Airportu Review Part Tooo

2 Jun

Ok.. finally back from Delhi. More importantly my first to and fro from the New Bengaluru International Airport.

Here are the good things:

1. Airport really an improvement over the old one.

2. Staff is friendly and courteous. None of the old AAI farts. Plenty of people around to point you to the right place.

3. Check in counters are convinient

4. Luggage trolleys that go in the same direction as you do

5. Security is efficient

6. Airline staff are really pitching in to improve their services and the services of the airport – At least the private ones.

7. Ample parking

8. Nice bus stand

9. Plenty of baggage claim belts on arrival

There are some small issues that I am sure that everyone is trying to address.

Bad things:

1. As I mentioned in a previous post the departure lounge is too crowded. They have tried to squeeze in too many things.. shopping, restaurants in a confined space.

2. The restaurants are too expensive and very claustrophobic. They are trying to fit in as many seats as possible into a very small space.

3. Toilets are tooooo small… the poor harried staff are fighting a losing battle against the bladder mafia.

Need Improvement:

1. BMTC really has to plan transport. Its too early for data but what I saw was that some routes had a lot of passengers and some routes had none. Plus there are not enough Volvo buses.

2. Drivers of these buses are really really bad. Given the fact that there are no autos in BIAL, I predict that the volvo buses are the autos of tomorrow in terms of bad driving.

3. Buses to the tarmac – We had to wait for 15 minutes before we could get off the plane. Obviously this needs to be coordinated better.

Talking about the lack of seating space, Chethan commented by saying “please adjust maadi” on my earlier post. Heres a Youtube clip of the VIP ad which can be related to the seating problems at the airport.

21 Responses to “Airportu Review Part Tooo”

  1. Xylene June 2, 2008 at 7:24 am #

    everyone all over are complaining about the restrooms at the airport, guess it should be that small. May be a aircraft engineer designed it.

  2. Veena June 2, 2008 at 7:41 am #

    Lol on Bladder Mafia…

    Hope the men passengers doesn’t turn the walls around into toilet ( Refer -http://nychthemeron.blogspot.com/2007/07/world-is-their-toilet.html).. I am not complaining here, but lot of us suffer from ‘Everbody-does-it-so do-I’ syndrome.

    Now a days, the Undergarments Ad is really a total mess. !

  3. Vijay June 2, 2008 at 7:51 am #

    @xylene: lol
    @veena: Maybe your suggestion will be taken up… the reason for the underwear ad was the “please adjust maadi” theme… theres a clip there that shows people sharing seats…

  4. My3 June 2, 2008 at 9:22 am #

    Glad to hear that the wheels ont he cart go round and round…;-)

    I am coming with wonly wone kid this time. So I will have to do major pushingu and pullingu. So trying to pack 3 suitcases which hopefully will NOT baloon into 4 :-D. But I am going to be in GandhiBazaar in 3 weeks. Yaaaay!!!!!!!

  5. Vijay June 2, 2008 at 10:01 am #

    @My3: We can always recognize NRIs at the airport by the heavy suitcases…. Gandhi Bazaar beware !!!!

  6. | Balu | June 2, 2008 at 11:13 am #

    Sometimes I feel that you should have been a reporter!
    That was so in-depth
    =/ =D

  7. Vijay June 2, 2008 at 11:16 am #

    @Balu: Wonderful compliment.. thanks… sometimes I do wonder 😉

  8. My3 June 2, 2008 at 11:39 am #

    hehHeh heh 🙂 😀
    Vijay, other way round. All of you beware in August when I clean out Gandhi Bazaar of everything on my way back to the US 😉

  9. Veena June 2, 2008 at 3:38 pm #

    @Vijay hope not… About the Ad thing that was in general nothing related to this one..

    Consider Balu’s thought.. I endorse it too

  10. Madhu Rao June 2, 2008 at 3:52 pm #

    Vijay,
    I second Balu, you have good journo instincts with the right amount of pun-sarcasm. 🙂 . I hear almost everyone complain of the small toilets ; that’s bad considering long waits that are a commonplace. For once the list of Good things seem to have outnumbered the ills of Bangalore Airport ! so hope it gets better.

    My3,
    Nothing like Gandhi Bazaar. I just love that place. Seems like half our time when in India gets spent on DVG road — from UD to Subbammana angadi..

  11. ramsblog June 2, 2008 at 7:38 pm #

    How is Security check in process at the airport? I was surprised when they allowed me to bring water with me through the security check at the old airport last month; whereas we had to throw away any water in our toddler’s sippy cup and throw away our bottles in the US boarding flight to India the previous month. We weren’t allowed to take water bottles through the security check at Seoul airport either, even though we just transit from one aircraft to another within the airport. 🙂

  12. December Stud June 2, 2008 at 11:42 pm #

    For once, I get to read something nice about the new airport. Everyone is busy cursing Devanahalli for being “ohhhh so far”.

    # 4 is the biggest win, I guess 🙂 Man, it was a ROYAL pain to move those luggage carts which were drunk and easy all the time.

    #5 – Hmmm, you are scaring me. Coz, the earlier Bangalore and Madras airports had staff who stopped just short of groping, They were pretty thorough to the level that it was irritating.

  13. Vijay June 3, 2008 at 3:53 am #

    @My3: Please leave something for the locals 😦
    @Veena: Thanks… maybe if I was younger
    @Madhu:Thanks for the compliment 🙂
    @ram: I think this water thing is a little overboard… to tell you the truth I havent observed it here…
    @DS: Better grope than sorry 😉 .. on the distance part.. I am sure BIAL would have preferred to have the airport in the MG Road area given a choice

  14. Nikhil June 3, 2008 at 4:05 am #

    what maga, everyone is cribbinguu about the new airportu…? I still havent been there… I am dreading the experience! I’ve heard they don’t allow autos beyond a certain point..!! 😀
    How weirdly insane!

  15. praneshachar June 3, 2008 at 12:35 pm #

    nice listing of plus and minus of new airportoo and what improvments needed and ytube video on VIP was so good

  16. December Stud June 3, 2008 at 6:31 pm #

    Nikhil calling Vijay “what maga”…..oh well, how things change 😉

  17. vijay June 4, 2008 at 12:31 am #

    @ds: lol. Its a different Nikhil 🙂

  18. some body June 4, 2008 at 8:39 am #

    d.s.:

    a nickel for your thughts!

    – s.b.

  19. some body June 4, 2008 at 8:40 am #

    d.s.:

    i meant to say “thoughts”! (sorry, half asleep!) ;=)

    – s.b.

  20. Vijay June 4, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    @sb: I was beginning to wonder 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adjust maadi, airport is smallu | DesiPundit - December 27, 2008

    […] analyzes the pluses and minuses of the new Bangalore airport.  If it’s too small right now, I wonder how it will be in a few […]

Leave a Reply

