The Dentist

6 Aug

Sometime when I was in middle school, mom decided that my teeth needed some serious work in order for her only son (at that time) to escape the “Thuriyo mane” (Coconut scraper) nickname. So off we went to a dentist.

Back in the 70’s, The Dental College was considered the best place to go to. So there we went.

I hated the place. Everytime I went there, people would make me open my mouth, make molds from it. Being a college, I also had students peering into my mouth. All in all I NEVER looked forward to going there. In all this my dad used to be very skeptical about this attempt by my mom (making a black dog white he would say). She NEVER gave up.

So one day the dentist decides that I have to lose 4 teeth in order to make way for new ones. This happens over a 4 week period. The first three come out without a problem.

Finally, I go to get the 4th tooth out, and suddenly I see the dentist surrounded by students, all keen to participate in the “pulling of the teeth”. Its pretty indimidating for a 9 year old. My mom is waiting outside the room.

The dentist (SOB) hands over the injection for the anesthesia to an assistant and turns away explaining to his class about how hes going to butcher my mouth. The assistant does a pretty good job with the injection. Subsequently Mr. Dentist turns around and approaches me to begin the plucking operation. And pluck he did with all his might… however there was just one problem. THE ANESTHESIA HAD NOT YET TAKEN EFFECT !!!

I closed my eyes and just let out a scream and flailed my legs out. My mom still says my scream could be heard all across the college.

When I opened my eyes, I saw everyone in the room looking at the floor instead of me. I had inadvertanly caught the good doctor right in the soft spot between the legs. He was stretched out on the floor writhing in pain uttering the names of all Gods that he could remember “Rama, Krishna, Govinda…Hari…”… my mom looked almost ready to land another kick on him especially after someone told her that the guy didn’t even wait for the anesthesia to act… and yes, my tooth had come out.

I never saw that particular dentist after that though I went back there to get my braces… maybe he took early retirement…

37 Responses to “The Dentist”

  1. sindhu August 6, 2007 at 1:14 pm #

    gawd! this was so freaking funny !!! i still cant stop grinning from ear to ear !

    i so know how it must have felt …i got my braces at 13, but a experienced doc in his private clinic did the job, when he yanked a teeth out of the four incisors, one went flying in air and was never to be found ! lolz

    even after bailee (the fence for the garden ๐Ÿ˜› is what my mom and dad refer to braces as) for 5 years , i still have thuriyo maney like teeth.

    my dad innumerable names for my retainers sometime later, hallu settu (dentures) was the one often used.

    loved this post ๐Ÿ™‚ your awesome!

    ps: the correct sequence goes > rama krishna govinda mukanda narahari panduranga vittalaaaa ( a line my dad taught me to say before i slept ;]

  2. Prashanth M August 6, 2007 at 1:46 pm #

    ha ha!! hilarious… ROTFL… super…

  3. Chitra August 6, 2007 at 2:01 pm #

    Oh MY! My smpathies with the poor doc. You were really something else, Vijay. With each of your stories…. :))

    WhenI gave you the “award” I forgot to mention your story telling skills. Let me quickly edit my post a little!

  4. Shruthi August 6, 2007 at 3:58 pm #

    ROFL!! Inspiring. I should blog about my dentist stories too ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Veena August 6, 2007 at 5:13 pm #

    Vijay, one of those ‘specially yours’ kind of post… Ha Ha! paapa ri doctor.
    Thuriyo maNe LOL…! In one of the movies, it was also referred as ‘Dentally forward’..

    Orthodontist and their repeated treatment, really get tired visiting them… I had it during my 8th standard and for almost an year. And ya loosing 4 teeth was very painful, my doctor was good, he used to apply some powder before injecting the aneasthesia ๐Ÿ™‚ which was helping in making the area numb.

  6. Aditya August 6, 2007 at 6:18 pm #

    Hehe, at least you had a good reason for getting the dentist.

    Before my dentist stuff started, I had to get an x-ray taken and the x-ray chap had his hands in my mouth probably trying to “set up” the shot correctly when for no apparent reason I decided to bite down on his finger and pretty deep at that. I tell ya, I think his language was a lot more colorful that “Rama, Krishna, Govinda…”.

  7. MP August 7, 2007 at 3:54 am #

    Great Narration Vijay! Really enjoyed this post. Thanks! Did you have to have any more teeth extracted after that?

  8. praneshachar August 7, 2007 at 4:18 am #

    wonderful naration it is amazing you are able to recollect so well and write.
    Dentist must have left immediately as he sensed continuing there may be
    very harmful for him at the age of 9 you have given him such blow
    nakku nakku sustaitu ode
    keep releasing the old memories and we enjoy
    btb no write up in vijay high chronicles for long release madi ondu sir

  9. neela August 7, 2007 at 4:46 am #

    great narrative skills!!
    was that kick nattu kalisida paatha??

  10. Vijay August 7, 2007 at 5:00 am #

    @sindhu, @Prashanth: Thanks
    @Chitra: Thanks for the update on your post ๐Ÿ™‚ .. In fact my buddies from RVCE now want exploits there (bloggable ones that is)
    @Shruthi: Looking forward to that..
    @Veena: Oh yes.. Dentally Forward.. completely forgot that
    @Aditya: I think mom still has my Xrays and the black and white “before” photo..
    @MP: Not after the four… ๐Ÿ˜‰
    @Pranesh: Correct.. VHS is pending…
    @Neela: Illa ree, this was pure reflex action… natti only taught me “armed” warfare

  11. shark August 7, 2007 at 5:54 am #

    rotfl!! I think it was tit for tat ๐Ÿ˜‰ He gave you pain and you payed back ๐Ÿ˜›

  12. Mysorean August 7, 2007 at 9:06 am #

    ROTFL! I will comment once I ve stopped ROFLing! ๐Ÿ˜€

  13. chitra August 7, 2007 at 10:59 am #

    I thought I an he one who hates the dentist. somehow, I can never open my mouth wide open, though he keeps telling me t imagine as if he has golgappas in his hand. How can i when I can just see the forceps and the needle!!!

