Don’t the disabled need access?

9 Jan

One sees construction going on at a frenetic pace in Bangalore. Buildings are being built using state of the art material and are being designed by world class architects. Yet in all this, one thing seems to take a back seat.

EASY ACCESS FOR THE DISABLED.

I am yet to see a building in Bangalore that is 100% “disabled friendly”. Why is that? Can’t builders spend some extra money to ensure that the not so lucky among us can enjoy the same free access to facilities that we do? Or are they so caught up in the money making racket that they don’t care?

17 Responses to “Don’t the disabled need access?”

  1. Veena Shivanna January 9, 2007 at 6:55 am #

    Its slowly coming up Vijay!! 🙂

    I am so glad to see some wheel chairs & assistantship for these folks in some of the places in bangalore. Atleast my office have it.

    Parking place, lifts etc., are yet to come.. It will take some time .. namma desha swalpa elladrallu nidhaane bidi 🙂
    I have told my in-laws that we will plan for singapore trip sometime soon, they say namgyaake vayassaadavaru.. more over my MIL belongs to this group in a way & I was talking about all the facilities we get for them in countries like US & Singapore.
    Now visiting Singapore is like a Mysore-Bangalore Drive!!

  2. Vijay January 9, 2007 at 7:17 am #

    Veena: Very very slowly… Its not enough if there are attendants and wheel chairs.. disabled and the elderly people want to go about their business independantly and not be pushed into the lobby with an attendant etc… with everyone looking in their direction…

    Singapore is probably among the most disabled friendly cities in the world… starting with the pavement all the way into a mall or an office…

  3. DD January 9, 2007 at 7:34 am #

    I am yet to see a building in Bangalore that is 100% “disabled friendly”....
    thoughtful post,vijay..
    btw..nice new look to your blog. 🙂

  4. Vijay January 9, 2007 at 7:39 am #

    Thanks Ganga… never on par with yours 😦
    I chose the look so I could add my High School page as a new Tab…

  5. praneshachar January 9, 2007 at 8:31 am #

    yes it is need of the day It is very important they feel at home and like others do their chores definetely they dont want all eyes on them
    our factory has facilities for them like allowing them to bring their two or three wheelers inside the factory near workplace whereas others are not allowed. allowing them some early punch options like so many no of handicapped work here and good no. of blind people are also there.
    there is a IT benefit for them if they satisfy the conditions and certiied by dt.surgeon or so

  6. Murali Partha January 9, 2007 at 8:47 am #

    Coincidentally, there is a Jaipur foot camp going on just opposite my office – I can see it from my window. So many people of all ages without one foot (many without both) have been walking in and out of this place all day yesterday and today. Most of them I see are inspiring because they seem to have taken this “small challenge” in their stride, and are completely independent.
    One of the things I saw makes you happy that we live in the Indian society. An elderly gent in crutches, came out of the camp, looked around for a while. Then he thumbed down a two wheeler and asked him for a lift and was promptly obliged!

    And then there was one which was so heartrending. There was this 12-13 year old, tall, well built, with both legs physically (seemingly) well formed – but obviously some neurological situation, because of which he could not walk. He came out with his mother carrying him for 20 meters and then his father taking over for the next 20. He was heavy but this obviously poor family had no means to afford an auto. What was sad was that it occurred to me that the Jaipur foot camp cannot provide him any relief – this is meant only for those with part, one or both legs missing! Would his parents have thought – if only….?

    Has made me feel miserable since morning.

  7. M O H A N January 9, 2007 at 9:31 am #

    Yes murali, understand what you mean…. its very painfull and just can not bear all those pains these people go thru in life. With both legs intact and other spares, i thank god every single day for facing only simple problems.

  8. Veena Shivanna January 9, 2007 at 11:03 am #

    Oh ya.. that was a thoughtful post for today.

    I heard about the Jaipur artificial limb camp thats going on somewhere near Infantry road. Gosh! thats a very heartening explanation about that Murali. One thing is true, here in India though the buildings are not physically handicapped friendly, the family & friends are.. I can see this everywhere.. If an old guy comes in & if he finds it hard to climb steps, I see people around offering help & the family around it are always for it.
    I reminds me that notebook in school which was to write’Good things I did today’.. Bellur reminds this in his blog post.
    Helped crossing a blind person to cross the road, carried lunch box for my sister, etc.,!! That was a very good habit & our school teachers used to literally check & correct those notes. They used to stare at me, if I repeat the same task more than twice! 🙂

    Artificial limb reminds me 2 celebrities to me. 1)Sudha Chandran & 2) Arundathi Nag!
    Mohan shared a link with us today, its worth visiting.
    http://specials.rediff.com/news/2007/jan/08slid1.htm

  9. Veena Shivanna January 9, 2007 at 1:48 pm #

    http://thatskannada.oneindia.in/chowchow/lifestyle/050107love_for_life.html
    Another link to read.. Nice one!

  10. Vijay January 9, 2007 at 3:22 pm #

    Murali, Mohan: Very true… and Murali it does make you think doesn’t it.. lot of things we take for granted…

  11. Shruthi January 10, 2007 at 8:58 am #

    Good one, Vijay. I experienced this problem first hand when I was down for two months with a ligament tear. My (now) husband had to comb the whole of Bangalore to find places with ramps, or parking places nearby, etc. coz we needed to go out if we had to spend time together. In spite of all his efforts, half of the time, there would be steps at some place and I had to hop and skip and jump. It was then that I realized how little-equipped we are for the differently abled.

    After that experience, I have started observing which buildings have ramps, etc… and I have discovered that most of the new buildings do have them. Also, this is an account of my experience in airports.

  12. Vijay January 10, 2007 at 9:06 am #

    Shruthi: Read your post… interesting. At least you knew yours was temporary 🙂
    I still feel that some of the ramps are too steep for a differently abled person to make it on his/her own.. but you are right at least its there… apartment buildings are ill equipped though…

  13. Veena Shivanna January 11, 2007 at 7:31 am #

    ninne FORUM ge hogidvi.. Gate hatra right side nalli Disabled-reserver-parking.
    taT antha neevu nenapige bandri mathu ee nimma postu 🙂

  14. Vijay January 11, 2007 at 7:38 am #

    Veena: Great that you are observing these… 🙂

  15. Veena Shivanna January 12, 2007 at 7:09 am #

    I should stop thinking about blogs & other things when I am driving. Today I am suffereing from so much guilt due to this one!
    Today when I was coming thru MadivaaLa market, I saw some good sugarcanes, so habbakke togoLoNa antha ankoMde.. Parked my car in the left side of the road.
    takshNa, Bellur blog nalli ivattu kabbina bagge baretaare antha I opened the door alaaaaas, a 14 year school kid was coming on his cycle, .. My carelessness hit his chakra & cause him a fell. I was so scared for this one, I went to said sorry etc, The nice chap said, enu aagilla & went away…
    I am still thinking, I was lucky more than him.. what if some other vehicle would have come when he fell.. or when I opened the door.. GOD saved me!

    Anyway, GOD punishes me so faster too, so I scared!!!! 🙂

  16. some body January 13, 2007 at 11:20 pm #

    talking of kabbu, i was in cubbon park recently and, given my dislike for outsiders taking over local names (i am one of those who vote for bengalooru over bangalore), a thought struck me.

    how about planting oodles of sugarcanes smackdab in the centre of cubbon park and renaming the place –> [drumrolls please] “kabbina udyaana”?

    – s.b.

  17. some body January 14, 2007 at 1:53 pm #

    pliss to also read

    – s.b.

Leave a Reply

