Jinxing it

29 Nov

Okay heres an issue that baffles me no end.

Last week, my wife asks me to go shopping with her. I hem and I haw, and I grumble and finally I take her there. When we get there the shop is closed. So my wife tells me “See you came grumbling so the guy is closed”.

So if I had come nicely without any grumblings the guy would be open? 🙂

If what my wife says is true, the guy was open, then suddenly he “hears” that Vijay is grumbling to come shopping to his store, and he closes shop and goes home. He probably reopens after I have left.

In Kannada this is called “Bayi Hakodhu”.

36 Responses to “Jinxing it”

  1. rk November 29, 2006 at 12:42 pm #

    Got this as a fwd. sometime back. Felt it apt to post it here:

    Man vs Woman

    Man discovered COLORS and invented PAINT;
    Woman discovered PAINT and invented MAKEUP.

    Man discovered the WORD and invented CONVERSATION;
    Woman discovered CONVERSATION and invented GOSSIP.

    Man discovered AGRICULTURE and invented FOOD;
    Woman discovered FOOD and invented DIET.

    Man discovered FRIENDSHIP and invented LOVE;
    Woman discovered LOVE and invented LOVE TRIANGLES.

    Man discovered TRADING and invented MONEY;
    Woman discovered MONEY and invented SHOPPING.

    Thereafter man has discovered and invented a lot of things…
    but the women are still BUSY SHOPPING…

  2. some body November 29, 2006 at 2:56 pm #

    rk:

    if mrs. rk reads this, both of you will re-discover “discussion” .

    – s.b.

  3. decemberstud November 29, 2006 at 8:00 pm #

    ROFLMAO……..I can imagine Saaaar’s face when Madam commented…….this is so common, yet so hilarious.

    Does Veena visit your blog ? I bet she will have something ‘serious’ to say 🙂

  4. Vijay November 30, 2006 at 4:42 am #

    DS: What to do? …. “forehead writing”

  5. DD November 30, 2006 at 5:04 am #

    haha..very funny.

  6. Veena Shivanna November 30, 2006 at 7:55 am #

    Hey Man.. you wife is a GEM! she says it all.. I was just telling the same thing on our wedding anniversary night! I wanted to watch Tananam Tananam movie & he started saying ‘Ticket sigalla’.. I finally convinced him & took in to a theatre & there it is some Tamil movie ayyo devare.. We went to shiva temple & then made it to the movie the next day!
    Vijay saar.. She is 100% right, I read it somewhere in somebody’s post..Srik’s I think.. If you just think about something so seriously, .. you know the result…

    My mother always said, doddavaru beDa andre aa kelsa maadbaardu.. you will see the ‘naaLe baa’ door no matter what! She was always right in this matter.. Its the world of superstitions anyway! please check Srik’s latest post on this…

    DS, Present sir.. I am sure.. in some days, these blog domains will be under those restricted category by Websense from my work place.. till then I am enjoying!!…..

    ROFL, LOL & SOH.. SOH is for sense of humour.. (Author Srik)

    BTW, is Jinxing a dictionary word ? Just curious…

  7. Vijay November 30, 2006 at 10:57 am #

    Veena: Interesting insight…

    Oh.. I have had to face the “ticket sigalla” problem as well…. everytime I say that.. guess what… no tickets…

    By the way the word Jinx does exist in the dictionary

    Function: noun

    Etymology: perhaps alteration of jynx wryneck; from the use of wrynecks in witchcraft : one that brings bad luck; also : the state or spell of bad luck brought on by a jinx

  8. Veena Shivanna November 30, 2006 at 11:33 am #

    Was that something written in last few lines in English ?
    Everything went above my head 😉 Thanks for this one Vijay.

  9. Vijay November 30, 2006 at 12:08 pm #

    Veena: Nangu artha agilla.. sumne copy/paste ashte… 🙂

  10. some body November 30, 2006 at 3:38 pm #

    idu artha aagtaa?

    – s.b.

  11. Veena Shivanna December 1, 2006 at 6:47 am #

    aagtaa? andrenu vijay ? Is some A missing somewhere or SB is a non-kannadiga.. DS will ask me why are you unnecessarily bringing me here.. Its all again his recent post..!
    SB, you have seen that too right ? 😉 Thanks for the link, Vijay adu dictionary word^u nodi allide link^u

    Have a great rest of the day folks.

