I Wish

29 Aug

I could be popular like…

My Dad. Growing up I always wanted to be like my Dad (all kids do).. a fun loving person (quick temper though), and immensely popular with friends. Everytime he goes to the USA to visit my kid brother, I am deluged by calls every week by his friends demanding (yes demanding) to know when he’ll be back. People ranting about “What is he doing there? Isnt it easier for your brother to visit here?”. I just wish I can be half as popular as that. And he is stylish as hell. None of his children have inherited his taste for stylish clothes.

I had Dedication like…

My mom.. she was a Professor of Economics until she retired. She still did parttime stuff until a couple of years ago. Growing up she was the one who instilled the fear of God into us as far as studies go. What a terror she was. Its not that she did anything to us (never lifted a finger). Its just that we didnt want to find out what would happen.. say if we failed in an exam. Fortunately we never did (whew!!). She was the one responsible for giving us career directions. Made sure that we went to the right schools and had the right company. If it weren’t for her, I wouldnt even have dreamt of going overseas to study.

I had Friendships like…

My Dad and Riaz Tareen. These guys were inseparable. Riaz uncle was the life of any conversation with his humor (and sometimes bluntness). Dad shared a unique relationship with Riaz who used to head HR at GKW and later BiFora Watches. They wouldn’t talk much when they were together. Riaz would come home after work, pour himself a drink, and settle down with a magazine (or in front of the TV in later years). Dad would be in the same room reading as well. Not a single word was exchanged except for the odd story about an old classmate. They were just comfortable that the other guy was in the room. My mom would then come and announce dinner (if Riaz uncle came home, there HAD to be Bisi Bele Bath or else he’d kick up a storm). Riaz passed away a few years ago. I know my Dad misses him…

I had Tenacity Like…

My uncle Ravi. A major hero for us as kids growing up. A cricketer (more on that later), engineer at 19, worked in Chambal on a project (played 1 Ranji match for MP as well), went to the UK to do his masters (he played county cricket for Hampshire as well), moved to the USA in the mid-sixties and started working for a structural engineering company as an entry level engineer. Today he is the CEO, President, and Chairman of that very company and raking in the bucks. His story is one of tenacity and dedication. He is the original unsung Indian pioneer. Been there done that before even the software guys hit the shores of the US of A.

I had Patience like…

My wife. She needs it to keep her sanity with my son and me around. Still don’t know how she tolerates us 🙂

11 Responses to “I Wish”

  1. rk August 30, 2006 at 9:44 am #

    really touching post. lovely descriptions, vijay. feels really nice to know about your pioneering family members!
    liked the story between your dad and his friend, riaz.

  2. rk August 30, 2006 at 9:44 am #

    dear vijay,
    kindly visit this link:

    http://bellurramki18.wordpress.com/2006/08/30/hit-the-headlines/

    and take the HEADLINES QUIZ
    🙂

  3. Adi September 2, 2006 at 10:47 am #

    Good post Vijay!

    I found myself smiling when I read through the entire post and especially the part with your wife! 🙂

    Good one! Checking out your entrepreneur blog too. I too plan to go on my own shortly. Give me your email id or something. Feel like talking to you in detail.

  4. Vijay September 2, 2006 at 10:54 am #

    Adi.. good luck.. my mail ID is vijaym63@gmail.com

    Give me a shout when you can…

  5. Abhipraya September 8, 2006 at 6:49 am #

    Such a lovely post!

  6. Veena Shivanna December 22, 2006 at 4:52 am #

    Madam na meet maadbeku ankotaa idre aagle , appa ammana bagge kooDa bardideeri. so eega avaranna meet maadsi nangottilla.. 🙂

    Feels good to see somebody to write about their dear ones so nicely. The way its written is fantastic, nothing like too emotional nor too mateiralistic.. Very touchy! no statistics needed absolutely…
    nimma amma is a great person… ! My namaste to her.

  7. Vijay December 22, 2006 at 4:57 am #

    Most definitely you shall meet them… my moms a tigress… a nice one though 🙂

  8. Veena Shivanna December 22, 2006 at 5:36 am #

    You know why I like her.. we share lot of things in common.. tigress thing too 🙂

  9. Vijay December 22, 2006 at 5:41 am #

    She will be thrilled !!! I will invite her to write on my blog as well… let me see if she agrees…

  10. Veena Shivanna December 22, 2006 at 6:26 am #

    Oh Man Vijay..
    you are just genius.. will be waiting to see her posts.May be if she starts her own blog, then I might be stick there as well permanantly.. (currently its your blog buddy)…
    May be I am selfish too.. Having a son raised like Vijay is an achivement .. I would say.. Hmm.. Don’t jump in there now 🙂

  11. Vijay December 22, 2006 at 6:31 am #

    Veena: Your last comment gives me more “spoorthi” to convince my mother…

Leave a Reply

