Yours Truly – A Lousy Traveler

25 Oct

“Have you been there?” Nikhil pipes up… we are watching a show on National Geographic featuring the Grand Canyon. It takes me back in time; sure I’d been there… the USA I mean. I first went there in 1986, lived there till 1992. After we moved back to India (after a Singapore sojourn until 1995), I visited the States so often on business that it isn’t funny.
Yet the answer I have to give my son is, “No haven’t been there”. I snarl at him… more because of my failings as a traveler. He gives me a strange look and turns back to watch the program. I know what’s going through his mind… “How can my father go all the way there and then not visit these beautiful places?”. My wife is giving me a withering look that says “Even our son now knows….”

My travels have taken me across the globe. I have been as Far East as Japan, Australia, and New Zealand, as far south as South Africa, to most countries in Europe and of course the USA and Canada. But ask me the question “What have you seen there?” and the answers going to be “Hotel Rooms, Conference Rooms and Airports”. I then read blogs like Travel Plaza, RK et al who write about visits with a passion. Its then that I think to myself whether I need to stop and smell the roses.

Haven’t travelled much in the last 3 years except for my visits to the USA. Now it seems like my travels will increase manifold with the business growing and all. Maybe I should make it a point to see places this time around. Will certainly try!! I will try to get the family involved as well. They don’t seem to believe me though.

I am a lousy traveler 😦

20 Responses to “Yours Truly – A Lousy Traveler”

  1. decemberstud October 26, 2006 at 3:43 am #

    Aggghhhhh……I pity you……..

    You really need to make up….start visiting the Starbucks outside your hotel room…that’s a start 😉

  2. Vijay October 26, 2006 at 3:46 am #

    DS: LOL…

    Laugh laugh you are not alone.. I probably deserve it… one of the things that I didnt put in the main post was how I fell asleep during a ride through Kruger National Park.. probably the only one to do so 🙂

  3. Gangadhar October 26, 2006 at 5:48 am #

    Dont worry,Vijay..Me too join in your club..I’ve been t o US a couple of times on company’s project..but never visited prominent places over there..just done my job and returned everytime..And even in hyd..i missed so many historic places…And you know me never been to Golconda fort..hehe..

  4. rk October 26, 2006 at 6:47 am #

    vijay,

    My wife is giving me a withering look that says “Even our son now knows….”

    lol!!
    there are lots of places in and around bangalore (nandi hills and dodda aalada mara) that i am still planning to see.
    the old timers, i see, have a lot more enthu than we have today. i cannot even imagine ourselves to live till their age and retain the enthu that they have for life! i think the main culprit is our work cultures. the older generation had time to do so many things. i have never heard them tell: i don’t have time. even they used to work. but had time for a walk, do gardening, a visit to the reading room, market, friend/ relatives’ place and amidst all this, would sit for a while at the rama mandira where a kacheri would be in progress. they used to also take the family to a temple/ sight seeing once a while.
    but with our work timings, we are always short of time….maybe that is the reason why we are unable to see and enjoy life to the fullest.
    thanks for mentioning about RK!

  5. Vijay October 26, 2006 at 6:50 am #

    I think we (at least me) are using the time thing as an excuse… take the Europeans for instance.. come what may.. July/Aug is vacation time…

  6. Kishor Cariappa October 26, 2006 at 9:27 am #

    The solution to this lies in planning a trip with your family.

  7. Vijay October 26, 2006 at 11:08 am #

    Kishor.. I agree…

  8. travel plaza October 26, 2006 at 1:24 pm #

    Hey Vijay,
    Thanks for the mention:) Am thrilled. I do wish I could travel more though. Travel is expensive and for a family of four, you know…..

  9. Vijay October 26, 2006 at 1:55 pm #

    TP: You seem to enjoy yourself… thats enough. Whether you travel often or not depends on various factors… in my case, the main challenge is getting off my backside and seeing places.. drives my wife crazy !!

  10. decemberstud October 27, 2006 at 12:21 am #

    RK,

    I totally totally disagree. “Timelessness” is not an issue at all. Vijay is right. it’s the attitude and preferances more than anything else.

  11. rk October 27, 2006 at 5:59 am #

    ds,
    i have heard a few of my friends say about the time factor. hence that comment. but yes, “attitude and preferances” also matter. i totally totally agree with you. 😉

  12. Mysorean October 27, 2006 at 7:14 am #

    Well, have u seen KRS in Mysore Vijay?
    Just asking! 😉

  13. Vijay October 27, 2006 at 10:26 am #

    Adi,

    Yes I have.. thank you… several times… 🙂

  14. Veena Shivanna December 22, 2006 at 2:03 pm #

    Timeliness matter a lot for such trips. It should be habitual too. if one of you can drive then nothing like it…
    Its me who will drive at my family, now he is used to it.. if not anywhere atleast twice in an year. we already have 12 albums to cherish…

    I again ask you .. How does Madam tolerated you vijay?

  15. Veena Shivanna December 22, 2006 at 2:04 pm #

    No LTA 4 u is it ?

    I tell my husband about the tax benefits.. you know men like saving a lot … another trick of a middle class family 🙂

  16. My3 March 4, 2008 at 10:07 am #

    Well, Vijay it works both ways 😦
    I have been coming to Mysore for the past 10 years. It was only last year, I saw the Nanjangud Temple! And to my great embarrasment, I am yet to take the kids, one of whom is a teenager to Belur Halebid. So don’t beat yourself up. That is my goal this year[:)] Belur/Halebid and Kabini at the very least. Lets see how much gets done. Atleast you have a good excuse you are working, I stay at home and eat my Mom’s chiroti and kodbale for 6 weeks atleast!!!!!!!!!!!

  17. Vijay March 4, 2008 at 10:13 am #

    @My3: One thing though.. its tough when you come from the states to visit family… everyone demands your time and before you know it, its time to go back… My son’s 14 and loves seeing places… so does the wife.. its only me who is the damp squib…

  18. nalini rao March 5, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    Vijay : This is a subject very very close to my heart. From all your posts that I havegot used to reading these days, you seem to be a multi-faceted person. But am surprised that you do not like travel for pleasure. Please Please TRAVEL . I see that you have actually been globe-trotting a lot. But travelling for pleasure is a real eye-opener. My husband is into marketing and is globe-trotting all the time but we make it a point not to mix business and pleasure – that is the worst one can do – terrible for the family. But both of us love holidaying ( so much so that even the double-decker ride I used to take 2 decades back from East End to Townhall everyday was a revelation) – that is possibly the only thing we agree on(!!!!) .

    THE WORLD IS A BEAUTY AND WE HAVE ONLY ONE LIFE TO SEE IT.

    SO. GO ON , GET IN TOUCH WITH YOUR TRAVEL AGENT AND TAKE A BREAK.

    This wasposted by u in 2006. Any improvement?

  19. Vijay March 6, 2008 at 3:00 am #

    @nalini: No improvement… the illness continues… I wish I had your wonderful attitude…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Peeves « Bangalore Blues - January 10, 2007

    […] 3. Cleverly avoid taking her on my business trips (its a lie. She refuses to come. I am a bad traveller ) […]

Leave a Reply