  12. Vijay December 1, 2006 at 6:58 am #

    Veena: Paapa.. SB typo madidru ashte…it should have been “Artha Aiytha?” …

  13. Veena Shivanna December 1, 2006 at 8:18 am #

    yaake yaavaglu paapa anteera neevu ? namma maneyalondu puTTa paapu iruvudu padhya nenpaagatte nange…
    I tease my MIL when she says paapa to her son aka my husband.. why paapa..? he himself is grown big enough to have one for himself..
    hogli bidi, adu gottaaytu, sum sumne heege kaal eLiying 😉

    Somebody ennuva anaamikare, dayavittu hoTTeg haakond biDi 😉

  14. some body December 1, 2006 at 2:40 pm #

    veena:

    no, it is not a typo. that’s how i speak at home! maybe i should stop commenting in kannada … and i thought you were one of the proponents of kannadigas talking in kannada with each other! 🙂 btw, if you attempt to address ‘yettikoLade hodaradakke kopa baruvudoo’, you will sink into the earth like king bali!

    “idu artha aaguttaddaa?” or should it be “idu artha aaguvuttaddaa”?

    (maybe this comment should go in d.s’s blog) … i am sorry, but here is where it all starts (i.e., why kannadigas do not talk to kannadigas in kannada!). tamilians, telugites, marathis etc. can extrapolate and figure out what the other dudes are saying, but kannadigas have this issue with extrapolating (i understand that veena is pulling my leg, but let’s sit and think a while, if from childhood a kid gets his/her leg pulled each time he/she speaks a language, do you think he/she would like to continue?).

    like, for instance, when i say, ‘gottuntu’, no one will likely have a clue as to what i am saying – i should say ‘gottide’ for them to understand. and, like the other day, someone (in a blog) was referring to “bhakshya” – i am telling the truth, but i had never heard that word before, and had to look it up the dictionary. my sister told me that she also heard it only after her marriage.

    maybe the issue is that kannada has too many dialects, and the language is not uniform across the state. i know even my wife and me, though we are separated by one district, have fun pulling each other’s legs all the time (btw, d.s., if you are still reading this, we spoke to each other in english and/or hindi first before we got comfortable with kannada, and even now, “discussions” take place in english – they would not work in kannada, see below :-)!!).

    another word is “bagge” – i never knew that word until marriage (we would say “vishaya” at home)! now, i hope rk and you don’t combine and teach me all the kannada swear words!

    having said all that, i want to claim that i am still better off than a certain girl from coorg (no, i do not refer to aishwarya!) who has lived in bangalore most (if not all) of her life, and claimed to us that she does not understand, or talk, kannada – she uses english! if memory serves me right, she is a carmellite.

    – s.b.

  15. Veena Shivanna December 1, 2006 at 3:09 pm #

    Ha Ha.. Nice one! Take a bow.. gottuntu maaraya.. ! neevu ett kaDeyavaru antha.. barpe naan(is this right?)
    I am just leaving to my home! Uff. its too late!

  16. decemberstud December 1, 2006 at 7:40 pm #

    Okie…I guess we have hijacked Saaaar’s blog completely and have started out on a tangent. Maybe this should go into my blog. But I hate to hijack it again 😉 So, I continue….

    SB, I do agree that if a kid gets his/her leg pulled for speaking a certain way, then he/she amy not want to talk in that language anymore.

    And come on, why wouldn’t anyone understand ‘gottuMTu’ ? ‘gottide’ is for us Mysoreans and ‘gottuMTu’ is from…, well we now know where you are from 🙂

    Other languages have too many dialects too. Tamil in Madras is sooooo different from Tamil in Madurai. So, it’s highly unlikely that, that is an issue. I disagree.

    Ahha, so you are one more culprit in my book, huh 🙂 I don’t want to start off a “my dad can beat your dad” argument here, but since you mentioned where your wife is from, I thought it would be interesting to share something here. I hope you don’t mind. My wife and I are separated by what, around 15 distrcits (depends on how you read the map, but you get the pic). It is outright hilarious sometimes when we use certain words and the other person has either no clue of what that is, or thinks that the word means something completely different. But, we have really had no problem conversing in Kannada from day # 1. I do have to admit that we do use more of my dialect than hers just because she claims that I can’t understand much if she talks 100% in her dialect. I don’t believe that is true….but we do have fun.

