Maddur Vade anyone?

27 Jun

Maddur Vade is just not the same anywhere. Not when you compare it to Maddur Tiffanys. I dont know what makes the Vade different, it has the right amount of crispiness, just the right amount of onions. No one can make it like them. I have eaten Maddur Vade at other eateries but havent yet been able to find anyone who can replicate the taste.

Although the current day restaurant is on the Bangalore-Mysore highway, in the old days you needed to go into Maddur Railway station. Train journeys between Bangalore and Mysore were made all the more enjoyable because of a stop at Maddur Station. While driving, Maddur was a cumpolsury stop (it still is today).

Typically trains used to stop at Maddur for 5-6 minutes. Sometimes travelling between Mysore and Bangalore, my cousin would cajole the train guard to stop for an extra five minutes so that he could get Maddur Vade packed for all the city folk in Bangalore.

The platform itself used to be buzzing with activity. Boys’ with idly/vade, Maddur Vade used to run from one end of the train to the other quickly disbursing the packets wrapped in paper and kuchida yele (leaf). Seasoned travellers used to have exact change ready, so all they do is collect the packet and stuff the money in the boy’s pocket. As kids, the pleasure of opening the packet, smelling the food (combined with the paper and the yele) in a moving train was an experience in itself.

I havent been on a train ride between Bangalore and Mysore in a long time. From what I hear this still goes on. However these days we never go into the station when we drive and always eat at the Tiffanys on the main road. Must go in one of these days and check out the Tiffanys at the Maddur Station.

7 Responses to “Maddur Vade anyone?”

  1. rk June 27, 2006 at 2:11 pm #

    Vijay,
    A elderly relative of mine used to say that even the Mysore Maharaja (Jayachamaraja Wodeyar) used to halt at Maddur to have Maddur Vade. Bai chapala, yarannu bidalla! It seems sometimes he even used to get it to Mysore from only one particular guy near the railway station.

    Got to share this Kailasam joke on the Maharaja. Once he and his students were waiting to see the Maharaja on the elephant during Dasara. When they finally saw, Kailasam said: “Look that’s our maharaja ON the elephant.”

    A student told,”You don’t have to say that sir, we can see it.”

    Kailasam said,”I have to say it, I say. So that you fellows don’t get confused.”

  2. Vijay June 28, 2006 at 6:59 am #

    RK,

    I think we all “inherited” our bayi chapala from our Maharajaru. How else can you explain it?

  3. Shruthi July 25, 2006 at 10:28 am #

    Aha maddur vade!
    Correct, the maddur vade on the oily newspaper tastes the best 🙂
    But there are a couple of good places in Bangalore where you get good Maddur vade. And my ajji makes great ones, anyway 🙂

  4. YouSuck February 12, 2007 at 8:09 pm #

    I miss Maddur Tiffany’s ! I think I have to plan a trip to Mysore soon.

  5. Vijay February 13, 2007 at 1:57 am #

    Yousuck: Unfortunately the one on the main road has lost its sheen.. but the Maddur Vade remains the same…

  6. My3 April 26, 2008 at 3:24 pm #

    I used to travel between MysoreBangalore on Tippu express before the advent of the Volvo busses. My father refuses to let me go in first class compartment even now and the kids love climbing to the third tier.(He thinks I am safer in second class and he will make sure that he will tell the older ladies to take care of me forgetting that I am a mother of a teenager who is taller than him!). So we always had many maddur vade, coffee, tea sellers coming by. We always bought Maddur vades, ostensibly for the grandparents. But by the time we used to reach Mysore on the return we would have only one left for them and that also we used to share! Now the Volvo is a non-stop 😦 so no munching on anything other than what you bring from home. It used to be fun chatting with people and seeing shocked looks on their faces when my children and I would happily eat from every SINGLE vendor who would go through our compartment :-).
    Now you have put me into nostalgia and I will most certainly make atleast one trip on Tippu. Long back, my mother and I used to travel on Brindavan from Madras to help my dodamma prepare for her daughter’s marriage. I would soooo look forward to that vegetable burger on the train :-). Memories Memories. How little we think of them while we are creating the memories…

  7. Vijay April 28, 2008 at 5:50 am #

    @My3: Ha ha.. the famous “I am buying the Maddur vade for someone else….”… this is to reduce the guilt factor… I do it all the time…my excuse usually is that the Vade does not survive the drive to Bangalore 🙂

    I am impressed with your kids eating everything… I guess its all in the way you bring them up…

    I love train food… greasy and totally unhealthy 🙂

    Check out another Maddur episode here: https://bangaloreblues.wordpress.com/2007/03/25/maddur-station/

Leave a Reply

