Indian Airlines – Wake up and smell the coffee

11 Oct

This is my last “ranting” (for now)… I am getting tired if it myself…

One thing I cannot understand about Indian Airlines is the logic behind combining domestic flights with International flights and making domestic passengers go through customs (fortunately no immigration). I know they are trying to make most of the passenger traffic but its just too inconvinient.

Last week I was in Hyderabad and on return (to Bangalore) my travel agent booked me on an Indian Airlines flight that was supposed to leave Hyderabad at 6:45 or so. When we got to the airport we were told that this particular flight was talking off from the international terminal and was going from Hyderabad to Sharjah via Bangalore.

We were then asked to fill out a form that needed us to answer how many mobiles we had, my son’s Nintendo, cash etc. The customs officer went through and asked me why I was carrying cash etc… I am not asked these questions on local flights so why am I as a local traveller being asked these questions? Is it because they are afraid that I’ll carry cash and hand it over to someone going to Sharjah?

Anyway as is usual with Indian Airlines, the flight was delayed. We eventually left at 8 PM. Of course when we landed the Announcer said “We deeply regret the delay. We hope you will fly with us again”… some hope… oh ya I wont even talk about the “Cheerful” service we got on the flight.

With a lot of private operators in the fray  Jet, Kingfisher, Paramount etc, Indian Airlines is probably last on the list of passenger choices. I wonder when they will realize that?

11 Responses to “Indian Airlines – Wake up and smell the coffee”

  1. Srik October 12, 2006 at 6:50 am #

    That ant story is superb!!
    Thanks for sharing it. That fellow must’ve felt very much relieved being BACK AT HOME!!

  2. Vijay October 12, 2006 at 6:53 am #

    Srik.. thanks…

    Too bad I couldnt keep track of him 🙂

  3. Kishor Cariappa October 12, 2006 at 8:54 am #

    Kewl. I have tons of IA stories with me:) If you notice, their female flight attendants for Gulf sector all above 45 year with no zeal to carry out their job. They don’t know how to smile either. When they serve liquor on the late night flights, the way they serve accompaniments like peanuts is simply great. They just toss the peanut packet at you, and if you are lucky, it will land in your hands. I always felt taking a catch as a slip fielder was an easy task compared to this!

  4. Vijay October 12, 2006 at 9:00 am #

    Kishor, I have noticed that.. I think they go by seniority.. the oldest ones on International flights…

    I have never been on the Gulf sector but have travelled often on the midnight IC flight from B’lore to Singapore…

    Domestic flights in the USA are no better (United, Delta etc), they give you a cool drink and pretzels (stopped serving peanuts after it was found that a lot of people are allergic). At least in IC they plonk some food in front of you…

  5. Kishor Cariappa October 12, 2006 at 9:35 am #

    Everyone has problems with IC. Etihad and Emirates in Gulf are among the best airlines in the world today. So it’s not about bad company, it’s about bad habits for IC!

    I’ve always felt pampered in Swiss Air — the best I’ve experienced till date.

  6. Vijay October 12, 2006 at 9:55 am #

    Kishore…

    Never done Swiss.. fly a lot on Singapore Airlines… love it !!

    Have done Lufhtansa and British Airways… good service, very mechanical 😦

  7. travel plaza October 13, 2006 at 1:25 pm #

    Hmm.. I think the less said about service on certain flights, the better. If I start ranting on this topic, I think I’ll never stop. We don’t expect to be treated like royalty, just as regular fellow human beings…is that too much to ask? I think Singapore Airlines is the best. I love their service and everything about it. No other airline I’ve travelled compares even closely to that.

  8. Vijay October 13, 2006 at 1:52 pm #

    TP… I can understand… I see these people who make the trip to the USA with small kids and they seem so stressed out.. couple it with a lousy airline… what can I say..

    The good thing is that we moved to Singapore when my son was born.. shorter flight… always flew Singapore…

    I agree with you Singapore has the best service.

  9. Adi October 16, 2006 at 5:38 am #

    Why did you take Indian in the first place?

  10. Vijay October 16, 2006 at 6:10 am #

    Writing on forehead… I wanted a flight that left at 6:30 ish and this was the only flight available…

  11. travlers February 8, 2008 at 4:51 am #

    why fly with indian airlines and then crib. one gets what one pays for. if one needs good service then fly costly airlines , is the smile and service of airhostess worth that extra $$$

Leave a Reply

