Whats with the “Reverse Gear” Music?

16 Aug

Looks like ranting season for me 🙂 . Ok here goes…

One of my least favorite car gizmos is the “reverse gear music”. It ranges from Jingle Bells, to Saare Jahaan Se Accha to just plain high pitched beeps. Not to forget the “machine voice” that says “Attention Please. This car is going in reverse” (or something to that effect).

My question? Why do you need music for reverse gear? Is it to warn others that your car is going in reverse or is it for the driver to know he has correctly changed to reverse gear? OR is it just to impress people.

If the driver needs to be reminded that he is in reverse gear or needs confirmation… should he/she be driving at all. If its to impress people, believe me.. it is NOT

The reason for my “rant” on this topic is my neighbour who has bought a new car with a shrill reverse gear indicator. He starts his car in his driveway, puts it in reverse, and then waits for all his passengers to get in before heading out.

@##$%%^&^.

His Music – Jingle Bells

Apologies to any reader who has reverse gear music 😉

14 Responses to “Whats with the “Reverse Gear” Music?”

  1. MP August 16, 2007 at 4:41 am #

    Vijay,
    He, He! Your rant would have been infinitely more colourful if your neighbor had a Himesh Reshammiya song instead of Jingle Bells. Thank god for small mercies … I heard one car with “Jhalak Dhikhlaaja” last week and it was just too @#$@$# !!!

    Have you also noticed that when people have these on, they “sound” less competent as far as their parking abilities go? They seem to take an eternity to get it right!

  2. Srik August 16, 2007 at 8:30 am #

    I dont understand the concept tooo 🙂

  3. neela August 16, 2007 at 10:30 am #

    Also when they switch their reverse gear music on they become totally deaf to other vehicular sounds..
    but our car has it. ;)it is essential when kids are playing in the parking area .
    we switch it off during early mornings and late nights..

  4. Vijay August 16, 2007 at 10:37 am #

    @Neela: Thats a good reason… music or beep?

  5. rads August 16, 2007 at 1:25 pm #

    I so totally agree. It’s extremely annoying to suddenly hear christmas bells in burning hot Chennai weather, or even Bach or Mozart!

    Last time someone startled the brains outa me coz I was standing right next to the car. Whatever happened to ‘excuse me, I’d like to drive outa this parking lot now!

    thanks for helping me rant too ;-))

  6. Vijay August 16, 2007 at 2:36 pm #

    @rads: lol… you are right Christmas bells in sizzling Chennai dont exactly gel…

  7. December Stud August 16, 2007 at 5:57 pm #

    Vijay, Shhhh…don’t tell that to a South American…I am sure he/she will be offended.

    On that note….I always arugued with my father as to why he wouldn’t switch off the annoying reverse noise….well, he never…neiehter did I when I drove his car, that’s a different story.

    But, I have to agree that I really enjoyed the Enigma music when my neighbor took a reverse. I was in high school at that time. He made sure the volume was at the maximum. I have a feeling that i was the only one in the neighborhood who liked it 😉

  8. Veena August 17, 2007 at 6:04 pm #

    I did talk about this in one of the king rooster’s post. some even put national anthem(remember its just the tune no lyrics) 🙂 but nobody sues them.. not even churmuri blog:-)

  9. Aparna Muralidhar August 19, 2007 at 11:32 am #

    Vijay: I know what you mean. I have a car in the neighbourhood that reverses to “here comes the bride”. It makes me want to laugh and cry. But then if the Karat and Manmohan Singh can be “married” why can’t a car be a bride? 😉

  10. BPuriSKabab August 20, 2007 at 1:34 am #

    Thanks for posting on one of my pet peeves.

    My parents’ building in Bangalore recently circulated a petition to ban the reverse-gear music.

    It passed. Unanimously.

    What I don’t understand is the reason for having this feature in the first place. Is the driver saying:
    1. I am absent-minded. I don’t really know I am reversing until I hear the music.
    2. I have installed this music, therefore if I drive over you smashing your haddi-passli, I am excused because I gave you adequate warning?
    3. Look at me, I am so cool. I can’t afford a bigger car, but I can definitely afford spending Rs.1000 on this reverse gear music. If I can’t impress you, let me at least annoy you.

  11. Vijay August 20, 2007 at 8:25 am #

    @Aparna: Havent heard “Here comes the bride”… thats funny
    @BPSK: I like point #3.. lol

  12. rk September 11, 2007 at 7:32 am #

    vijay sir,
    please have a look at the latest blog cartoon.Blog Cartoon – 21

  13. Dharmesh Pitroda April 3, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    I have same kind of issue. I am staying at groundfloor and my one of the window face is in-front of parking. Each night one fellow coming late and he used to drive reverse which sounds horrible sound of that titanic music. Some time I just lost my sleep and after that it will take around 30 minutes to get it back. I am planning to talk with this fellow .. what u suggest guys ?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. orange county gates - July 31, 2011

    orange county gates…

    Whats with the “Reverse Gear” Music? « Bangalore Blues…

Leave a Reply

