The Presidential Race – Its become a Derby

18 May

No no.. I’m not talking about the US of A, I am more interested in the Circus thats going on in New Delhi.

Looks like the presidential race is an excellent way of putting someone out to pasture. Make sure he has no role in politics again. Kalam was an exception.

Here are the “Candidates”:

1. Pranab “loyal as a dog” Mukerjee

2. Bhairon “I am Vice President?” Shekawat

3. Atal “What is Mamata thinking?” Vajpayee

4. Somnath “I hate being speaker” Chatterjee

5. Narayan “I wish I had sung the anthem” Murthy

6. Amitabh “Not in the running” Bachchan

7. Abdul “Please let me leave” Kalam

8. Arjun “Make me Prez or I’ll screw up more things” Singh

8. Narayan “I have Maya behn’s support” Tiwari

The Left supports Pranab. Maybe because hes from Bengal (if hes not a commie at least hes from Bengal). The other reason stated was that he was “Secular Enough” for the left front… wonder what that means. As usual the Commies are on the outside looking in.. something they are very adept at (I want all rights but no responsibilities).

All in all, each party wants to install its own puppet in the office.

I think we should combine the PM and Presidents post. Right now both offices are run by remote control anyway.

Manmohan Singh for President !!

Please Add your own candidates (with the appropriate nicknames of course)

12 Responses to “The Presidential Race – Its become a Derby”

  1. praneshachar May 18, 2007 at 4:16 am #

    very good names with nick in between. wonderful all 9 have optly described. (no.8 got repeated twice) until curtains are down this drama will go one I fully agree with you on left’s view that is the reason they denied the Basu a PM’s term they are really peculiar.
    if not commie atleast he is from bengal rightly said

  2. vinay May 18, 2007 at 4:17 am #

    I think you missed couple of more candidates

    Amartya’ I am also bong’ sen

    Deve ‘mumble farmer’ gowda

    Sunil Kumar ‘ i wag my tail’ shinde

  3. Vijay May 18, 2007 at 4:18 am #

    @Vinay… I meant to add “Pls add your own candidates at the end”… good ones..

  4. MP May 18, 2007 at 4:51 am #

    Good List sir!
    The commies have their criteria all wrong. After all a ceremonial post – so at least for the money we spend on this post, let us have a true blue entertainer. Laloo Yadav. It will give us a good reason to watch the news every day. He will surely keep us entertained.

  5. Mysorean May 18, 2007 at 6:23 am #

    LOL! Great list!

    Karan “I will be the president” Singh?

  6. Ramesh NR May 18, 2007 at 8:07 am #

    How about a lady president this time? Any list?

  7. chethan May 18, 2007 at 8:24 am #

    Rahul “no, i want to be PM” gandhi?

  8. vinay May 18, 2007 at 9:13 am #

    @ramesh

    mallika ‘will expose all’ sherawat

    PS : I mean expose corruption ie. 🙂

  9. Ramesh NR May 18, 2007 at 12:22 pm #

    Vinay,

    I would definitely second your nominated candidate….:-)

  10. bachodi May 18, 2007 at 10:09 pm #

    Sonia “I luv Italian pizza” Gandhi

  11. Chitra May 19, 2007 at 2:55 pm #

    Nice! If not a commie, at least a Bong. LOL

  12. neel3 May 19, 2007 at 5:07 pm #

    Jaya I am big enough for Rashtrapati Bhavan/ I have enough clothes to fill the R bhavan lalita !!

Leave a Reply

