Top 10 Peeves

10 Jan

I have always prided myself on being fair (yeah right !!). So yesterday I am sitting with the wife and asked her to tell me her top peeves so I can blog it (BIG mistake). Here are the top 10. Yes there were more.

1. Delay when its her work.. but ontime for mine (its a matter of priority. Somehow my work always seems to have higher priority)

2. Single digit movies after 15 yrs of wedded bliss (I hate going to movies. But it does not take into account movies watched on TV and on DVD)

3. Cleverly avoid taking her on my business trips (its a lie. She refuses to come. I am a bad traveller )

4. TV.. when I watch its ok.. when she watches i complain about volume and how its disturbing my sleep (Well… I am easily disturbed)

5. Avoid listening to her by watching TV or completely spacing out (in one ear and out the other)

6. Not telling her all the information she needs to know (I am economical with info)

7. My policy of “Beeso donne thappidare nooru varsha ayassu” (English translation? I have no idea) (You need that attitude to survive)

8. I am a shopper’s worst nightmage. Here shopper = wife (I hate shopping)

9. I rather spend the weekends playing Golf (I can’t deny that)

10. Reply to a question with a totally irellavent answer – For example Question: “Did you guys sign the new contract?”. Answer: “Yes.Your father’s pink shirt looked great” OR “No..no, you need to take a left at the junction to go to the market” (Try giving totally irrelavent answers sometimes.. its a lot of fun)

30 Responses to “Top 10 Peeves”

  1. Veena Shivanna January 10, 2007 at 6:44 am #

    I am so fortunate that prashanth is my spouse. If all men are like Vijay., atleast Indian females will think of ‘other options’!

    GOD saves madam! paapa vijay idu mahaan sariyalla!!
    Madam na meet maadsodu yaavaga.
    ivattu naavella kallaraLi hoovagi movie ge hogtaa ideevi, 6:50pm ge, why don’t you ask her to join , anyway you said you don’t watch movie! Stupid peeves anyway!!

  2. M O H A N January 10, 2007 at 7:15 am #

    Vijay
    Be(ware) agire.

  3. Murali Partha January 10, 2007 at 11:27 am #

    Vijay,
    Let me guess –
    1. you were very good at precis writing in school.
    2a. you are either quite naive or
    2b. a sucker for punishment.

    1. Otherwise there is no way guy married for 15 years can get away with just 10 pet peeves of his spouse about him.
    2a. You have to be pretty naive to ask your spouse of 15 years for pet peeves relating to you.
    2b. Or as they say “Duddu kottu…..” Have fun – whatever makes you happy! (-;

  4. some body January 11, 2007 at 3:28 am #

    murali:

    i dunno about your guesses, but my guess is your reading comprehension must’ve failed you sometime ago! 🙂 to wit:

    “Here are the top 10. Yes there were more.”

    vijay:

    if you are at a loss for topics to blog about, you would be better off asking random people to write random phantom posts on your blog (similar to rk’s guest posts) about their pet peeves with you. this way, there is a higher likelihood that the list will be less than 10 per person :-).

    – s.b.

  5. Murali Partha January 11, 2007 at 4:24 am #

    SB, yes I saw that after I commented. Was too late by then – but you are right – my reading comprehension did fail.

    Vijay, keep posting. I do not think you are running out of material! In fact I do think you have been prolific. Unlike some of us who do not have any blogs, you have not one but two on which you have steady stream of posts, mate. I was just poking fun at your expense and I am sure you’d have got it too! Never intended anything as a comment on the quality of your posts!

  6. Vijay January 11, 2007 at 4:37 am #

    SB: Welcome back..good take… Are you hinting that RK ran out of topics 😉

  7. M O H A N January 11, 2007 at 5:58 am #

    No no guys.

    RK didnt run out of stuff.. It just so happened that one of our well learned friends narrated a piece of good stuff and didnt have a blog to host. This was done and there was pressure on the friend to start a blog on own.

    Since that idea was not feasible, RK magnonimously agreed to host it for such friends.

    thanks RK.
    mohan!

