Club Elections

27 May

Talking of Elections, the next set of Elections in Bangalore are Club elections. While they lack the scale, theres the same intensity. Here theres less money and more ego.

Come last week of June, Bangalore Club, Century Club, Bangalore Golf Club, Karnataka Golf Association etc all have their elections. Being member to more than one, you find the same old faces requesting you for votes across the various clubs.

Its good timepass. As I said the scale is small.. but theres drama.

My favorite Club Election story is about a certain Doctor.

So this guy is a friend of my dads. He has this “interesting” behaviour. When I am with my Dad, he talks to me all nice and cheery. But when I run into him on my own, he looks through me.

Few years ago he stood for election. He meets me in the club and asks me to vote for him (during elections I guess he talked to every one) . I say “Ok”… on the outside.. Inside I am like “No way”.. Come election day I vote for someone else.

The Result: He loses by ONE vote 😀

6 Responses to “Club Elections”

  1. Veena May 27, 2008 at 9:38 am #

    Good Post Vijay…

    Do they also give color TV? 🙂 Probably he didn’t read your old post about that, otherwise he would have won (after getting your vote)…

  2. Mysorean May 27, 2008 at 12:05 pm #

    Oh Color TV weakness aa?! 😀

    But whatever the reason, you should have stuck to your word! Poor guy he would have atleast entered a ‘bowl out’ phase! 😀

  3. raydixon May 27, 2008 at 4:04 pm #

    Are you a member of any Japanese clubs over there by any chance Vijay? If so you could stand for “erection”. It’s quite exciting I believe.

  4. Chitra May 28, 2008 at 4:16 am #

    very interesting election result that. 😀

  5. Vijay May 28, 2008 at 4:29 am #

    @Veena: No TV… however potential candidates have been known to send cars for senior members given the traffic and parking problems.. plus its not a dry day 😉

    @Adi: It felt sooo good…

    @Ray: Unfolunaterey not 🙂

    @Chitra: Bwuuuhhhaaahhaaaa.. the poor doctor never stood for elections after that.. of course dad was not too happy with me..

  6. | Balu | May 29, 2008 at 10:13 am #

    LOL used to do such stuff when elections for school leader/captain was on.. sheesh but I never got to vote that crucial vote! 😛

Leave a Reply

