Missing School – Part 1

6 Mar

As I blogged recently, I went to see Taare Zameen Par with my son Nikhil. Theres a scene in the movie where the kid cuts school and wanders around and then goes back home…

Suddenly as we were driving home, Nikhil pipes up “Pappa have you ever cut classes?”… “Of course not…” was my reply. He gave me that “Ya right look” and asked again “Please dad.. tell me the truth”.. to which I blurted that I probably had done it once or twice…and did some serious “Thippe Saarsing”…

Missing school was something that Nikhil and I differ on greatly. In all his schooling life (hes in 9th grade now), Nikhil has probably missed about 3 days of school. My goal was to miss 3 days a week !!!

Mom and Dad used to go away to work early in the morning. I had this aunt at home who had the unenviable task of dealing with me. She was such easy pickings ’cause she used to beleive anything I say.. in fact I still remember telling her once that I would not be going to school because I had a heart attack. She’d say “Ok.. be careful dont play in the sun”.. and would go back to doing whatever she wasnt doing.

Mom.. if you are reading this….. err.. sorry… but those were good old days and nothing would happen. See I turned out okay.. didn’t I? .. Never mind… dont answer this question 😉

There were a few incidents of “missing” school at Vijaya High that I clearly remember because we got caught..

Stay tuned…

17 Responses to “Missing School – Part 1”

  1. chethan March 6, 2008 at 12:29 pm #

    “thippe saarsing”! – that was good

  2. My3 March 6, 2008 at 12:47 pm #

    Ha Ha Ha!!!!!!!!!!!!
    This sounds much like my husband climbing over Lalbagh compound wall or watching all English movies Friday matinee show by bunking school/college. As a newly married wife, it all sounded exciting coming as I did from an ultra-traditional family where the girl was not allowed to go out by herself! Now as the mother of a 15 year-old son, husband is FORBIDDEN from even mentioning that he skipped school to watch movies.

  3. nalini rao March 6, 2008 at 2:01 pm #

    Vijay: Here’s something unbelievable! My in-laws I believe were movie buffs – they would go to my husband’s and other 2 kids’ schools, cook up stories , pull the kids out of class and the whole family would go watch movies !!!

  4. December Stud March 6, 2008 at 11:54 pm #

    LOL……I am convinced N-boy is going to drag all your secrest out on to the streets. At least, you have a blog to pour it out…do it!!! 🙂

    In school, I was a “good boy” 😉

  5. ramsblog March 7, 2008 at 6:17 am #

    That sounds good. Lot of child hood memories of missing classes.
    regarding “of course not” –> does Nikhil read your blog? so he would know all “of course not” stories now.
    Also the fact that I see “Part 1” on the title and “stay tuned” at the end, it seems there is going to be a series of such memories from childhood 🙂

    “thippe saarsing” andhre yenu?

  6. spandana March 7, 2008 at 6:48 am #

    having come from the ‘good boy’ upbringing…. never had the guts to miss the class. but could bend the rules once in a while, like overstating an illness or two..

    but i do give the ‘of course not’ answer on other things.. like for example..
    “did you copy the homework from someone else?” or.. this one’s from the doctor – “do you smoke?” hehe

  7. Vijay March 7, 2008 at 7:16 am #

    @Chetan: Thanks..
    @My3: Same with my wife as well… I am never to mention all this to Nikhil.. but then its only a matter of time before he reads all this stuff..by then hopefully he’ll be a “responsible” person..
    @Nalini: All I can say is wow !!!
    @DS: As you said.. pour it out.. for posterity
    @Ram: Thippe Saarsing is roughly similar to “Sweeping under the rug”….yes theres a few stories here…
    @spandana:lol.. Do you smoke? Of course not…. I just carry a pack so I can offer it to others ….

  8. neela March 7, 2008 at 8:53 am #

    What I ‘missed’ here is what you did after missing classes…
    I bet that will make a very interesting read….
    Waiting for the next issue….
    🙂

  9. praneshachar March 7, 2008 at 11:28 am #

    nikhil is really putting you all opt questions and yntha kashtakke nimmanna sigistane. but we are getting your all deeds coming out and your parents must be wondering how this fellow was managing missing 3 dyas a week
    good one and really cool you have put everything straight.

  10. meghana2008 March 7, 2008 at 2:25 pm #

    I din know what ‘bunking classes’ meant when I was in school and PUC. I missed just one class in 2nd PUC !! I learnt it only after coming to degree coll ! How boring can anyone be ?!!! Bunking is so much fun !

  11. Aditya March 7, 2008 at 4:51 pm #

    Part 2 better not be about me. But, you’d need to write a book to talk about my school issues.

  12. Veena March 7, 2008 at 7:40 pm #

    Vijay,

    Did you forge your mom’s signature on your leave letter (being sick)..?
    My aNNa sometime had got a whack on his back for doing this and my he was locked inside the room for half day without food.

    I think more of boys enjoy this bunking stuff, I was all the way crying not to miss the class when my mother used to insist to do– so that they can take me to some important weddings(first circle) or return a day or two late from ajji mane during summer holidays…

    Waiting to read more now! Also, Aditya has given a better clue 🙂

  13. Cuckoo March 8, 2008 at 5:24 pm #

    Nikhil is a good boy, I don’t think he’d do it unless he reads your blog. 🙂

    Waiting for next part.

  14. Vijay March 9, 2008 at 9:28 am #

    @Pranesh: Correct sir..
    @Meghana: You probably missed class to attend another class 😉
    @Aditya: Hmmm.. your school stuff are for a grantha…
    @Veena: Never forged… didnt need to give any leave notes
    @Cuckoo: Coming soon…

  15. Vijay March 10, 2008 at 8:10 am #

    @Neela… Part 2 has been posted.. activities varied based on the mood and the financial situation

  16. Chitra March 11, 2008 at 11:30 pm #

    OMGoodness! This is hilarious! Heart attack??? LOL But you got it right, ‘unenviable task’ LOL Very true. :))

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Childhood Memories: Bunking classes… « RamsThoughts - March 8, 2008

    […] Miscellaneous, Personal — ramsblog @ 12:01 am I am inspired from Vijay’s post “Missing School – Part 1” and got myself to flash back on my school days. I studied at Jnana Mitra High School in SBM […]

Leave a Reply

