Days Gone By – Part Deux

28 Apr

The Pinball arcade turned from a curiosity to an addiction.

Saturday money would be gone in half an hour. So much so that in addition to the pocket money, I’d hit mom up for money so I could go play the machines.

All along my dad who suspected this would keep warning me… “Dont go to that place.. its a gambling den. If I ever catch you there.. you dont want to know what I’ll do to you”…

Things got to a head one day… it was Gowri/Ganesha festival. We lived in Jayanagar and as tradition vaunts, mom would invite ladies from the neighbourhood to come home for “Arishina/Kumkuma and Aarathi. Similarly mom would reciprocate by visiting the houses in the neighbourhood (there were quite a lot of houses). Part of the tradition when you visit someones house is to give you an offering of coconut or fruit and some money (dakshina). In those days it was 5-10 paisa.

I’d wait for mom to come back.. and then pocket the money…once I had enough, I’d slip out to the arcade and play. Come back home… collect some more money and go back…

Unknown to me, people at home became suspicious. Where was the money going? Dad told them “I know exactly where the bugger is”

I was really into the game. Already had several bonus points (which meant extra games for free). A large crowd was watching me. I was doing well… there was a lot of pushing and I kept telling the guys not to. After one particularly “bad push” I snarled at the person and looked up briefly… IT WAS DAD !!!

“Nadiyo Manege” (lets go home) was all he said. Somehow looking at him I did not think “Can I finish my game” would have gone too well with him.

We walked the short distance from the arcade to our house. Dad was livid. So livid that he could not finish a sentence. “You bloody…” he kept saying, but could not go further. At the same time, hes trying to land a slap on my backside.. being more agile, I manage to evade every attempt to strike my body… so all that he got was air… swooosh…

So heres the situation when we got home 5 minutes later. Dad had still not said any other thing other than “You Bloody…”. He was getting frustrated and tired of landing “air punches” and was looking forward to getting me into the confines of a the house so that he could land at least a blow…

Others were waiting for me as well… Mom.. who gave me “The Look”.. we had a cook at that time (Horrible lady. Will write about here later) who was probably looking forward to me getting shot.

So dad’s huffing and puffing… he’s finally able to land a really weak blow on my backside… so weak that I laughed… that made him even madder… mom desparately looking for a newspaper so she could hit me with it… the cook jumping up and down in glee (“I told you he took the money.. I told you…”). For a second I considered climbing on to the atta (the attic)…decided against it given my desire for a long life.

Dad finally cornered me.. instead of whacking me (he was not confident of connecting), he looked me square in the eye, “NO MORE POCKET MONEY FOR YOU… YOU THIEF!!!!” With this anti-climactic statement he walked out of the room (it was his room)… came back in and said “GET OUT OF MY ROOM !!!!”

11 Responses to “Days Gone By – Part Deux”

  1. aniche April 28, 2008 at 4:53 am #

    LOL! I can see that happening in some family-based sitcom.

  2. Veena April 28, 2008 at 5:59 pm #

    Wow! Great narration Vijay…

    Whats this pinball about? Is that the one where you need to save the ball from falling down using the computer keys? sorry if I sound so illitrate in this matter 🙂

  3. kumudha April 28, 2008 at 7:49 pm #

    Enjoyed reading and viewing some pictures of Bangalore!

  4. Bhel Puri & Seekh Kabab April 28, 2008 at 10:38 pm #

    Hahahaha, dude, where has all this talent been hiding?! 😛 Too many good lines to name a favorite. Thoroughly enjoyed. Please keep them coming.

  5. Chitra April 29, 2008 at 12:40 am #

    LOl and you laughed when he was livid. That was mean of you. 🙂
    I feel sorry for your dad for losing the climax. 🙂

    Whenever I read about your childhood, I wonder how your childhood was SO much more colorful. I mean, mine does’nt even compare. LOL

    So, what are you doing with your addictive personality. :))

  6. Vijay April 29, 2008 at 2:25 am #

    @aniche: 🙂

    @veena: Thanks.. check out http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pinball

    @kumuda: Thank you.. glad you enjoyed it

    @bpsk: So many still to go.. I havent even crossed high school yet.. theres Engineering.. Grad School… 😉

    @Chitra: I feel the same way when Nikhil giggles in the middle of one of my sermons… Actually I think my uncles and my dad had more fun… I love listening to their stories… its probably because times were simpler… no TV.. so have to create your own entertainment…

  7. vijay April 29, 2008 at 12:01 pm #

    Hai, Nice layout, great articles!
    Well, I am writing to you by this comment as i could’t find your contact details in your blog.

    We need people like you to contribute articles in our portal specialy for “bloggers”. We have forum/chat features for bloggers could meet each other and disscuss about blogging.

    Currently we are looking contributors. Pls do visit absolutasl dot com for more details.

    Thanks
    Vijay
    Editor
    absolut asl

  8. praneshachar April 30, 2008 at 11:08 am #

    LOL papa nimma DAD ashtu tondre kotre hegri
    kopa barisi jothege mettage yet bidre nagtira
    nijavaglu nivu prachandaru kanri great simply
    great narration now more interested to know
    about your cook it must be another series!!!!!!!!
    please please bega baredu bidi

  9. | Balu | April 30, 2008 at 10:58 pm #

    TAGGED!

  10. Prashanth M May 2, 2008 at 2:48 pm #

    ROTFL….

    Last line – ultimate.. 🙂

  11. xylene May 7, 2008 at 3:59 pm #

    cool writeup. liked it.

Leave a Reply

