kantheeralla saar! News barididre comments column alli thale thinthare nodi!!

  33. Veena July 27, 2008 at 7:57 pm #

    ree poli huduga, chennagi bathi idtheera bidi neevu 🙂

  34. ramsblog July 27, 2008 at 11:36 pm #

    talking about MTR – we somehow did not have a good experience for the very first time visit (though lived 6kms away from MTR all my life in BLR 🙂 ) in my life 3 months ago when I was in Bangalore. We thought of taking our parents to MTR on their Wedding Anniversary. MTR visit was their first visit too. I am not sure if that was because we were the last batch for lunch there and they didn’t have enough or just timing for the day 🙂

  35. poli huduga July 28, 2008 at 5:07 pm #

    Ree madam, Bariyodu bardbittu naanu bathi itte antha helthiralla… channagi aithu bidi….

  36. Vijay July 29, 2008 at 2:27 am #

    @ram: Havent been to MTR in a long time…usually their lunches are good and never lacking in quantity..

    @poli: touche

  37. ramsblog July 31, 2008 at 3:48 pm #

    @Vijay,
    about MTR, my dad didn’t like the service there as well. I sensed as though, they were a bit harsh in dealing with people. I sensed it was more of a service quality than the food quantity for that afternoon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

