A Nice Sunday

6 Nov

image250.jpg
image249.jpg

After a long time I can say that I finally had a Sunday that was “different” and fulfilling. An organization called Mobility India that does work with the disabled invited me over to be a guest at their annual sports day. My original intent was to spend an hour there but I ended up staying for the entire duration.

It was just amazing seeing these kids compete. Regardless of the disabilities they had, their enthusiasm, their drive and competitive spirit made me appreciate life even more. Here was a kid with polio trying his hand at skipping rope and another one confined to a wheelchair competing hard in the running race.

Suddenly the “brats” we were talking about last week were not important. These kids were. Hats off to them and their teachers.

8 Responses to “A Nice Sunday”

  1. rk November 6, 2006 at 8:53 am #

    hats off to the kids’ enthusiasm! the spirit and the enthusiasm that the kids have is the same everywhere.
    you made my day! felt really nice reading this post. NGOs are doing really meaningful programmes like this.

  2. Srik November 6, 2006 at 11:43 am #

    Recently I was visiting an elderly family friend, who said “There are as much good people in the world as there are bad, most of the times more, but the media hunts only for the bad people”!!

    I co-related that story to your last line as “Brats” get more important not these children or their teachers.

    Good post here.

  3. travel plaza November 6, 2006 at 1:45 pm #

    Great post, Vijay…There is so much for all of us to learn from kids, all of them. They are so enthusistic, loving, giving and caring. If only everyone in this world were to learn one thing from a child,I think the worls would be so much better. Hats off for a wonderful and inspiring post..

  4. Vijay November 6, 2006 at 1:56 pm #

    RK: Actually I was thinking of you… you would have done a wonderful collage of these guys…

    Srik: Your friend has it 100% correct… a few bad apples… thats all it takes

    TP: Thanks… as soon as I walked in there I knew that my next post would be on that… it was very very invigorating… these kids doing the best they can and having fun while doing it !!

    By the way, I have added a link to the Mobility India Web Site in the post.

  5. Gangadhar November 7, 2006 at 5:30 am #

    juss wonderful,Vijay.. 🙂

  6. decemberstud November 7, 2006 at 5:39 am #

    Ahhhh……it’s so refreshing to read such wonderful posts Vijay. Thank you. I was just talking with my parents a few minutes ago and they told me about a function which they attended over the weekend. They were invited as chief guests to a school run by . The management apparently charges very low fee and all the kids from 1st to 7th standard were from very low to low income group. After my mother’s speech, my father apparently taught all the kids a song. After that the kids presented a variety show. The whole function was as part of ‘Suvarna Karnataka’ celebrations. It was wonderful to listen to the whole story.

    And, then I come online to read this stuff. I guess good deeds happen all the time. It’s just that we need to look at it more often….

  7. Vijay November 7, 2006 at 6:12 am #

    DS: It does make it gratifying… just out of curiosity, where was this school? Bangalore?
    The Kids also love it when someone from the outside comes in and participates. Like your father teaching them a song must have made their day. I am sure your dad was glowing with satisfaction all day long after that..

  8. decemberstud November 7, 2006 at 6:26 pm #

    Nope….the school is in Mysore.

    And yes, Appa and Amma were so happy to have been part of the celebration….just like you 😉

Leave a Reply

