Rain Rain !!

28 May

Spent Friday stuck in rain and traffic. Took me 2 hours to get from Koramangala to Bsk 2nd Stage mainly because of clogged roads. I could not help but appreciate the yeoman work that was being done by the traffic police and traffic wardens even at that late hour (this was at 9:30 PM).

Its easy for us to rant and rave at them but they face a daunting task and they are doing it to the best of their ability.

On another note…

Then yesterday, Nikhil and I stepped out to the corner shop for a quick juice in the evening. Just as we were finishing up it started pouring (never occured to us to look up at the sky when we left the house.. but then such thoughts don’t occur to us especially when we are going out for a quick snack)… anyway spent 45 minutes stuck in rain, less than 200m from the house… It has been a while since I was stuck in rain and have had to walk… the flooded roads seemed like rivers… After some time I started suggesting that we make a run for it…

Finally we decided to make a dash.. what a mistake that was… I was walking ahead with “N” behind me… our entire road was flooded and it was impossible to distinguish the pavement, road and gutters…we made it home ok.. but I can see that “N” will never again make a run for it (and I wont either).. and I swear he’ll look up at the sky the next time he decides to go out on a walk with me 😉

On a more serious note.. it was stupid of me to take a risk.. but at that moment it seemed like fun.. today morning I heard someone had fallen into an open manhole less that 10 feet from where we had walked.. fortunately people saw that and pulled him out..

Pics below from where we stood:

rain1.jpg
rain2.jpg

13 Responses to “Rain Rain !!”

  1. Mysorean May 28, 2007 at 10:51 am #

    Well, well, we chennai-residents have to wait till nov-dec to make such mistakes! 🙂

    But noDkonDu saar. I heard that somewhere near Banaswadi main road, an entire Santro carrying 4 people fatally sank into an open gutter. I shudder when I think of such things and it is really bad to see the way Bangalore is being administrated. But anyway, the rate of growth, we must admit, is faster than the rate at which our administration can react to the growth!

    I think even we as citizens have a part to play in this entire situation. And the least we can do in that part is “BEING CAREFUL & SENSIBLE”!

  2. vinay May 28, 2007 at 11:40 am #

    what i dont understand is that all papers reported 8mm rain fall for yesterday !!! , I really wonder whats the correct way to report rainfall over a city/region. At the same time , the cumulative rain fall for the region would be hovering ard 180 mm. I think the met dept just records the rainfall based on historical data.

  3. Vijay May 28, 2007 at 12:00 pm #

    @Adi: I agree with you… and YES will be “nodkondu”…

    @Vinay: Thats been a mystery to me for a long time….

  4. Vani May 28, 2007 at 12:35 pm #

    Yup…similar situation in North Bangalore too…..fortunately I just about got into the house and the taps from up above opened….and dad had to go to BWSSB in the pouring rain to enquire when we would get water..case of “water water everywhere, not a drop to drink….”

  5. Veena May 28, 2007 at 5:32 pm #

    and for me, it was another challenging task to drive back home with my wipers failing to wipe out the water on the front glass as quick as the droplets were formed on it.. I could make it without any issues, it was another way of gaining confidence, driving on bangalore roads plus with rains on..!

    manhole story gaLu bekaadashTu ive..

    Vijay, maLe bartha idru juice kudiyak hogidra ? churmuri /paanipuri would be best choice then alve ? 🙂

  6. praneshachar May 29, 2007 at 3:10 am #

    yes navu sometimes tamashe antha madtivi adre adu amavasye agbahude antha helta irtare. any how it was a good end no worries. It happened to my daughter they got down from a car and were to enter the house of a friend in girinagar my son had already entered the house power went off my son thought some one may put their legs into mori/open drain and came by the time my daughter had fortunately she could hold to a thing stone or something firmly so escaped with a small leg injury. my wife daughter and son were with one on my family frined at that that time this happened on 27th night.
    so please be ware while driving take care of the roads when water is flowing like a water you can not distinguish between road and drain so be patient and cautious for welfare of all. avasara matra madko bedi i samayadalli.
    good topin vijay anf lot of food for thought.

  7. gmohanprakash May 29, 2007 at 4:17 am #

    Yes, most drains- man holes got chocked with plastic , mud and overflew. Promptly the same is ignored in day times when we can see it. come evening when its dark and particularly water flowing all around, lives are in danger – a usual phenomenon every year. Lucky you skipped that ordeal.

  8. bachodi May 29, 2007 at 4:24 am #

    Yaak saar hotte uristeera …? We haevnt seen a single drop here in chennai.
    Guess we need to start singing ” kaale megha kaale megha .. pani to barsaavo.. “

  9. neel3 May 29, 2007 at 4:56 am #

    Any news of rain is welcome–now that I am in hot and humid Kalpakkam.

  10. vinay May 29, 2007 at 5:13 am #

    @neel , lol…have worked in the shit hole ( chennai) and even when it rains u cant be sure if thats the rain water or ur sweat

  11. destinationsrik May 29, 2007 at 7:31 am #

    Veena, Friday Hossur road Ondu Indica dindagi jam agittu anta keLpaTTe, ivaga gottaytu yake anta!!

    Its real fun to walk/run/play/drive/ride in rains…..I’ve done all those, and have enjoyed all of them, all the times.

    Yes, I am also aware of those tragic stories of families being wiped out and our honourable ministers calling it “not a tragedy”!!

  12. Ramesh NR May 29, 2007 at 8:29 am #

    Coming to think of of it, Bangaloreans don’t believe in carrying the umbrella as they step out. Also, as the evening rains invariably result in power shut down, it makes sense to carry a torch(battery).

  13. decemberstud May 30, 2007 at 12:14 am #

    Yeah, I heard that it rains cats and dogs in Bangalore. Good, you are safe 🙂

    As for the rain measurements, they take the data from 8AM to 8AM, so when it comes on the newspaper there is a chance that you get the two day old data. At least, that’s how they did it when I was in India.

Leave a Reply

