Tagged

6 Oct

So Ganga tagged me… I’ll get even with him one of these days 🙂

Here are my 8 things.
1. I hate vacations. Took one last week after nearly 10 years. Found out that I enjoyed it. Maybe I’ll plan more in the future thanks to my son.

2. When I was 13 I met G.R.Vishwanath (the Cricketer) who was at the prime of his career. He took time out to talk to me, find out what me interests were. Taught me to be humble regardless of success. He is that way even today.

3. I met Michael Jordan in 1989, when he came to Boston to play the Celtics. Had a friend who took me into the locker room. Very down to earth guy for someone making $30 Million.

4. Vidyarthi Bhavan remains my favorite restaurant to this day. I first wandered into the place when I was in my 9th grade long long ago. I still wander in there.

5.  The famous cartoonist R.K.Laxman once drew an impromptou caricature of me. I lost it !! What an idiot, I didn’t know its value.

6. I regret I didnt learn to sing or play a musical instrument (I think a lot of people are grateful for that).

7. My years at Vijaya High School and National College Basavanagudi will remain the best years of my life.

8. I hope my son becomes something other than an Engineer or a Doctor.

I dont know 6 people to tag… RK tagged most people I know 😦

9 Responses to “Tagged”

  1. Gangadhar October 6, 2006 at 5:05 am #

    vacation after 10years? you seem like of my kind!!
    And I’m in hyderabad and nevr met Azhar or VVS laxman..hehe..
    Michael Jordon? wow..
    Well,i love Ayyar hotel in my hometown,kakinada…
    Can u post that caricature some time? ‘d love to see..
    Don’t worry,Vijay..i’ve known somany people who don’t know playing any musical instrument..But we all love listening to music..Don’t we?
    College days’re goldendays..right..
    All the best for Nikhil..

    Well done,Vijay..Thanks for obeying my tag..

  2. Vijay October 6, 2006 at 6:13 am #

    Ganga…I lost the caricature 😦

    Do not have it anymore…

  3. rk October 6, 2006 at 9:05 am #

    vijay,
    great to know you met gundappa vishwanath and jordan and that he had a chat with you! autograph/photograph idhyaa?
    as for the 5th point, i feel like going to your place and searching in the old trunks! who knows, you might still have it!
    and agree with the last point….DAKTRU-INJI-NEARRU nodi nodi saakagide.
    finally, i think CTR vs VB and Murali vs Warne will be debated for as long mankind exists!

  4. rk October 6, 2006 at 9:07 am #

    vijay,
    off the topic……
    y’day a friend of mine gifted me a copy of THE GUIDE (first edition), autographed by RK NARAYAN! i am thrilled coz on oct.10, it is RKN’s birth centenary!

  5. Bonita October 6, 2006 at 4:48 pm #

    Vijay, thanks for visiting Flitzy – glad you enjoyed my photo! I do hope you will go on vacation someday….and take your family.

  6. Kishor Cariappa October 10, 2006 at 8:56 am #

    Vijay, after Nov.1 will your blog name change to bengaloorublues? 🙂

  7. Vijay October 10, 2006 at 8:59 am #

    LOL … 🙂

    No plans to.. hope I dont get blacklisted 🙂

  8. Mysorean October 16, 2006 at 5:44 am #

    You lost an R K Laxman caricature? What are you Vijay? You should have framed it and kept it! Che che..what a loss!

    GR Vishwanath is such a sweet guy!

    LOL at Kishor’s comment!

  9. Vijay October 16, 2006 at 6:15 am #

    I lost an R.K Laxman caricature of me !!! that what makes it even more ridiculous.. apparently he doesnt do these things on request.. I still remember that he just came up to us and handed me a sheet with my picture… he had drawn this as the group of friends were talking… big nose and all.. it was hilarious…

Leave a Reply

