Morning Shows – VHS Chronicles

10 Mar

Morning shows in Bangalore theaters were essentially meant for those folks who were missing classes. They usually started at 10:30 AM and ended around 12:30 or 1… just in time for lunch…Later on came the “noon” shows to accomodate students wanting to take advantage of the post lunch session.

Nanda and Shanthi theaters in Jayanagar (and later Swagath) were favorite haunts. The only drawback was that you’d probably run into someone you know… the tactic was to enter the movie hall after the lights dimmed and leave just before the end.

So decide to bunk classes and go to the movies… for the very first time… I had this nasty feeling that I was going to get caught.

Two Rupees and Fifty Paisa later we snuck into the hall where the Ads had just begun. Once we got settled down, I did a quiet survey of the place (in the dim light) just to ensure that no one I knew was in sight…

As my eyes surveyed the landscape, I met another that was doing the same…it was my neighbour !!!! Right behind where I was sitting. For an instant both of us looked at each other and then turned away.. I was supposed to be in school.. BUT .. HE WAS SUPPOSED TO BE AT WORK !!! (he worked for one of those Public Sectors)… here he was at the movie theater..lunch bag and all. He was playing traunt from work !!!!

It worked out well.. he did not tell my parents and I did not tell his family.. it was one of those mutual blackmailing things…like a silent truce.. we never talked about it…EVER…but every now and then I’d ask “Yenu uncle…Hosadagi yavudaadru picture nodiDraa?” (Saw any movies recently?)…the response was nervous laughter followed by a quick glance around to see whether his wife heard it.

Cross Posted on the Vijay High Chronicles Page.

19 Responses to “Morning Shows – VHS Chronicles”

  1. ramsblog March 10, 2008 at 8:15 am #

    hehe…
    not until 3rd or 4th year of Engg that I dared to bunk and watch movies. The first out of two during my school/college life was in swagat I think – is that in Jayanagar as well? 10 or so students went there to watch a hindi movie. We did exactly the same – reached there a few minutes after the show time. Got off even before the movie ended. I asked one guy as to why we were getting out when the movie wasn’t ended yet in spite of paying full price for tickets – well I don’t remember what he replied – but we were out and back to BMSCE premises in few short minutes.

    I remember I didn’t even lift my chin up while buying the tickets or while getting out of the theatres until I sat on a bike with another classmate. I remember this one very well, since He was craze of riding motorcycles and he had just then bought a Red Yamaha Rx100 and I screamed at one of the turns. 🙂

  2. Vijay March 10, 2008 at 9:41 am #

    @Ram: Oddly enough.. never did any movies in Engineering… got the entire thing out of my system by that time…

  3. Gowri March 10, 2008 at 3:34 pm #

    ROFL. Very funny. could not stop laughing. Reminds me of an incident that happened to my brother which he told me. My brother was in National College and and one day, his lecturer either did not come to the class to teach or my brother and his friends decided to bunk and go to a movie. Dont know which. So, they all went to see a movie. There in the dim light, one of them noticed that their lecturer was also sitting right behind them. That guy whispered this to another guy and this guy I believe stood up to look for the lecturer and said loudly “yello aa baldi nan maga” when he noticed the lecturer glaring at him from the row behind him. he he he.

    I believe the next day, the lecturer just asked the guys how the movie was and moved on.

    Good old college days.

    Cant remember the lecturer’s name.

  4. Rajaram March 10, 2008 at 6:14 pm #

    I am from UVCE well situated near KG road for movie buffs like me..Never missed a good movie..espeaically kannada movies from Dr.Raj..Not exactly bunking classes but avoiding boring lecturers 🙂 funny part was that when you have wathced a movie and can’t say it at home, after some time when your family wants to watch it, you will be forced to go with them again:-) if it’s a good movie fine else it was a real pain to watch it second time 😦

  5. Aditya March 11, 2008 at 2:12 am #

    @Ram, that’s right… in Eng my brother didn’t bunk to see movies. He bunked and just stayed home, and we played a lot of cricket. 🙂

  6. Vijay March 11, 2008 at 3:56 am #

    @Rajaram:lol. . very strategic location. . .
    @Aditya: wonder what you were doing at home. . Hmmm there is an idea for a post 🙂
    @Gowri: Let me know if you can remember the lecturer’s name.. I went to National College as well..

