Write a brief sketch of Shivaji. Why is the steel plant situated in Bhadravathi?

24 Aug

These are all “School Stories” from the late 1940s. This was an extremely funny story told to me by my dad’s friend K.N. Raghavendra Rao who used to be the Chief Photographer at the Indian Express, India Today and later on the Hindu. Anecdotes from Guru uncle as we call him are always enjoyable. So this whole episode happened when he was in 7th or 8th grade. One of the questions asked was “Write a brief sketch of Chatrapathi Shivaji”. So Guru uncle starts writing detailed notes about Shivaji, his achievements etc etc. Satisfied with his answer he looks up and happens to look at his neighbour’s paper, there is the guy drawing a nice portrait of Shivaji (get it “brief sketch”?).

The next boo boo comes from someone in my own family (same class 7th/8th), who once wrote in an exam that the steel plant is situated in Bhadravathi because the soil is good and the rainfall adequate to grow plants… and to think I was mad at my poor son when he was in grade 1 for spelling “Who” as “Hoo”.

Listening to stories from my father, uncles (their NIE Mysore days), and old friends,  always make me wish I had been there. They seemed to have so much fun. I am going to get some stories from my uncles (plus pictures of their cricketing exploits) and put it up here.

9 Responses to “Write a brief sketch of Shivaji. Why is the steel plant situated in Bhadravathi?”

  1. rk August 24, 2006 at 8:08 am #

    vijay,
    brief sketch and steel plant was too good.
    really funny post…..waiting for more!

  2. travel plaza August 24, 2006 at 5:45 pm #

    Ha ha great post, Vijay. Life does seem a lot of fun when someone narrates something. Looking forward to the pictures you mentioned:)

  3. jeevarathna August 28, 2006 at 5:39 pm #

    Reference to NIE days remind me about one of the students nick named as crompton Kumar! This student had seen many sept- March cycles and sadly failed to stop the cycle. One of the most popular story about him was during a practical exam an external examiner asked him how a Motor would start he promptly started yodeling burrrrrrrrrrrrrr

  4. Vijay August 29, 2006 at 1:40 am #

    Jeevarathna… thats funny.. What a name !!

    I went to RVCE and remember this “Senior” who would actually come to take the exams with his children in tow… one of the peons once told me .. “Saar avanu namma appana classmate saar”…

    Except for me, my entire family studied at NIE.. 2 uncles, 3 cousins… I remember hanging out outside NIE at Chandu Hotel…

  5. rk August 29, 2006 at 9:51 am #

    jeeva rathna and vijay,
    i am unable to control my laughter after reading your comments. too good guys! let more such anecdotes flow out of your bag! 😀

  6. Veena Shivanna December 26, 2006 at 4:56 am #

    Bhadravathi Plant reminded me a lot of memories. I had asked the same Q to my dad .. about how can the same word have the same meaning like one a sapling & other a factory.. Uff, he had tough time explaining me..
    Do you know the answer ? Like wise, I can list out things which makes me too confused, we can’t even mug(I try hard to learn this technique called mug & everytime I used to forget the starting word & the whole thing used to go for a toss) those words man…

    1. Fair
    2. Mass
    3. The very much ‘PLANT’
    4. Cell
    5. Gully (Gullible, some cricket gully, our gully hotel gulli 😉 )

    My ideas are running out now.. !! Don’t ask me whether Idea has any legs antha 🙂

  7. praneshachar December 26, 2006 at 6:50 am #

    Nice shivaji brief sketch!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!had ahearty laugh.
    Bhadravathi steel plant lot of old memeories for me. I worked in Visvesvaraya Iron & Steel Ltd., for a 8 years stint before shifting to Bangalore. We had wonderful days work wise enjoyed it is really difficult to work in a loss making co., which it was but it was a challenge and we really learnt a lot. I was surprised no supplier stopped supplies patiently waited for his turn to get paid only thing which was paid on dot was salary
    all others were sure of getting their monye may be late
    we can not forget the Banks particularly the SBM the lead bank but for their support VISL should have been closed long back during this tenure only VISL was taken over by SAIL as a subsidiary and we all worked for it and left the moment it was achieved yes obviously SAIL people statted dominating
    now it is fully taken over no cash problems but old people whom we keep metting in social gatherings tell they were really happy during that period now money is there but whole atmosphere is polluted!!!!!
    why steel plant was situated in bhadravathi wonders soil is good lot of rains all that is true about this place excepting they does not help is sustaining or putting up a steel plant
    thanks for taking back to 82 to 90 a career to take off from Visvesaraya founded steel plant

  8. Murali Partha January 18, 2007 at 9:38 am #

    Funny!

    Imagine if he had done a sketch of Shivaji in briefs!

  9. Murali Partha January 18, 2007 at 9:51 am #

    I studied at NIE too. The funniest incident that happened in our class was with an electronics lecturer – Nagalakshmi. Her classes used to be chaotic and she could never maintain the decorum in class.

    One day she was so frustrated that she boomed out “All of you do not know how to respect your lecturer. Shame on all your parts”. Cue for more mayhem!

Leave a Reply