    Ohhh…and I don’t believe you are *that* naive. I bet you know more swear words than Veena and RK put together 😉

  17. some body December 1, 2006 at 10:52 pm #

    d.s.:

    15 districts is a lot of distance! on the other hand, maybe i should rephrase too. my family and my wife’s family were from neighbouring districts. we grew up states apart. does that earn us your version of the traditional presidential pardon?

    if you combine my english and hindi swear words with my kannada ones, you are right – i will be more than a match for the veena-rk combo!

    btw, thanks for not following veena’s suggestion and switching to kannada entirely. i would probably have to choose between your blog and the rest of the blogsphere.

    – s.b.

  18. decemberstud December 2, 2006 at 12:17 am #

    LOL SB…that link is kewl !!! And don’t worry, heavy dose of my Kannada writings get published elsewhere, so for the “most part” I will stick with English in my blog 🙂

    P.S : If you *have* to choose, I assume you will choose my blog over the rest of the blogsphere.

  19. some body December 2, 2006 at 3:18 am #

    d.s.:

    not only have we hijacked this blog, but we have also made it so totally off topic that i am rotfl-ing! i mean, compare that closed shop (original topic) with the latest comments. maybe, like that car licensing episode, vijay needs to start a new topic.

    jokes aside, what work in kannada is the following excerpted from, and can i get a transliterated version on the net that you are aware of?

    ‘aanarivem, prithe arival, daanava ripu sahadevanarivam
    …. angaadhipati’ (“kalla krishna” trying to horsetrade with karna trying to get him over to the sideof the pandavas, before the mahabharata, listing the names of those people who know whose son karna really is).

    the above is from some poetry (or prose) that my mother studied, so should be an easy question for you, veena, ramki and/or vijay!

    – s.b.

  20. decemberstud December 4, 2006 at 7:42 pm #

    SB,

    Honestly, not an easy question for me…but I will dig up the books, beg, borrow and steal to find out 😉

    From the looks of it, it’s quite unlikely that it is Kumaara Vyasa (though I may be wrong !). I would go with the earlier writers…say, Pampa. Will get back to this as soon as I find out more.

  21. Veena Shivanna December 5, 2006 at 8:10 am #

    SB, see if this answers your Query to some extent, I thanks my friend Vani to help me out to solve this puzzle!

    Aanarivem– Krishna telling he knows
    Prithe Arival — Pritha – another name for Kunthi…she adopted by king Kuntibhoja becos of whom she was called kunti…avala parents hesarittiddu Pritha antha.
    Prithe Arival – Pritha also knows.
    Daanava Ripu – Daanava-Rakshasa , Ripu- Enemy
    Andre raakshasara shatru
    Sahadevan arivam – Sahadeva Knows,
    Angaadhipathi — Karna (King of Anga)

    Sadhyakke, All I can say is

    “I know, Pritha Knows, the enemy of rakshasas Sahadeva knows about Karna’s origin.

    So he is trying to buy off from Karna to join the pandavas to the War.

  22. Veena Shivanna December 5, 2006 at 9:54 am #

    MORE A TRANLATION with complete background & etc.,

    This is the story of the revealing of Karna’s birth by Krishna.

    This situation is timed before the Bharata Yudhdha, when Krishna reveals Karna’s birth and lineage to him. He tells him that there is still time for him to move over from the Kaurava camp to the Pandava side, and from Adharma to Dharma.

    He reasons it out by saying Karna is Kunti’s son and so must be on their side according to right.

    He says no one other than himself and Kunti know about Karna’s birth.

    Karna declines Krishna’s suggestion and replies that he is bound by loyalty towards Duryodhana and that none of them, inspite of knowing about his birth and ancestory ever tried to give him his rightful place. He would prefer to fight against the Pandavas because of Duryodhana’s unconditional friendship. Also he has personal scores to settle with Arjuna.

    After the war, Kunti reveals to the Pandavas that Karna is their elder brother. Dharmaraja is stunned to know that the
    person they thought was their foe was infact their elder brother. He then curses Kunti and all womankind never to be able to hold any secrets.

