Say What???

5 May

This topic comes as a result of a conversation with junior over the weekend, when he suddenly remembered an incident that happened when he was about 7.

Even babies can pick up negative vibes, but I wonder at what age they start remembering these things. For instance what was the first “insult” or “put down” that you can remember?.. either then or now in hindsight.

My first recollection was when I was probably 5 or 6. We had this girl next door whose cousins came over over occasionally. I still remember running over everytime I saw them playing only to be shooed away. However everytime they saw me taking a walk with my father they’d come over and fuss over me… even at that time, I wondered about their change in attitude (that they treated me differently when my dad was around). Could not express it but I wondered… 

My next recollection (and this is in hindsight) happened in Mysore during one of my summer vacations (Grandfather’s place). Must have been 8/9.

Oft times when we needed a change from our daily routine, breakfast would be “parcelled” from a restaurant behind the house. Very good stuff. I had a thing for chutney (still do), in that I wanted lots and lots of it. So everytime breakfast came, I’d keep asking for more chutney. This probably pissed one of my aunts off so this is what she does one time.

She has extra chutney packed, and then makes it into this extremely large lump and plonks it on my plate and says something to the effect like “Here.. eat till you go burst”… me being me… I ate all the chutney (shameless phellow I am). Later when I got back home, I told my mom about that “wonderful” breakfast. She was livid. I could not understand why…

Suddenly after a few years..I realized… “HEYYYYYYY !!!!”.

9 Responses to “Say What???”

  1. Harsha May 5, 2008 at 9:33 pm #

    Idlis or dosa with the green chutney r stuffs of the yummy kind 😉
    There is one small restaurant, calld SLV, near the BSK 2nd stage BDA complex. He gives lots n lots of yummy green chutney (& no sambar. But i love it) with idlis! Really yummy 😉

  2. Chitra May 6, 2008 at 2:11 am #

    Yeah, what are adults thinking when they behave badly with children. That it will not be registered? I can easily recollect a couple of incidents as well.

    You have a good gift at story telling. 🙂 Good read every time.

  3. Vijay May 6, 2008 at 2:40 am #

    @Harsha: SLV is a 5 minute walk from home.. we go there quite often..

    @Chitra: Kids are very sensitive….and perceptive. Thanks for the compliments… almost wants me to dust off and publish those short stories I have been writing 🙂

  4. Cuckoo May 6, 2008 at 4:01 am #

    I second Chitra, you have a knack of telling story. We all enjoy them.

    Keep it up. 🙂

  5. Veena May 6, 2008 at 1:27 pm #

    Good memories… We need to be extra careful now as parents, I was expecting that you would put one such story from Nik’s side too 🙂

    I remember few of them during our playing times, Few of the fellow mates make you bowl for them and run away when its your time to bat (the then cricket match – no teams etc., but just play 2-3 overs each)…!

  6. Nikhil May 6, 2008 at 2:01 pm #

    Yum!!! I love chutney too!!
    And yeah, ppl do act strange when kids are with their parents… I remember I used to get in a lot of fights when I was a kid and every time, I would get royally thrashed… lol… but when I once took my dad over to that bully’s place, i won every argument!! 😀

  7. Vijay May 7, 2008 at 2:14 am #

    @Cuckoo: Thanks… blush blush
    @Veena: Maybe he’ll do it when he starts blogging
    @Nihkil: Dads intervening works every time…

  8. Winner from PrivateMarriage May 8, 2008 at 2:41 am #

    get over it now – you made me laugh

  9. praneshachar May 13, 2008 at 7:00 am #

    your chutney thing takes medecades back that was the time when we were in joint family with my father and uncles both familes together total strength of around 20 people plus guests. we had one cook who was on training then and also very angry one of mu cousin asked for more heserbele payasa that was the mistake the guy poured all the payasa into her plate and went into kitchen cousin sister was just elder to me was taken aback with the incident but it is over. she ate what she can and left the rest in the plate that is last time she asked anything extra in the oota.
    the male cook became an expert later after gaining experience he was in our house almost for 20 to 25 years and he was like our family member. one weakness of his was picture otherwise he was a nice man after tasting very bad food from couple of years we were lucky to get very good food from him
    vijay nivr bidi purthi chutney khali madi record madidira nice one

Leave a Reply