  14. Srik August 7, 2007 at 11:40 am #

    ROFL!! Super..!

  15. M O H A N August 7, 2007 at 11:43 am #

    Oops… sorry for the doc – it would be painfull but poor thing you…. its inhuman to pull a tooth live!

  16. some body August 7, 2007 at 2:31 pm #

    vijay:

    has the dentist’s noble lineage continued, or did you remove his genes from the pool? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    re: unbloggable rvce incidents, i vote for a ‘nonymous group blog where everyone can blog ‘unbloggable’ incidents (‘nonymously of course)!

    chitra:

    golgappas for you? it was roshogullas for me – i bet he wanted a repeat patient!

    – s.b.

  17. some body August 7, 2007 at 3:12 pm #

    dentists are the flavour of the day.

    – s.b.

  18. solitary reaper August 7, 2007 at 3:52 pm #

    i remember reading this line somewhere.. “Some problems are physical; some are mental; but one which is both is dental!”

  19. December Stud August 8, 2007 at 11:14 pm #

    This is too damn funny!!!

    and to think that I was just gonna blog about dentist and changed my mind in the last second. You don’t want to to now what happened yesterday…well, story for some other time.

    Alright, come out with the truth Vijay…how many more stories are you gonna ‘make up’ ? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  20. Vijay August 9, 2007 at 2:24 am #

    @DS: Tons more.. tons more ๐Ÿ˜‰

  21. December Stud August 9, 2007 at 5:07 am #

    on a slightly different note….we had a history teacher and the nice guys we were, decided to have a really neat pet name for him…

    “mentally backward, physically awkward, dentally forward”.

    I swear we were in fifth grade…so we were naive ๐Ÿ˜‰

  22. Pete Aldin August 9, 2007 at 5:38 am #

    Was it your scream or his??

  23. Vijay August 9, 2007 at 5:42 am #

    @Peter.. Mine…. I think (I am sure I screamed)… interesting question though ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. Anand Balaji August 10, 2007 at 11:06 am #

    Phewwwwwww!!!! What an ordeal… glad it found mention in the papers all these years later… lolzzzz:)

    MANY CONGRATS on the B’lore Mirror piece!!!!

  25. Vijay August 10, 2007 at 11:49 am #

    Anand: Again???? LOL.. do you think I should start charging ๐Ÿ˜‰

  26. Su August 10, 2007 at 5:17 pm #

    Super, laughing like crazy… U must have gone through hell though!

  27. greatunknown August 11, 2007 at 1:14 pm #

    I bet you should! Charging, and charging well!!!!
    Seriously, I am very happy for, and proud of, you:)

    PS: I am one of those rare characters on whom anaesthesia has NO effect in the mouth. Am not kidding here… I’ve reduced 3 dentists to tears, almost, by complaining that I cannot tolerate the pain etc, etc.

    I don’t even wanna begin recounting the horrors of being on the Dentist’s Chair. No matter what giant strides we may take in the world of medicine and science, a meeting with a dentist always conjures up images of medieval torture methods!

  28. travelsaga August 13, 2007 at 8:19 pm #

    Vijay,
    OUCH!!!And that’s for both you and the dentist…My son is getting ready to get his braces and I will make sure I do not show him this post. He’s freaked out enough as it is…Oh and don’t you just love how dentists have their hands in your mouth and continue asking you questions and expecting answers!!Most of the answers sound like…uhh…ohay….ahah..:))

  29. neela August 14, 2007 at 2:05 pm #

    @travelsaga :Vagz my son, is one who loves visiting the royal treatment he gets from his orthodontist.
    He got his braces almost two months back.
    All trouble/pain only for two-three days.

  30. travelsaga August 14, 2007 at 4:01 pm #

    neela, whew! that’s a relief. Thanks. My son is dreading getting his braces. We had a couple of appointments just for x-rays and stuff. Have to actually go for the braces soon. I will tell him that the pain is only for a couple of days. Hopefully, that should make him feel better.

  31. bachodi August 15, 2007 at 5:49 am #

    Ayyayyooo…
    See this is the reason I am an Engineer, not a doc.

  32. skumar October 29, 2007 at 6:25 am #

    i have teeth problem , can you help me.

  33. Geneva Dental Implant January 13, 2008 at 5:15 pm #

    it was a funny story. good thing you still attend your dental checkups.

    DR. Timothy Driscoll, DDS
    Geneva Dentist

  34. San Francisco Dentist Dr John Chavez January 15, 2008 at 10:51 pm #

    Very sorry that you experienced something like that. There is always a bad apple in every bunch.

    Good luck on future visits.

    Dr Chavez.

  35. belliraj July 4, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    Hey, Nice post. i had a similar instance some 6 years back at the same place-Bangalore Dental College. i went to get my tooth pulled up. Again the senior doctor gave way to students who tried their luck in pulling my teeth out. They succeeded partially though. my tooth was broken. Finally the senior doctor had to pull out the remaining pieces out.

    • Vijay July 4, 2009 at 12:00 pm #

      You should have kicked them..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I have won !!!! « Bangalore Blues - June 6, 2008

    […] This is fantastic. I feel lucky to have been chosen from among millions of people. What a great honor. The last time something this exciting happened to me was when I had a tooth extracted and mistakenly kicked the dentist. […]

Leave a Reply