  23. some body December 5, 2006 at 4:18 pm #

    veena:

    i know the story, and i understand the meaning of what i wrote too :-). as i never formally studied kannada, the only kannada knowledge i have is from talking with parents and relatives, and from my mother’s translations of pieces such as this one.

    what i am asking for is the source of these lines, i.e., which book of poems or prose this is from, so i can get it for myself. and because of my slooooow reading speed in kannada, i am hoping that one of you can tell me whether i can get it in a transliterated version (either into hindi or english, where my reading speed is much much better), i.e., like how we write kannada in english within these comments.

    – s.b.

  24. decemberstud December 5, 2006 at 6:47 pm #

    @ SB :

    You not only “jinxed” us (I HAD to use that word, I mean, come on, we’ve hijacked Vijay’s blog), I talked to tons other Kannada experts and everyone seems to be bowled. Anyway, now I have contacted Sri. G.Venkatasubbiah (an authority in Kannada literature, just take my word) and I will see if I hear back from him.

    Oh, and it doesn’t look like Pampa either…..He ‘probably’ never used ‘prithe’…more research going on 🙂

  25. Vijay December 6, 2006 at 4:37 am #

    I can’t even remember the original topic 🙂

  26. Veena Shivanna December 6, 2006 at 5:08 am #

    Transliteration ?? Is it like KANGLISH where we use english scripts to write kannada or I can use unicode font to type the whole thing in kannada ?

    Pritha.. annodu ಪ್ರುತ antha pronouce maadbeku.. my friend’s sister-in-law’s name is this & I consiously asked her what does that mean & she told me it was one of Kunti’s name.. !
    Let me try that out after sometime! will come back!

    Jinxed! Fully Jinxed.. monne yaavudo book odutidde, I read a word called ‘Juxtaposition’ one of those engg mechanics word! A cousin of this word.. en saar Vijay!?

  27. Veena Shivanna December 6, 2006 at 8:40 am #

    ಆನರಿವೆಮ್, ಪ್ರೆಥೆ ಅರಿವಲ್…ದಾನರಿಪು ಸಹದೇವನ್ ಅರಿವನ್………. ಅಂಗಾಧಿಪತಿ…!

    I guess there should be something more to fill in that dots…ask your mom & complete it.. I shall do the kannada translation tommorrow. Is this what you asked somebody avare ?

  28. decemberstud December 6, 2006 at 5:39 pm #

    @ Veena :

    Nope…SB wants to know the name of the author and the work. I have almost ruled out Pampa and Kumaaravyasa, but am trying hard to figure out the real one….

    @ Saaaar : Oooops….sorry 🙂

  29. decemberstud December 8, 2006 at 5:29 am #

    Saaaar : You can officially close this post now…we’ve hijacked it back…Thanks for all the support though 😉

  30. Veena Shivanna December 8, 2006 at 1:19 pm #

    Why he is hanging around to that word Transliteration then ? Ranna.. should only know now..
    Vijay, pls don’t end date this post.. I loved this than anything else.. Totally ‘Juxta position’ed…

  31. some body December 8, 2006 at 2:39 pm #

    here is transliteration, sorry but i do not know the kannada word that means the same!

    d.s.:

    i am not done with you yet. i need the transliteration even now :-). but at least, i have now given you more information to help me …

    – s.b.

  32. Vijay December 8, 2006 at 2:46 pm #

    Veena: Don’t worry… comments still open .. NO end date… 🙂

  33. decemberstud December 8, 2006 at 7:07 pm #

    Hmmm SB, I will try to give my best shot….

    Talking of which, there probably is no equivalent word in Kannada for transliteration. Is there ? I doubt it…..maybe we should come up with one.

  34. Mysorean December 11, 2006 at 11:16 am #

    Sari nanu illa baayi hakalla bidi. Bayi bayi! (bye bye!) 😉

  35. Veena Shivanna December 13, 2006 at 12:35 pm #

    kanglish…? Hmmm? writing kannada in english literals.. something which our hindi singers do when the kannada film producers invite them to sing here. ?? I will try that out.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jinxing It – Part II « Bangalore Blues - June 16, 2009

    […] It – Part II All the while it was me jinxing it. Now apparently my car has that effect as well. Its the general belief that any work that needs to […]

Leave a Reply

