I hate the dancing Tiger on SET Max

15 Mar

Whats with the “dancing” Tiger on SET Max?

Those of you watching the Cricket World Cup matches on SET Max, will have noticed this annoying Tiger that comes across your screen and wiggles his behind whenever a notable event happens like a boundary, wicket etc.

It gets so annoying that lately I dread any thing significant happening. Not only do I need to watch this stuff, it is accompanied by an equally annoying yell that drowns out the commentary. If I could only get my hands on that tiger… @!$&&*. It gets more annoying as the game goes on.

I wonder which marketing idiot (sorry genius) thought about this?

P.S: Mandira Bedi is looking decidedly unhappy. Charu Sharma is looking less bald (thats maybe because some of the other guests were balder).

KP on Churumiri captures the first ball for posterity.

20 Responses to “I hate the dancing Tiger on SET Max”

  1. rk March 15, 2007 at 3:08 am #

    another strategy:
    let the TIGER be there. when ever he appears, he can celebrate a boundary or mourn a wicket, holding a placard: SAVE TIGER
    atleast an important message is sent to viewers.

    people may not notice it instantly (some might), but the message may catch on.

  2. rk March 15, 2007 at 3:16 am #

    wrt mandira bedi in cricket shows, her name only tells the opnion of most people: MANDIRA BEDI, KHANDITHA BEDI!
    (paapa set max avrige kannada baralla)

  3. Murali Partha March 15, 2007 at 5:11 am #

    It is real fun when people rant and rave. Vijay, I see that over the past two days (posts) you have discovered a special set of characters on your keyboard. I can imagine the steam coming out of your ears when you were posting these. I echo your sentiments completely – but I cannot help laughing when I hear you fume.

    What a coincidence though – I too thought Mandira felt she’d rather be someplace else. Maybe she was put off by the fact that she had to work with a suspected racist. I can’t understand how SONY can demean us to let that racist character into the studios again. It is so insulting to take its viewers for granted. In any case pre and post game shows are always a bore. It only got worse now. At least a chirpy Mandira used to provide some unintended humor – now the poor lady sits so glumly.

    By the way I love the sideshow going on between Ponting-Gavaskar-Border. I wonder who will jump in next.

  4. gmohanprakash March 15, 2007 at 5:34 am #

    RK,
    I loved your commentry on BEDI!

    VIjay,
    Interestingly the TIGER does a wonderfull thing when batsmen scores a century – that part alone I liked very much. My soon who is into cricket religion very early ignores the tiger and claims the real tigers are to wint he match yet! So much so for his young age!!

    Elders watch cartoons while kids watch matches… inverted logic!

  5. neel3 March 15, 2007 at 8:20 am #

    Rkji,
    Both your comments above are very apt.
    Have you read Ranthambore by Deepak Dayal?(Navneet Publication)

    Mohanji,
    I wish I could read your son’s blog too!!

  6. Veena March 15, 2007 at 9:07 am #

    I think I should keep an eye on whats happening at Cricket world, otherwise I will fail to comment here 🙂 hey Vijay saakri cricket madhya madhya bere postu bariri.

    RK, very witty as usual.

  7. Prashanth M March 15, 2007 at 11:33 am #

    I don’t mind watching that Tiger, but as you said the voice which yells is very much annoying…

  8. greatunknown March 15, 2007 at 3:55 pm #

    Dear, dear Vijay… I had the laugh of my life! You sure possess more than a fair share of funny bones in your body:)

    I too join the bandwagon of ‘SetMax Tiger haters’! It’s ridiculous to say the least. What happened to the humble duck who used to appear every time a wicket fell etc? That duck would boo hoo to signal a batsman getting out on zilch, but in a controlled way… no over the top yelling and screaming.

    I was also reminded of the days when VCRs ruled the roost. The video cassettes had their share of irritants too… like underwear or banians/bras traipsing across the screen at interesting moments in the film you were watching… bah!

    As for Mandira, well, what is that horrid woman doing in the show? Adding glamour value is it? She is loud-mouthed just like the Tiger. I had the opportunity to meet Charu Sharma for an interview once.

    My mother, a crazy cricket fan, accompanied me to his house. By the time the interview got over, she and I had become fans of Charu as well! Such was the grace and dignity with which he conducted himself. He is one of those who calls a spade a spade and that’s what heightened the excitement of speaking to him. And yes, he even joked about his balding pate!

    Very well written piece Vijay Sir!

  9. gmohanprakash March 16, 2007 at 4:12 am #

    neel3,
    Still he is not known this one aspect… 🙂 so no blogs as yet.

    vijay,
    Yesterday evening while watching the match, the tiger reminded of you!

  10. Vijay March 16, 2007 at 4:21 am #

    @Mohan .. lol..

  11. some body March 16, 2007 at 6:44 pm #

    rk:

    not everybody apparently dislikes ms. bedi.

    – s.b.

  12. Veena March 21, 2007 at 12:12 pm #

    I watched that Set Max tiger with much interest yesterday.. Was relating each line of this post to its action. specially the dankaNaka music when somebody hits 4’s or 6’s!
    Does that duck also appear along with the tiger or this guys enacts the same ?

    One thing was very recurring in matches which I watched past 2 days, 6’s & 4’s were innumerable..

    Vijay, you have prmoised that after top 8 teams gets finalised you will have a page for it. ‘Cricket vismaya’ – there is a radio program in FM rainbow now..which has some kind of questionnaire too.

  13. Vijay March 21, 2007 at 1:32 pm #

    @Veena: Ree match fixing antha jail madthare…

  14. Veena March 21, 2007 at 4:46 pm #

    We will use your foolproof ‘creative ideas’ to make it sound neat, we can put some disclaimer if needed 🙂
    jail & chronicles, just thinking about it, amele your grandchildren will speak about you like how you speak about your grandpa now!! ha ha 😉

  15. ajcrixx May 4, 2007 at 3:00 pm #

    set max needs to improve . there telecast really sucks …… and most of that tiger , i know its illegal to kill one but please spare me one and that would be the set max one. i really want to kill that tiger. the stupid balle balle song that plays along adds to the madness. i am watching in night at low volume and suddenly there is six or something and loud noise of balle balle along with that stupid tiger dancing around. . . . and suddenly only and only ads nothing else . they seem in a real money making ordeal . just craving for more. really bad coverage and nuisance on tv actually

  16. Ravi May 4, 2007 at 6:39 pm #

    All these days I thought DD was the worst (… and the greediest ) of them all when it comes to cricket coverage, but I knew I was wrong after seeing World cup on Sony.
    They did not care a damn to such a big event.

  17. Vijay May 5, 2007 at 5:56 am #

    @ajcrixx: I had the same “guilt” feeling while writing this post (about the Tiger)… BUT IT WAS VERY ANNOYING !!!!

    @Ravi: I guess it proves that you can go Below DD…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Can someone tell SET Max that their timing sucks « Bangalore Blues - April 26, 2007

    […] I still hate the Dancing Tiger that does the “bhalle bhalle” […]

  2. abc.com dancing with the stars - May 18, 2007

    abc.com dancing with the stars

    abc.com dancing with the stars

  3. Sony Set Max Still Sucks « Bangalore Blues - April 21, 2008

    […] time I had ranted about the dancing tiger who came and did a jig everytime there was a boundary. This times theres an Ad from Vodafone that […]

Leave a Reply

