The Ant in my Pants

17 Aug

This was a story I used to tell my son when he was seven and he thought it was pretty cool of me. I wasn’t going to write this up until I saw an article on ants through a link in RK’s blog.

Its a pretty silly story but one that happened none the less.

In 2000 I had to make a quick trip to Singapore for a couple of days. Unpacking my bags in my Hotel room, I suddenly spied an Ant among my clothes. He must have gotten into the bag in Bangalore. I was very impressed that he made it all the way to Singapore.

Your head tells you strange things when you are away from home and alone in a hotel room. Suddenly I was full of sympathy for this little ant. His family members were probably looking high and low for him in Bangalore (now please don’t get scientific on me and explain how ants live). At that moment I decided that I would try to take him back to Bangalore alive and release him at home.

So I decided to use the match box that they had in the hotel room (without the sticks of course) and built a “nest” for the little feller. I put some sugar in the “nest” as well and put the guy inside. He seemed to be content there. He would wander around, but eventually return to his box (I thought it was pretty smart of him). Maybe even he realized that he was “outside” his turf and would come back to where he felt safe. I kept him out of room service’s way.

On the way back I put the bugger back in his box and put him in the checked luggage. Sure enough he was there when I got to Bangalore. I released him and hope he was able to find his family members (I like to think so 🙂 )

This is one of those things that you are glad you did regardless of whether it was useful or not.

7 Responses to “The Ant in my Pants”

  1. rk August 18, 2006 at 6:21 am #

    after reading the title, i thought you were bitten red by the ants….thank god! felt nice that you were so sympathetic towards the ‘kutty’ fellow! thought you could have taken him for a sight seeing! 😉

  2. rk August 21, 2006 at 6:48 am #

    Dear Vijay, sorry to go off topic.
    The great shehnai maestro USTAD BISMILLAH KHAN IS NO MORE. He breathed his last in the wee hours this morning. The Bharatha Rathna awardee was 91.
    I remember his soulful music in Dr. Rajkumar’s film “Sanaadi Appanna”. Yeshtu adbhutavaagi nudisidaare.
    It seems he used to play everyday at the Kashi Vishwanatha temple in Benares every morning since ages.
    Despite his fame, Khan’s lifestyle retained its old world charm and he continued to use the cycle rickshaw as his chief mode of transport till his death.
    Music world has lost a noble soul indeed. RIP, Bismillah ji.

  3. travel plaza August 21, 2006 at 3:20 pm #

    Vijay,
    What a cute story! I loved reading it. In telling this story, not only have you shared something special with your son, but also taught him sympathy for all God’s creatures. I will repeat this story to my kids too.
    Thanks for visiting my blog and for your kind comment:))

  4. Vijay August 21, 2006 at 4:59 pm #

    🙂 .. thanks you made my day… I still feel kinda silly about it sometimes

  5. robotraff May 3, 2007 at 7:10 am #

    Traffic – the current of visitors web-site.
    Robotraff.com is automatics selling system of traffic
    Only at us, You may choose country, categories and browsers version (for advanced). If you choose the traffic for buy then you must fill the order form at menu “Traffic panel”( You must resisted) and pay your order. (we accept more 15th electronic currency). After order is paid, you receive a special web links where you may watch a statistics of order. Customer, please pay attention minimal one order was been 1000 unique visitors (UV).
    Also You may view a detail information (menu Statistics on left) about the traffic.
    robotraff.com

  6. crapy April 1, 2008 at 9:36 am #

    did you identify before bitten by your sweet A(u)nt? If all the people in the world think like you, how nice the world of wild life… anyway its a great job accompanying an Ant to a world tour.. its a Guinness record U know!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mouse in the Room « Bangalore Blues - October 10, 2006

    […] See a previous post with a somewhat similar experience but more benign. […]

Leave a Reply

