Whats in a Name? – II

4 Jun

Ok.. ok.. need to have a slightly twisted mind for this (okay very twisted)… and I do have one. I keep watching out for names that have “double meanings”.

Sometime ago I had listed the “Texas Institute of Technology” (TIT) in Jayanagar. A nice enough name but a strange short form.

Here are some more:
 (Read the name and then the Byline)
 

 Zoom in and check the name out.

 

22 Responses to “Whats in a Name? – II”

  1. My3 June 4, 2008 at 10:16 am #

    Chick and our Democrat symbol. But I think your eagle eyes were the greatest wtih the Jayanagar one. Do you know how many times I have gone in front of it and not picked up on it! That is your greatness 😉 So keep on blogging. If you become a journalist then you will only write serious stuff and we will miss out on our Vidyarthi Bhavan and other food places!

    I heard that Halli Thindi is also good. May I request a post before the end of the month? Many thanks for doing such yeoman service to your readers. And please take Nikhil with you. We will get lots of food pictures 🙂

  2. Vijay June 4, 2008 at 10:19 am #

    @My3.. Halli Thindi.. no good… I have gone there and came back disappointed… food post is definitely overdue 🙂

  3. Madhu Rao June 4, 2008 at 2:01 pm #

    Good one Vijay. I made the mistake of opening this up when on a boring conference call at work. Good that I hit the mute before I burst out laughing at the ass who created that company name.

    On a similar note, a friend’s wife decided to get a customized nameplate for her car. Her name is Anu and she wanted to proclaim it’s her car ; her choice “ANU’S CAR” . The Dept of Motor Vehicles promptly said NO but doled a dirty look before she realized her folly ! Have heard some hilarious stories about some desi names being rejected as well — Haardhik being one for the fear of being mis-pronounced..

  4. Madhu Rao June 4, 2008 at 2:09 pm #

    I did not like Halli Thindi as well in my last visit ; loved Halli Mane in Malleshwaram though. But 1 visit every 2 years is no yardstick to judge it 🙂 , so I may have been plain unlucky/lucky that day. Did the Veena stores and Janata hotel (living dangerously !) for old times sake and loved it, especially Janata hotel..

  5. Xylene June 4, 2008 at 2:27 pm #

    LOL !!!!!!!!!
    that was funny.
    😀
    Madhu, that was funny too !! lol….

  6. Vijay June 5, 2008 at 4:44 am #

    @Madhu: Had a prof in the US called Neelkant Rao Dikshith… even my own last name Mysore has some serious connotations to it 😦
    @xylene:Had a mallu classmate called Babykutty in the USA 😀

  7. Xylene June 5, 2008 at 7:57 am #

    Vijay, hahahah. yeah Baby is a common name in Kerala, and the funny thing is to call a 70 Year old person Baby. 😀
    Kutty means baby in malayalam, so Babykutty is BabyBaby, there are other names like Kunju (which also means baby or small) also Kunjukuju (small baby) also, babykunju, babymon(mon=son)…..
    😀

  8. Nikhil June 5, 2008 at 2:05 pm #

    hehehe!!! Funny how Tits, Ass and Chicks all are feministically-twisted words! I love the play on words – Next Gen Spaces!! haha!! too funny, man!! 😀
    And that chick joint, where is it?? oota chennagidya alli?

  9. Nikhil June 5, 2008 at 2:06 pm #

    um, I dont know if “feministically” is even a word! 😀

  10. My3 June 5, 2008 at 5:15 pm #

    “Strategery” ring any bells, Nikhil 😉

  11. Kishore June 5, 2008 at 6:12 pm #

    I met a nurse with the name ‘Shinibaby’. My wife who was recovering from her cesarean almost broke a suture.

  12. Madhu Rao June 5, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    Nikhik,
    Eee oota chenagide tintira ? 🙂 . ( Dug up a post from my now retired blog. You gotta see it to believe it ! I rubbed my eyes till they were red when I saw this in a grocery store ! )

    http://currentcaveats.blogspot.com/2008/01/brits-named-their-pudding-what-eewwww.html

    Vijay,
    I know, Neelkants are probably the most teased. Had an American colleague make fun of a “Bhatt” surname. He promptly shut up when we told him what his last name meant in Hindi. His name is Brian Lund !

  13. Vijay June 6, 2008 at 4:50 am #

    @Nikhil: The “Chick” place is in front of Forum Mall (road leading to Dairy Circle)… me being a vegetarian dont know the quality of the food.. but he doesnt seem too busy…

    @Kishore: 🙂

    @Madhu: LOL….

  14. raydixon June 6, 2008 at 9:58 am #

    Apparently there is a town in Germany (or maybe Austria) that is pronounced “Foochin” (or something like that) but it is unfortunately spelt: F. U. C. K. I. N. G. I kid you not, and I’ll try to find the sign.

  15. raydixon June 6, 2008 at 10:06 am #

    It’s in Austria. Here’s the sign:

  16. Vijay June 6, 2008 at 10:09 am #

    @Ray: Great find.. love the sign…

    Heres an article about a town in England called Shitterton.. they are trying to change their name… to quote the article..other “wonderful” names include Cockington, Lickey End, Nob End, Thong, Ugley, Wetwang, Twatt, Penistone, Bitchfield, Crapstone and Cockermouth.

    http://fakesteve.blogspot.com/2008/05/more-reasons-to-love-british.html

  17. My3 June 6, 2008 at 10:16 am #

    Guys! Guys!! Guys!!!
    You are really pushing the buttons on this one.
    Intercourse, Bird-in-Hand are both towns in Amish country, Pennsylvania. 😉
    The first ofcourse stands for the fact that the town was right in the middle of 2 courses 🙂 HA HA HA. I have forgotten what the second stands for.

  18. Vijay June 6, 2008 at 10:18 am #

    @My3: I am still giggling… good ones 😀

  19. Madhu Rao June 6, 2008 at 5:53 pm #

    LOL , this is a fun post ! Good ones My3

  20. Kishore June 10, 2008 at 3:34 pm #

    Here is another name that just drove me nuts with laughter. There is a VP of some company with the name (pronounced as) ‘ANNUL… its a sanskrit word and hindi. Its spelled in English as ‘ANAL’

  21. Vijay June 12, 2008 at 4:25 am #

    @Kishore: LOL… I remember an Anal during my US days as well…

  22. Easy Name Change September 1, 2008 at 8:09 am #

    he he he. Reminds me of my high school. Firbank Anglican Girls School. The teachers wouldn;t let us abreviate it though! F.A.G.S. Classic!

Leave a Reply