  7. Veena March 11, 2008 at 7:14 am #

    My GOD, can’t beleive all this. Looks like such posts will be few clues to your mom to know more about his mischevious son 🙂

    Well, somehow don’t remember watching movies in theatre until I went to college. And never bunked to watch movies. Once the whole class planned for a mass bunk and go for an hindi movie, I had just go home aince I had no money for tickets.Now I get to watch all such movies in TV..

    In our family, my dad always insisted that if we wanted to go to movies or anywhere its better that we inform them and go. He didn’t prefer the third person telling that on his face (people do this, go to somebody and say, “naanu nimma magaLanna theatre nalli nodide” etc.,)! In that way, we folks had no issues, but he was not okay if we go for evening or night show :-).

    My younger sometimes calls from the theatre and says he would be late home as he is in the theatre and will return after watching a movie.. somehow this informing thing has become a rule in our house!!

    ps- These posts really good, pls continue.

  8. Vijay March 11, 2008 at 7:44 am #

    @Veena:ROFL.. I am sure my mom will be more shocked to be referred to as “his” in your comment 😉

  9. | Balu | March 11, 2008 at 8:53 am #

    Lucky u! I never got to bunk classes in school (had to wait till college for that) because our school was on top of a hill and the main road was like 5 kms away (the nearest theatre was a further 2 km away).. bunking just wasn’t worth it!

  10. | Balu | March 11, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    PS: Can I use ths post for BM (wouls ur neighbour have an issue?)

  11. | Balu | March 11, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    PS: Can I use ths post for BM (would ur neighbour have an issue?)

  12. Vijay March 11, 2008 at 10:30 am #

    @Balu: You poor thing 🙂 .. Go ahead and use it.. I havent seen that (old) neighbour in about 20 years…

  13. Chitra March 11, 2008 at 11:27 pm #

    :)) Of the 2 of you, I am sure he had more at stake in the truce. LOL

    The only time I watched a movie cutting classes was in PU I when the whole bunking thing was possible. I guess we did it more for the newness of it. And the thing of it was, it just made me terribly uncomfortable and I never did it again. 🙂

  14. Veena Shivanna March 12, 2008 at 10:43 am #

    Correction pls.. sorry, these days I can’t do a round of proof reading before the submit button.. anytime my son can call 🙂 sorry for the error aunty.

  15. Vijay March 12, 2008 at 10:45 am #

    @Chitra: I am sure he did…
    @Veena: Just joking… dont worry about it

  16. neela March 12, 2008 at 5:09 pm #

    paapa ‘unkallu ‘ ..
    errr…. were these escapades inspired by natraaj ?

    In my case :saturday morning shows….AND bunked classes..
    aaha entha majaa ittu.
    But all in college only.
    Guess we didnt get these ideas earlier 😦

  17. Vijay March 13, 2008 at 5:29 am #

    @neela: Yakree paapa? No Nutty was nowhere near … we had moved from that area…
    These types of ideas came very early to us…

  18. praneshachar March 13, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    two great men met at cinema bunking from their respective areas so both have no choice but to protect each of them by not telling other. but still you used pull the legs of poor uncle by asking him very embarassing Q mentioned
    had a great laugh. we used to bunk classes but no movies all time spent in college canteen/corridor/surroundings. B.Com final year we used to attend only one subject all rest bunked and attendance was no problem for us and ours was morning shift from 7.45 to 11.45 am. school days no bunking no chance it was a small class of 26 people in SSLC
    HM was a family friend and most teachers are known it is difficult in a small town to bunk classes in school.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Morning Shows - VHS Chronicles - March 10, 2008

    […] blogs | Progressive U wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt Morning shows in Bangalore theaters were essentially meant for those folks who were missing classes. They usually started at 10:30 AM and ended around 12:30 or 1… just in time for lunch…Later on came the “noon” shows to accomodate students wanting to take advantage of the post lunch session. Nanda and Shanthi theaters in Jayanagar (and later Swagath) were favorite haunts. The only drawback was that you’d probably run into someone you know… the tactic was to enter the movie hall after the ligh […]

Leave a Reply

