One Turning of the Wheel

1 Jan

One of my pet peeves growing up was that most family friends and relatives treated me like I was 7 even when I was 17. My dad’s best friend Riaz uncle’s standard line was “Little boys should be seen, not heard!” My anguished cry of “I’m not a little boy!!” fell on deaf ears.

Now things have come a full circle. I was 19 when Vijay’s son, Nikhil, was born. He was a great joy to all of us: a plump little ball of mischief whose antics were simultaneously endearing, entertaining and exhausting. His obsession with cars and car keys, a penchant for general mayhem and meal-times that resembled military operations made him more popular with my college friends than I was. My friends nicknamed him “The Little Terror” and even today, many years later, they ask me how he’s doing.

I left home when I was 21 and so far, each time I’ve visited, N. has still been a bona fide kid (he was 11 the last time I was home). But when my mom tells me how tall N is getting, and when I hear his cracking, adolescent voice on the phone, when V. tells me that he’s now listening to Pink Floyd, I suspect next time I see him will be different. N. will be closer to 14 and a “young adult” with all the good and not-so-good that comes with it.

N, though you’ll always be the plump little brat in my mind’s eye, I will do my best to remember myself at your age and start treating you like the young adult that you are. I still reserve the right to give you a swift kick in the pants when I think you need it but I’ll leave much of that to your dad. And don’t be hard on me if I slip up and treat you like a kid once in a while. One day you’ll understand.

And a Happy New Year to you, dear reader. Best wishes for a joyful, contented and peaceful 2007!

7 Responses to “One Turning of the Wheel”

  1. Vijay January 2, 2007 at 1:51 am #

    He he.. good one… I still remember him tearing up your Yes PM book and you trying hard not to look annoyed 🙂

  2. rk January 2, 2007 at 5:01 am #

    a plump little ball of mischief

    he looks mischievous in those snaps on the front page of this blog!
    still remember reading and hearing about NIKHIL’S CORNER!
    is it nikhil’s birthday? if yes, then HAPPY BIRTHDAY KID! 😉
    nice post.

  3. Veena Shivanna January 2, 2007 at 7:38 am #

    Very touchy post by dear chikkappa!
    Great guy N.. I could related to that sentence which said, I was 19 when this little boy was born!.. I was 9 when my little brother was born & its fun… More than that, ranting on them is more easier 🙂
    Happy New year Vijay & please pass this on you Madam & Mom Tigress 🙂

  4. Srik January 2, 2007 at 10:46 am #

    Thats a nice account!!
    Looks like Pink Loyd has found their favourite follower in N. If what RK predicted is true, convey my wishes too.

    Happy new year to all 🙂

  5. Vijay January 2, 2007 at 11:14 am #

    Srik,RK not his b’day. . His is on 30 Nov. Thanks for the wishes.

  6. Aditya January 2, 2007 at 3:34 pm #

    RK, Srik – would have been an appropriate post on his b’day… if only I had thought about it then!

    RK, he still looks mischievous but he has gone from a chubby cheeked benne krishna to a sanakala kaddi. 🙂

  7. praneshachar January 2, 2007 at 10:57 pm #

    great memeories Nikhil must be too pleased to read this great post by beloved chikkappa.
    “he has gone from a chubby cheeked benne krishna to a sanakala kaddi”
    wonder full tranformation from child hood toa adult”
    It is great to see new born babies when you are child to when you are young
    it will be great feeling
    all the best aditya and nikhil too!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

