Where the $%^* is my car?

27 Dec

Aditya’s post about frequent travel reminds me about an incident that my Uncle Ravi had some years ago.

So, he has travel to New York from Boston. He drives to the Airport in Boston only to find out that all flights are delayed because of a snowstorm. Now this being a critical meeting and all, he decides to drive to New York.

He reaches New York well in time for his meeting, finishes it, and by force of habit, jumps into a cab, heads for the airport and takes a flight back to Boston.

On reaching Boston, he tries to locate his car and cannot find it. The Airport police actually take him around the parking lot, tier by tier. Its only about half an hour into this that he realizes that his car is actually parked in New York !!! Of course the cops aren’t very amused.

He spends the night at a hotel (instead of going home), catches the first flight to New York and drives his car back to Boston.

6 Responses to “Where the $%^* is my car?”

  1. Veena Shivanna December 27, 2006 at 7:49 am #

    Ravi uncle is zimbly great, this reminded me such things.
    Once my friend had left his keys at office & went home & realised that he left it at work place. He called me to pick it up when I return back to home in my next bus.
    I had almost left, uff.. I had to run back from the bus stop(where our office bus stops at office) & then collect the keys & give it to him…

    Many times, it happens that I keep thinking about some serious stuff, & unknowingly drive to my work place even if I need to go to my friends place.. We just get lost in thoughts so much.. andre our normal routine gets hold on us.

  2. decemberstud December 27, 2006 at 7:25 pm #

    LOL………..ROFL…………….

  3. praneshachar December 28, 2006 at 2:42 am #

    had a great laugh very good to read when you are in tension
    absent minded professors are there everywhere.
    nice description vijay

  4. Srik December 28, 2006 at 6:41 am #

    Hahahaha..

    heights being absent minded!!!! Really loved it Vijay. Amazing to know that its a true story!!!!

  5. Vijay December 28, 2006 at 8:45 am #

    Praneshachar, Srik:

    It probably runs in the family:

    Of course I have not mentioned that I left my bicycle in front of Gayathri Stores in Jayanagar 4th Block (we lived 3 crosses away) and walked to my house..unaware that I had “misplaced” my cycle.. later that evening I am walking in front of the store and suddenly I see my cycle there… I didnt even know I had lost it until I found it 😦

  6. prashanth December 28, 2006 at 10:45 am #

    ROTFL… ha ha ha… this reminds me of my dad – known to be a mahan mareguli… he used to goto school (as a teacher) by cycle and many days has come back home by walk… 😛

Leave a Reply