  8. Vijay January 11, 2007 at 6:00 am #

    Mohan: Exactly !!!

  9. praneshachar January 11, 2007 at 6:31 am #

    Definitely RK or Vijay cannot r;un out of topics no way but it is great of both as they are ready to allow others to post in their blog it is realy a great gesture on their part
    to help the people who are having ideas and who can reduce them into writing and are no so keen or interested to start tehir own blog thats all
    Vijay
    Agree RK needs no grooming but we felt we should acknowledge your efforts yes definetely your association has a effect on him so it may be true vice versa also
    looking for comments from both RK & Vijay on this!!!!!!!

  10. Vijay January 11, 2007 at 6:47 am #

    Praneshachar avare.. yelli nenne patthe ne illa.. we were wondering where you were 🙂
    Maybe there is a business idea in all of this.. you have me thinking 🙂

  11. Vijay January 11, 2007 at 6:47 am #

    Murali: I owed you a dose… that stands cancelled… 😉

  12. rk January 11, 2007 at 6:56 am #

    loved the 10th point. LOL!! (want to try it out ;))
    wrt ‘GROOMING’, i feel i need a lot of it from all of you. on a lighter note, the process of GROOMING started the day i got MARRIED!

  13. Veena Shivanna January 11, 2007 at 6:57 am #

    Vijay.. somebody was telling me that You sound positive & neutral most of the time. & Ad people need to be like this since they have a dirty job.. seliing is not very easy anthe 🙂

    you said it other way today. I don’t get influenced so fast anyway!
    Murali Partha has been a oracious reader, may be he is another eligible blogger. The blog might not be as famous as yours if he just writes management & marketing mantras.
    SB welcome ree , hope your trip was fruitful.. Do travel around the cities more & meet people like us. I had posted our meeting photo yesterday in my blog. See those nice ladies there!
    Praneshachara avaru tejasinna chilume, so much enthusiasm would be a positive influcene to the youth! Vijay, don’t say now that you would wish if you were born in that ERA!

  14. Veena Shivanna January 11, 2007 at 7:01 am #

    Murali.. Vijay has 3 blogs not 2! but the 3rd one has become ‘FULL’ stale & stinky 🙂
    Ree Vijay saahebre update maadri adanna, delegate maadi.. Murali can take it over may be.. since he belongs to the same category!
    Upward delegation if applicable(not too sure whether COO > or

  15. Vijay January 11, 2007 at 7:09 am #

    Veena: Swalpa adachane bandhide.. there are some things I want to write there but are “unwriteable” at the moment… Murali is definitely a great one for ideas

  16. Veena Shivanna January 11, 2007 at 7:10 am #

    CEO or less than COO.. I didn’t know why my comment got cut may be the sign means something else in HTML…ya!

  17. Murali Partha January 11, 2007 at 7:35 am #

    I am happy being a blog-tenant, not a blog-owner. Not much commitment that way. I think RK had the right idea – blog consolidation is good. How many different blogs can one visit everyday?

  18. Veena Shivanna January 11, 2007 at 8:32 am #

    Atleast 3.. can have some deadlines like only lunch time, post office hours. max 45 minutes to 1 hour. Otherwise you will be a blog-addicted soon!
    Not much Commitment & COO.. en saaaaaaar idu ?

  19. travel plaza January 11, 2007 at 2:44 pm #

    Vijay,
    I totally sympathise with your wife. It seems no.s 1, 5 and 6 are common for most men. At least they are ture for my hubby. Maybe I should write list of my top peeves. I know I’ll have more than 10:))

  20. travel plaza January 11, 2007 at 5:19 pm #

    Hey, for some reason my previous comment did not get published. Ok, trying again.
    I sympathise with your wife. I think no., 1, 5 and 6 are true of most men, at least definitely my husband. I think I should write a post about my top peeves:)

  21. Vijay January 15, 2007 at 8:15 am #

    TP: LOL… At least my wife has company … 🙂
    Looking forward to your Top 10

  22. Veena Shivanna January 16, 2007 at 8:59 am #

    Nice thought, Let me try… (to me from my better half)

