“Killer” Pickles from Bhutan

8 Aug

On his last visit to Kolkatta, my friend Raghu picked up a bottle of Bhutanese pickle for me. He claimed it was the hottest pickle in the world. A claim that I rubbished.

The innocuous looking bottle said “Druk – Dalla Pickle in Oil”. The manufacturer was the Bhutan Fruit Products Limited.

I am into hot and spicy pickles, sauces etc, less adventurous now as I grow older (and wiser?) and more cautious, but nevertheless I like to think that I can take spicy stuff. I have had carribean sauces that had names like “Hotter than Hell”, “Angel on Fire” that come in bottles without any ingredient listings on their labels. One time in Boston, I even bought a sauce that had a handwritten label (Ok ok that was ages ago. I wasn’t married then).

So coming back to the Bhutanese pickle, I open the bottle and find it full of chillies that had the shape and size of cherries and of course oil. The smell wasnt that intimidating either. So I decide to give it a try during dinner time much against my wife’s protestations (Thumba khara yakappa thintheeri etc etc).

I take Bisi Bisi anna (rice) and lots of thuppa (ghee). I then decide to help myself to a spoonful of the pickle. The entire family (Wife and Son) are watching me. There have been occasions before where I have experimented at the dinner table with disastrous results (especially when I try and cook dishes shown on TV).

So I mix the rice well and eat it. At first no reaction. Then it hits me…hits me haaaaaard. This thing was a killer. I was sweating from pores that I didn’t know I had, my nostrils were flaming and my eyes teary. I think I established a new world record for the fastest dash to the sink where I stuck my mouth under the faucet. I swear that my wife and kid were exchanging high fives. They probably had a bet riding on this. Needless to say, I never finished the rice and pickles.

This thing is HOT HOT HOT. I think Dalla in Bhutanese means “Killer Berry Chillies for special export to India”.

I hate it when Raghu is right.

P.S: The offending pickles have been “banished” to my office (by my wife) and are available for tasting and reviewing (water is provided as well).

8 Responses to ““Killer” Pickles from Bhutan”

  1. rk August 8, 2006 at 9:22 am #

    kannu, mugu, bayelli neeru bartha ide, Vijay. Thanks for a HOT post after along time.

    btw, Vijay, you have been tagged! Please visit my blog for details. 🙂

  2. Vijay M.R August 8, 2006 at 9:24 am #

    RK, neevu illi bandhaga taste madi…

  3. rk August 8, 2006 at 10:13 am #

    Vijay,
    I will stand in front of the sink and take the challenge! 😮

  4. Vijay August 8, 2006 at 10:40 am #

    The pickles have been banished from my house and are now in my office… 😦

  5. some body August 17, 2007 at 7:35 pm #

    thanks to “My Home” for reminding me of this post (but no, i will not visit your web site!).

    vijay:

    we need more posts from you of this quality. rants/pandas/etc are getting boring! 😉 read again, after more than a year(!), and am on the floor once more.

    – s.b.

  6. Vijay August 18, 2007 at 2:41 am #

    @SB: 🙂

  7. MY3 July 18, 2008 at 4:45 am #

    Oh I have tried these and then paid the sad “price” for many more days! They are very innocous looking little green or red ones. I used it for my uppitu once. It actually has a different taste than regular chillies. And to boot it was sold by the Amish who take NO spicy foods!

  8. Roshni November 17, 2014 at 8:28 am #

    Please can u tell me where to source these pickles.. I really love them

Leave a Reply

