Generation to Generation

4 Dec

Sometimes on my walks I stop by the Devagiri Temple in Banashankari. The driveway to the temple has these benches for people to sit. Its a nice quiet place.

The girl must have been about 5. Shes sitting with her grandfather on a bench outside the temple sharing a pomegranate with him. As they are eating he is asking her basic questions like spellings, numbers, meanings of small words. For the kid it was all play and she had the answer to everything. It got so interesting that I sat on a bench nearby and watched for a while. The man looked at me and smiled obviously proud of his grandchild.

All this reminded me about my walks with my granddad during summer holidays in Mysore. He’d buy me peanuts and we’d sit in the park and he’d go into stories of his school days and how he came up.

Looks like some things never change from generation to generation. I hope we never lose that.

13 Responses to “Generation to Generation”

  1. December Stud December 5, 2007 at 7:15 pm #

    Quite different from birthday “bum”‘s, huh? 😉

    Very true, I can recall the exact same scenario with my grandfather too. It’s a repeat over and over and over again….forever!!!

  2. Vijay December 6, 2007 at 1:31 am #

    @DS: I hope it stays that way for ever as well…

  3. Veena December 6, 2007 at 10:06 am #

    Vijay, We do share special moments with our grandparents…

    I hear people saying that, when we are parents – we comparitvely spend very less time with children as we would be engaged with so many things..where as when we are grand parents we get all the time and patience to deal with the little children… Glad to hear this incident.

    And yesterday I had a dream where I was suggesting one of my friends to read a book called ‘Bangalore Blues’ which was the printed version of your blog… Congrats!!

  4. Vijay December 6, 2007 at 10:37 am #

    @Veena: Good thought… BB the Book … lol..

  5. nalini rao December 6, 2007 at 1:44 pm #

    vijay: people have children only to have grandchildren, I guess.

  6. neela December 6, 2007 at 4:16 pm #

    asalu kinta baddi ne preeti antarallaa..

  7. sindhu December 6, 2007 at 9:06 pm #

    i remember my granpa had stocks of peppermint and he called all us cousins about 7 in all.. and in a line we got peppermint .. the youngest got an entire pack in return for a peck on his cheek 🙂 i was only 4 then, but i do remember the walks to jayanagar shopping complex to eat thuppa dosey sighhh

  8. Jam December 7, 2007 at 11:59 am #

    Hey there,

    I still remember the days when my grand-dad would get all us cousins in a room during a family function, and start off a game of word-building. Me and another cousin of mine were quite special to him considering that we were the only ones interested in solving crosswords.

    Ah, those literary fun filled days with Thatha.

    Cheers…………Jam

  9. praneshachar December 11, 2007 at 2:35 am #

    Nice to hear all these I was not that fortunate to spend time like this with my tatha as he left the world much much earlier when my father was a student. my avvaa (ajji) brought up the children gave them education my sister used to tell about ajji but I was not lucky to share my child hood days with her too as she left this world one year before my birth.
    But I have seen my children spending their time with tatha on both sides and I can imagine what all is written. I agree with veena that grand children are more dear than their own children
    nice experience shared here vijay I have seen that street you have mentioned It is really beautiful without much traffic and a serene atmoshphere

  10. Ramesh December 11, 2007 at 10:13 am #

    I wan’t to share another angle to this:

    Thatas and Ajjis are natural allies of grandkids.

    In one family that i know, the grandson gets away with everything.When the father decides to act tough, the grandfather blatantly supports his grandson by telling his son ( the father ) – Neenu Chikkavanaagiddaga En En Ella maadtha iddhe antha nange gotthu…Eeega enu helloke barthya…?!!

    The father obviously doesn’t see this to be funny!! 🙂

  11. Veena December 18, 2007 at 7:22 am #

    Vijay, elli pathene illa…
    Do you watch Lead India program on Star One (saturday 8pm)..
    Few of the people their remind you…

    Specially I liked the ideas of RK Mishra..

  12. Vijay December 19, 2007 at 1:49 am #

    @Veena: Sorry been busy… I want to watch it but I always miss out…
    By the way, saw your quiz program briefly…

  13. praneshachar December 19, 2007 at 11:26 pm #

    Vijay I was looking for photo on veena on TV 2nd time as you did it earlier
    as it was not there I was sure you were too busy otherwise u are are the first one to put it. still u managed to see the programme briefly it speaks volumes
    If u are busy means business on hype and all the best

Leave a Reply

