Do Not Call Lists – Fading Effect?

11 Mar

Sometime ago, I registered my mobile to be on the DNC list. For a while no calls came. But now they have started again.

Just got a call from ICICI Prudential asking me “If I was the busy and I mind sharing a two minutes of my time to discuss about tha high kilasss wealth management solooosions from us”…

What happened to the DNC? Not active anymore?

And please please.. speak the right englisss dont tha speaking like a Lalloo Parshaad…

14 Responses to “Do Not Call Lists – Fading Effect?”

  1. raydixon March 11, 2008 at 12:55 pm #

    Oh Vijay, please don’t talk about call centres making unsolicited sales calls. We get them here all the time, every day, and do you know what? They mostly come from India!

    You see, the phone companies here have ‘outsourced’ all their telemarketing overseas, due to lower costs I presume even allowing for the international phone calls.

    Anyway, I’ve developed a few “routines” for handling these. It depends on my mood at the time. Usually I just hang up but if I’m feeling particularly aggro I’ll play a game with them.

    The best one was when I told the telemarketer, who always insists on speaking to the owner of the business, “Oh, you need the head monkey then. Hold on, I’ll just get him for you.”

    I waited for about 20 seconds and then I started making monkey noises down the phone. I think I might have inadvertently started this whole Harbhajan/Symonds thing.

    The thing that annoys me the most is they NEVER ask you upfront if you want to hear what they have to say. They just go straight into their sales spiel. Hanging up – or sending them up – is therefore most justified.

  2. Vijay March 11, 2008 at 1:00 pm #

    Hmmm what a coincidence ours come from India as well 😉
    I usually put them on hold (my service provider provides a really shitty hold music)… they hang up after sometime but I have made them use of precious air time..

    On the monkey thing.. It WAS YOU ????

  3. Kishor Cariappa March 11, 2008 at 1:20 pm #

    While at Bangalore, I used to be bugged regularly by Country Club guys. Now, in Oman, I am at peace, no unsolicited calls.

  4. Xylene March 11, 2008 at 4:41 pm #

    Strange. But its working for me !
    i get calls from my bank tho (i have opted for smses etc)

    Vijay, do you have an account with ICICI? if yes u cud get calls from them, u shud cal their call centre and ask them not to call u again.
    if u are bugged again, call ur service provider. if that is not working, well welcome to India !

  5. Vijay March 12, 2008 at 2:30 am #

    @Kishor: Oh ya… Used to get calls from them as well
    @Xylene: Worked for me as well until this call…wonder who is at fault, the guy who calls or the service provider for not providing a full DNC list. I do not have an account at ICICI either…

  6. M O H A N March 12, 2008 at 4:38 am #

    Vijay,
    I read a recent article where TRAI directed a customer to file a police complaint or in HC for this provision of DNC being violated.

    So , everybody in the name and game of business have given it the go. Untill SC comes in starts fining the source originator ( like ICICI in your example), this will not end.

    I was thinking if SC can ban recovery agents of ICICI bank, why not calls also fromthem?

    cheers
    mohan!

  7. Vijay March 12, 2008 at 4:42 am #

    @Mohan: These call centers are probably outsourced as well….

  8. Psyched Gounder March 12, 2008 at 7:41 am #

    I love telemarketeers, Vijay. Because they are one of the few people who dont shout at me just because someone else got a good valuation for their business from a VC; because they exhibit unconscious incompetence and dont pretned to be Albert Einstein; they dont claim to have seen a black goose in an Australian desert in the summer of 1863; they possibly dont drink cheap beer and talk about ecletic choice of single malts the next morning!

  9. Vijay March 12, 2008 at 9:37 am #

    @Gounder: Dai !!! Good points… now you really really need to blog all this…

  10. Veena Shivanna March 12, 2008 at 10:51 am #

    What about service provider’s promotions ? I sometime get calls and the lady starts taking about airtel new offers (the recorded voice off course).. This one was easy to filter as it everytime comes from a same number….

    Wealth investments – huh! too many now and also insurance plans.. I had tough time when my car insurance was due.. Atleast 5-6 calls per day for the same company but by different agents.. 😦

  11. raydixon March 12, 2008 at 2:20 pm #

    Re “Psyched Gounder”: I never thought of telemarketers that way before. That opens up a whole new perspective for me. Next call I’ll take the time to have a good personal chat and try to bring him or her up to speed on the Aussie outback & local beers. Maybe they’d be interested in the footy?

  12. My3 March 12, 2008 at 3:10 pm #

    Ah! We have them too. But for some reason the Indian satellite providers and the Indian phone people are not on the DNC list! Very confidently they ask for my husband by using his first name. So ofcourse I hand the phone over thinking it is some old friend!!! Like Ray, depending on his mood he is polite or he says, Oh The Boss is cooking and cannot talk now!

    Now I have figured out if there is even a second between my saying hello and total silence on the other end, then it is a computer generated call and hang up right away!

  13. Vijay March 13, 2008 at 2:29 am #

    @Veena: I know that Airtel landlines announce all these deals… wonder if that is legal or whether its part of the service (cheap service but have advts in between)
    @Ray: Maybe get them interested in the next Myrtleford festival… increase the number of people to 1000 next time
    My3: “Boss is cooking”… nice one

  14. spandana March 13, 2008 at 6:18 am #

    DNC is a sure way of finding the ‘right’ targets for a slam dunk telemarketing program hehe. it’s probably better not to list at all!

Leave a Reply

