Crazy Ads

27 Aug

Its getting tougher to watch Ads with Nikhil especially when he insists on an explanation. Even scarier is when he offers his own explanation. So much so that I am now scared of watching TV with the guy. Doesn’t help when the ads have their own convoluted way to get their message across.

The latest barrage of questions came when we were watching ICE AGE 2.. supposedly a kids movie and suddenly a sanitary napkin ad pops up (during a kids movie!!!????). I don’t remember the name of the brand but it goes like this.

Some kids are building Castles on the beach when suddenly a wave comes in and destroys the castle. While they are looking forlorn, the lady who has accompanied them suddenly remembers the contours of her sanitary napkin and proceeds to draw them on the beach. The next wave of course gets handled well and the castle survives….

So Nikhil pipes up… his first question is “What is this advertisement selling?”… when I have recovered fully I tell him its nothing that he would ever buy (prompting a cold stare from the wife).

His next question (by pure self analysis) was “Does it have anything to do with flooding?” (I think he legitimately meant flooding on the beach)….

I got up, bowed to my wife and said “I will leave it to you”…and quickly walked out of the room.

If looks could kill.. I wouldnt be writing this post 😉

Related Post: Advertisements and Social Responsibility

11 Responses to “Crazy Ads”

  1. sindhu August 27, 2007 at 12:21 pm #

    oooo! nice one there.

    yeah ads are getting pretty awkward to be watching on tv with kids/parents …oh well you know the combination! remember that lux underwear ad of a washer girl stretching and washing the underwear and having orgasmic look on her face? sheesh.

  2. Ramesh August 27, 2007 at 1:34 pm #

    Vijay,

    Good you survived your wife’s stare. Congratulations…but you only live to face another day…and another set of ‘awkward’ questions….i hope you are not caught again in a similar situation ( until Nikhil finds all the answers, which he will )……keep praying boss… 🙂

  3. Veena August 27, 2007 at 4:53 pm #

    En maadodu vijay , Ad world is full of creative people 🙂
    I pity your wife’s position though!! … lady between two mischevous men..

  4. December Stud August 27, 2007 at 9:38 pm #

    Gawd, I am rolling around laughing..this is too hilarious!!! 🙂

    Reminds me of the time I was a lil kid. I had no idea what ‘Moods’ was and I totally didn’t understand why a man had to ‘act with confidence’ to get a pack. Well, nobody gave me a good answer then…but as you can see, I still rememebr the ad. Oh well….

  5. MP August 28, 2007 at 8:30 am #

    Vijay, This is downright hilarious – I was laughing out loud after reading this. Great narration, as always sir!

    When you think about it, the ad is actually brilliant in the way in which it conveys what it wants to, right? I guess father and son haven’t yet had the pleasure of watching together the other ad – the one where some blue liquid that is spilt all over a table gets sucked up by the napkin in no time? While these ads get across the functional aspect quite clearly, there is no brand recall. Like you I cannot recall the names of either of these brands! Maybe the target audience registers and is able to recall the brand name? Sorry for the tangent!

  6. praneshachar August 28, 2007 at 3:07 pm #

    Even though you can laugh on the issue it has opened an important social responsibility issue both moral and civil. ads should be decent realistic and
    should keep everyone away from issues like the one raised. too many advertisements now days are going out of decency it needs to be checked.
    good write up vijay and I appreciate your concern and posting it for a debate in blog. good work

  7. rads August 28, 2007 at 5:04 pm #

    rofl 🙂
    But seriously though such ads get screened during kid time?! :O

    The ad is in such poor taste, I mean, I appreciate a certain element of creative freedom, but the wide blue ocean?

    I usually shut my kids up with some imaginary task/diversion, not that it works all the time. 🙂

  8. Cuckoo August 30, 2007 at 7:39 pm #

    Hmmm.. that was so bad of you to leave your wife handle all the tough questions. 😛

    I pity her though it was not her or your choice to see that ad in between a kid’s film.

  9. Vijay August 31, 2007 at 6:28 am #

    @Sindhu: The censor board finally banned that Ad
    @Ramesha: Each day is a new challenge
    @Veena: It is her (my wife’s) forehead writing
    @DS: LOL..
    @MP: One explanation as to why the ad was aired is probably because moms are watching as well
    @Pranesh: Thank you sir..
    @rads: Unfortunately kids know when you are trying to do this 🙂
    @Cuckoo:When it comes to situations like this… I run.. still remember once in school I was strutting about the house singing “Carefree, Carefree..”.. until my mom asked me to shut up… I had seen the Ad in a movie theater..

  10. some body September 4, 2007 at 12:10 am #

    come on, vijay! that was just his second question – he had 18 more to go! 😉

    ramesh:

    “Good you survived your wife’s stare. ”

    we need vijay to model whatever it was he was wearing, because it is obvious that that’s what saved him!

    – s.b.

  11. GNM December 31, 2007 at 12:46 pm #

    HA HA! It is a regular occurance in my house. During CNN ads we get ED ads. Try explaining THAT to a 10 year old when he asks why he has a funny smile on his face in the tv…
    And have a openly guffawing highschooler standing behind the 10 year old!!(roll eyes)

Leave a Reply