    1) Why can’t you spend less, atleast stop donating & save for our grand children 🙂
    2) You have all the time to talk to your friends, siblings, parents .. Not me !! (factor J)
    3) Keep something as secret, atleast from your inlaws!!
    4) Stop giving gyan… I have read enough of it in bible/Bhagavadgeeta. May be you can try writing one.
    5) You are sitting in front of the computer through out the day & even now ? I think you can do better things at home :-).. Now a days, this is due to blog addiction.
    6) No outing plans for another 6 months, we have already ran out of budget!! No LTA Claims for car fuel bills.
    7) Why only kannada movies always ? ( we watched 3 in last 2 months)
    8) We have better radio channels other than FM101.3(rainbow), (Thank god I don’t watch TV – with sigh)
    9) When we can watch all the nicest scenaries on the TV/Movies , why do we really want to visit there. same way, when we cook at home why have dinner outside..!
    10) I think I ran out of the list.. nenapige bandaddu ishTe. !!

    Nice post to be read by shark…
    http://lemonyellowlife.blogspot.com/2006/07/soul-mate-vs-1-billion-dollars.html

  23. Vijay January 16, 2007 at 11:10 am #

    Veena: Why am I not surprised? 🙂

  24. Veena Shivanna January 16, 2007 at 11:21 am #

    what is this code word ? Is it very common.. I thought I made a pretty good one, thought it MAY be a unique one! 🙂
    Its not top 10 but, may be I need to spend another decade to get more.

  25. some body January 18, 2007 at 4:59 pm #

    veena:

    sorry to see you did not get to 10!! 🙂

    here are some you can pick from a la carte :-).

    – s.b.

  26. Veena February 19, 2007 at 11:33 am #

    I am adding this comment at the end(atleast let the climax be a good one!For a change 🙂 ).. Probably you can steal some to convince your folks… some valentine day quote too!!

    our task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it. ~ Rumi

    An archeologist is the best husband any woman can have; the older she gets, the more interested he is in her..–Agatha Christie

    Gravitation can not be held responsible for people falling in love
    –Albert Einstein

    If you love something, set it free; if it comes backs it’s yours, if it doesn’t, it never was. – Richard Bach

    Love is a fire. But whether it is going to warm your heart or burn down your house, you can never tell.

    You, yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection. ~ Buddha

    There is more hunger for love and appreciation in this world than for bread. ~ Mother Teresa

    We’ve got this gift of love, but love is like a precious plant. You can’t just accept it and leave it in the cupboard or just think it’s going to get on by itself. You’ve got to keep watering it. You’ve got to really look after it and nurture it. ~ John Lennon

    How on earth are you ever going to explain in terms of chemistry and physics so important a biological phenomenon as first love? ~ Albert Einstein

    Love doesn’t make the world go round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile. ~ Franklin P. Jones

    At the touch of love everyone becomes a poet. ~ Plato

    If you have it [Love], you don’t need to have anything else, and if you don’t have it, it doesn’t matter much what else you have. ~ Sir James M. Barrie

    True love comes quietly, without banners or flashing lights. If you hear bells, get your ears checked. ~ Erich Segal

    It’s better to have loved and lost, than to have never loved at all. – Alfred Lord Tennyson

    Love is life. And if you miss love, you miss life.

    -Amen!!

  27. some body March 2, 2007 at 1:27 pm #

    here are some more.

    – s.b.

  28. some body April 1, 2007 at 7:25 pm #

    misery loves company – the series continues. yenzoy!

    – s.b.

  29. some body June 2, 2007 at 2:13 pm #

    check out these videos (vijay, you might want to make a nice sidebar for these mars vs. venus items :-). mast majjaa maadi!

    – s.b.

  30. some body July 11, 2007 at 6:30 pm #

    two words –> the look.

    samajhne vaale samajh gae hain, jo naa samjhe … vo “great unknown” hai! 🙂

    – s.b.

Leave a Reply

